We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, rustic home from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful, rustic home from home...”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Crockstead Farm Hotel. It is a gorgeous rustic hotel with the friendliest staff I have ever come across. Our room was lovely and cosy and as with all the rooms, had a view across to the sand school and some of the 200 acres they have there!
The peacocks are stunning, there are also ducks, cats (who love lots of fuss!) and horses which all add to the atmosphere.
We ate in the bar and the food was lovely, the restaurant and the bar are beautiful, beams, oak and brown leather sofas with lots of candles, all creating a really relaxing atmosphere.
I really can't sell this place enough, it's a country gem and we would love to go back.
Thanks to all at Crockstead for a wonderful relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    47
    30
    25
    32
See reviews for
50
85
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at crockford farm on a kgb deal. What can I say,it was such a lovely quaint hotel and would have been perfect but.....the rom was fine,comfortable,clean. The food was average,good full english breakfast, but we were baffled by the set.up. No tables laid,only juice and cereal as extra,no fruit,yoghurt. We had dinner,again average,service poor and no condiments on table. The worst thing was when we returned from a lovely day out our rom hadn't been touched,bed still unmade,no clean towels etc.etc. The reason given was they.didn't have a spare key to out room and they forgot to ask us to leave the key before we went out! I think this hotel thrives on weddings and functions not couples etc. But worst of all ashtrays were scattered everywhere unemptied,full of fag ends and rain water ugh!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I am sorry that you feel as though you did not have a pleasant stay with us, I have recently taken over as general manager and have looked into the room key situation. Unfortunatly the previous guest that stayed in the same room as yourself inadvertantly took the key with him and as such you were given the spare, consequently we were unable to get access to your room in order to clean and put in fresh towels etc- as is our standard proceedure.
In relation to the bad service i must explain that we have taken on new members of staff to wait on, who are currently still in training. The night in question i was called away and unable to oversee the waitress for a short time. This is an explanation not an excuse.
You have my sincerest appologies for our short commings on that night.

As for the ashtrays, they should simply not have been outside room guests rooms. I have spoken to all members of staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

we book a room for one night. first expressions was being told you are early too book in, even though the receptionist said u can come at 2pm over phone. no one showed us around the surrounding areas. no tourist information, ie fire alerts or any kind of procedure. we wanted too eat something, they only had menu snack, which had no starters. when we ordered they did not have the food we required.

we love seeing the peacocks, duck and ducklings and rooster. yes we did get a wake up call by the peacock.

we reccommend to go in the summer, its more of a wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binder06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Four of us were staying overnight and one single and one double room had been requested. Because we had had trouble with the hotel last year with this request I rang them last week to confirm and was told it was all arranged.We arrived to find that two doubles had been booked. Staff were most unaccommodating so we had to make do.We were short of all supplies in the room including lavatory paper. The TV did not work. Then at breakfast we were told there were no eggs and no marmalade. The tea and coffee were like dishwater.The staff either invisible or sullen.No one seemed to be in overall charge. Not a venue to recommend or return to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4Jenny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halland hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

stayed here for two nights recently. room was nice enough, although slightly cluttered with ornaments on the dressing table. bit odd that they put a mirror above the other table rather than above the dressing table, but not a problem as such. did have to locate a member of staff though as only a few sheets of loo roll left in the bathroom on our arrival, and no spare one in there.

gorgeous grounds surround the place, but be aware, the peacock and rooster might wake you in the early hours of the morning the first night you stay. did spot quite a few hares running around the land at that time of day which I thought was pretty funny!

food was interesting. decent breakfasts, but not sure I'd stay and eat in the restaurant in the evening again. the food was satisfactory but the service wasn't up to scratch. I've put it down to it being the tuesday evening of the jubilee weekend and that it probably wasn't the regular staff on duty.

reception didn't seem to be manned very often, so if a member of staff was needed or there was a problem, you could be waiting around awhile before someone appeared.

finally, I thought it was a nice touch that there was a playground area for children available.

Room Tip: the upper rooms are on a wooden walkway which can be slippery when wet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furryfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

To Lynn and all the staff i would just like to say a big thank you for your hard work,and kindness shown to my daughter and now son in law and my family on there wedding day,you went out of your way at times especially when my daughters wedding ring went missing as it was being carried.One of your staff very kindley drove for 2hrs to find a metal detector,and i know we would not have got that level of help anywhere else.As for someone accusing a member of your staff i am disgusted and feel very hurt to think someone has said this. Yes we had a few hickups but you tried to resolve these for us, even offering to loan you own mobile home when a couple wanted to stay who had not booked in,In no way did anything detract from our family having a wonderful day and evening Alex did us proud with the bbq and your staff were there to help if we needed or wanted anything.I thought what you did for my daughter and son in law at the end of the night was so nice, they were just leaving and you asked them to join you up in the bar where you had a bottle of chapagne on ice for them to finish off a most wonderfull day i think that was such a special thing to do ,i would not hesitate to recomend you and the hotel to anyone and have already told a couple due to get married next year to go and see Lynn she will help you and you will have a special day.Once again thank you and we will definately be back .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments, good feedback makes the effort we put in worth it. See you all next year for the anniversary celebrations!! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podvelka, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Despite having read some not very complimentary reviews on this website, we could not have been made more welcome and made to feel at home. The hotel has a lovely, informal atmosphere, extremely comfortable rooms and excellent food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish that we could have stayed longer. Lyn and her staff made both us and our dog Archie most welcome and could not have been more helpful. The full English breakfast is excellent and Lyn also kindly gave us some of her home produced sausages to bring back to Slovenia! We shall certainly be visiting again next time we are in England.

Room Tip: I don`t think it would matter which room you have. They are all peaceful, comfortable and well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slovenia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
0.9 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,172 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,430 reviews
6.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
947 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#2 of 2 in Halland
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Property: Crockstead Farm Hotel
Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockstead Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing