We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in IL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Burr Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sleepless in IL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at 10pm the first night. There was a line waiting to check in. When it was our turn, we were told we did not have a reservation. After checking all our computer emails, I found a confirmation even though the front desk told us there was NOT any. After 20 minutes of debating this issue the young lady at the front desk said they had a vacant room. Why did she not say this in the first place? In all fairness we did modify our reservation from 5 nights to 2 but I called twice to make sure this was done correctly before our trip.
The food- which we only had was at breakfast was pretty bad (thank goodness they gave us free coupons for it). And I saw a server drop a pile of plastic coffee lids on the floor & pick them up & put them out for guest to use. I am glad I don't drink coffee.
Even though we are a Marriott Rewards member, we won't be staying at this location again.
My husband stayed here in January when our daughter was moving to IL & had a much better experience. Due to bad weather, they even let us extend her stay an extra night so she would have a shorter, safer drive to work.
I guess it depends on who is working at the front desk at the time.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the Chicago skyline & a pond area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridahomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear FloridaHomebody

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. Your feedback has been shared with the team on property and will be utilized to improve our arrival and food and beverage experience. We hope to host you again in the future when visiting your daughter. Don’t hesitate to reach out to our management team for assistance.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    143
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
82
53
20
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TXAggieLady
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

great stay for the price in a safe quiet location convenient to the freeways. the only negative was that there were wedding parties staying there that were noisy and the hotel car closed at 1pm on a sat night...ugh. The free parking and the closeness to shopping and numerous nice restaurants and great grocery store made it very nice and the staff was extremely helpful in giving us maps of area sites.

Room Tip: stay in room away from elevator. too many noisy wedding party kids playing on the elevator and screa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear TXAggieLady

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. We are delighted to hear you found value in your stay with us, taking advantage of the close shopping and restaurants in downtown Burr Ridge. We hope that you voiced any noise concerns with our team, so they could be addressed at that time. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize how helpful the team was in assisting you with directions in this area and hope to host you again in the future.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was totally surprised by the LACK of amenities for the $229/night price....no free wifi, no continental breakfast, no fan in the bath, fridge or microwave that I have seen mentioned in other reviews (not that I needed them). I do understand that this particular Marriott caters more to the business world where companies pick up the tab so maybe that is why the exorbitant $$$$. Quite disappointing overall.
On the positive side the rooms were clean & adequate for our needs. The location was great only because of being by some great food & shopping!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Barb G

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. We appreciate you taking the time to give valuable feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to hear you found our property clean and adequate for your needs, including our close proximity to shopping and restaurants in downtown Burr Ridge. In regards to the amenities offered at our full service property. There are two Internet signals available to our guests including a guest room signal in which there is a fee. There is also a complimentary signal available to all guests in any of our public spaces and we encourage guests to take advantage of this signal when possible. The property also offers access to Internet complimentary in our business center and those computers are available 24/7. Also, each guest bathroom is equipped with an exhaust fan that continually runs, however the location of this fan can vary depending on the room. For guests seeking an energizing breakfast to start their day, we do offer a bountiful hot breakfast buffet in our Ciazza restaurant and we do offer valuable breakfast packages for you to enjoy. We hope to host you again and ensure we answer any questions you may have regarding our facility.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here on business. When travelling on business by the time I get back to the hotel I do not leave. This hotel is located next to a Burr Ridge shopping area that has some great looking restaurants and walking area. To tired to try them; therefore, stayed at the hotel. They have a great little patio that is next to the bar and there is a gas fire pit. I enjoyed dinner in the bar area and sitting on the patio with a glass of wine (or two). There is wireless internet throughout and the parking is free.
My room was comfortable and clean with a work area, in room coffee, and a TV that I could see while I worked. A pet peeve of mine is when they locate the work desk so you cannot see the TV. Thankfully, I did not experience that here.

I am back in two weeks and look forward to an equally pleasant experience. It is pricey; however, if you stay a lot in hotels like I do, the prices are comparable to other brands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear QuietmanTravels

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience from the outdoor patio to the in room work desk. We can see that you are a top contributor to reviews on TripAdvisor and appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return visit and hope that you can find some time to explore the surrounding shops and restaurants in downtown Burr Ridge.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. I feel like the amenities were lacking based on the price. We came from the Navy Lodge that was just as comfortable and wd had a microwave and actual coffee pot at Navy Lodge with free wifi. At Marriot it was a $159.00 room with a cupmaker for coffee, no microwave, no fridge AND we had to call and complain because teens on our floor were in and out slamming doors and yelling and talking loudly in the hall. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jamie P

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge and thank you for providing your candid feedback regarding your experience, finding our property clean and comfortable, however lacking in amenities. Our property does offer to deliver microwaves or refrigerators to your guest room based on availability and there is always a microwave accessible in our gift shop, located near the front desk, for your use. Our coffee makers are designed for a single cup, however if you would like more than what is provided in your guest room, may always reach out to our, at your service, team for additional items. We appreciate you contacting our team to investigate your noise concerns, as we strive to provide a relaxing atmosphere for all of our guests. We do hope to host you again and provide those additional amenities, by request, prior to your arrival.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, quiet, safe, good restaurant, friendly staff and plenty of free parking. A little pricey for the burbs though... I was able to negotiate a little on the rate. Close to some boutique shops with a mile.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear jjh1419

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. We are glad to hear you found our property clean, quiet, safe and friendly. You seem to have taken advantage of our onsite restaurant, complimentary parking and proximity to shopping in downtown Burr Ridge. Our team hopes to host you again for any future trips to Chicago.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is about a 20 minute drive out of downtown Chicago. It's a quick and easy drive! Parking is free, which is great after spending time downtown. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are nice. We got the deal on their website where we each got free breakfast. The breakfast was fine, nothing to write home about. The buffet is certainly not worth the $10+ they would charge if you didn't get the hotel deal.
We would definitely look at this location again if we were wanting to avoid downtown prices and parking hassles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottBurrRidge_IL, General Manager at Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear crazysox4

Thank you for choosing the Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge. Our team is happy to hear that you found our property convenient to downtown Chicago, taking advantage of our Stay for Breakfast package. If looking to avoid downtown pricing and parking hassles in the future, we hope to host you again.

Yours in hospitality

The Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burr Ridge
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Southwest at Burr Ridge/Hinsdale
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chicagoland - Countryside
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Burr Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago Willowbrook
2.4 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Countryside
Holiday Inn Countryside
#2 of 2 in Countryside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge

Property: Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge
Address: 1200 Burr Ridge Pkwy, Burr Ridge, IL 60527-0869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Burr Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Burr Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Chicago Marriott Southwest at Burr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Southwest At Burr Ridge Hotel Burr Ridge
Marriott Burr Ridge
Burr Ridge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing