We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mex in town”
Review of Capri Mex - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Capri Mex
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Joplin, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mex in town”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went there 2 times a week until Jan when they changed management, now only barely acceptable, food not so good and prices went up

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Hills
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected from Burr Ridge”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Last Friday my wife and I decided to use a Groupn for the Capri Mex restaurant in Burr Ridge, Illinois. I have been by there several times but never went in until recently. What a disappointment! We felt like we were in somebodys basement versus a Mexican restaurant. The food selections were extremely limited. However, the portions were substantial. Very dark inside and not much room between tables. A small bar area at the rear of the place held room for only about 4-5 stools. Our waiter was nice and attentive. The food was hot when it arrived and pretty good as well. This was not our best choice for dining and it will be unlikely we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westwoodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our meals at Capri Mex. Service was excellent! Also, the chicken tortilla soup was a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsWoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to Capri Mex on one of the last days for a Groupon coupon. We knew it would be crowded so of course we had to wait in line. What we did not understand was as patrons left and they cleaned off their tables why not take the next group in line? Nobody ever ackowledged people in line. When we were finally seated there were four tables available. The waiter complained about never using Groupon again. They brought us plenty of chips and salsa. Salsa was in a plastic cup. I ordered a margarita which was quite good except it was served in a plastic cup with no salt around the rim. Now the food. I ordered a taco dinner with chicken, pork and steak. The steak and pork were excellant. The chickan was quite dry. The beans were a little mushy. My wife ordered a pork enchilada dinner. It was good. We would never have traveled this far to try this restaurant without a coupon. With all the great Mexican restaurants around we will probably not be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capri Mex also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing