We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison de Maitre
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at this small hotel. The room ("Simone") was nicely decorated, beds were comfortable, the bathroom was splendid (two showers and two sinks; very convenient!).
The room was clean as was the rest of the hotel. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere (outdoor terrace were you could just sit and enjoy the lovely garden and the indoor lounge with sofas and a huge fireplace).

Dinner was good as well; the first night the dishes were a bit more adventurous than the second, but both meals were good. They also seamlessly took into account a food allergy that we mentioned during our reservation and either adapted or replaced some dishes..

Staff were friendly and helpful, although sometimes slightly haphazard. However, this did not bother us much.

All in all, this is a lovely small hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeEnj0yTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in room Jean-Paul. All rooms are different. Ours had a staircase to the bathroom. The room was spacious and was tastefully decorated, with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was well equipped, with a separate bath and shower. The hotel has been recently renovated. It's in a nice location, although you do need a car to go sightseeing. However, there are some very nice hikes from the hotel. We once had dinner at the hotel. The food was very nice. As the chef uses only fresh ingredients which are in season, you need to give them 24 hrs notice and tell them what you don't like. The hosts were very hospitable, they gave us a lot of tips for daytrips. The area is beatifull and there is a lot to do and see, even when the weather is bad. Overall: recommended! We will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RP-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in room 'Octave'. The room is large and nicely decorated, I think it was recently redone. The bed is large and very comfortable. There is also a bath in the room. The shower and toilet are in a separate part (together), which is a bit strange because the toilet becomes wet if you take a shower.
If you are very sensitive to noise, you shouldn't stay in this room, because you can hear every step of the people walking in the room above you. This is clearly related to the wooden ceilings/floors. No other noises.
We also had the standard 4-course dinner in the hotel, including supplementary wines. The dinner was excellent, although containing very much cheese - if you don't like a particular ingredient, you should let them more upfront ! They won't ask.
The hotel is general is very relaxed and quiet. Breakfast was plain but very OK.
Free wifi is available in the hotel; it didn't work in our room because of the thick walls. Alternatively you can also use wired internet in the room.

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Check out the website to see what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Amazing good food! Warm en friendly people. Breath-taking environment. The hotel itself is a tasteful rebuild family building with lots of details kept. The rooms are all different and tastefully decorated. For the people who like to walk or bike in nature. Who enjoy a splendid diner and a glass of nice wine with a smile. I surely can recommend this hotel strongly. And when you are lucky you'll meet one of the owners so he can tell you all about the history of the building and show you the details... I wish the owners all the best and hope they continue this amazingly nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritsaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hotel befits the beauty of the Ardennes. It is tranquil, scenic with a good view and it is managed with much love and care by the owners, who have done their utmost to achieve an unique atmosphere. The individually different rooms/bathrooms are done with exquisite good taste, and staying there feels like a privilege and a journey in time. You can choose which room you like from the website. The price is very reasonable (I even think modest for what they offer) and the food and wines are good as well as generous.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank JWandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

very nice atmosphere. rooms are all different with very clean and modern sanitair. The rooms are really beautifully decorated with furniture in style liegois. On saturday we made a long walk in the country side and afterwards sat with a white wine before the fire in the big fireplace. Then followed a copious meal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welmoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at La Maison de maitre for second time. Large beautiful rooms, without TV, the only reason why they do not qualify for 3 or even 4 stars, apart from 24 hr receptionist, that is not really needed with 11 rooms. Great walking, mountainbiking, great cross country skiing or alpine skiing on some small local slopes. Four course dinner was excellent, and lavish breakfast included. Hotel is brand new, therefore not well known, will quickly change I guess, so do not hesitate! Website has interesting challenge to pick the nicest room based upon photos of details like wall paper or golden tap bathrooms....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison de Maitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Maitre

Address: Les Marottes 37 - 39 | Lierneux, Arbrefontaine 4990, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Arbrefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arbrefontaine
Price Range: $96 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Maison de Maitre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale boutique hotel with great options for hiking in the Ardennes. Restaurant with beautiful daily changing 4-course set menus. An ideal setting for small business or team meetings, family events, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Maison de Maitre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing