We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their food!!!!!”

Al Bawadi Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Bridgeview
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shwarma, kabobs, lamb, non-alcoholic beverages, juices.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love their food!!!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went to this restaurant with friends from Saudi Arabia, they ordered all the food, and let me tell you it was delicious. I had visited other arabian restaurants, but this is something else, even their decoration is outstanding. The best cooked lamb I ever had!!!! There are no words to describe this excellent restaurant!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54lillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    5
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Believe those taxi drivers!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our Jordanian taxi driver from O'Hare to Oak Park recommended Al Bawadi for great Mansaf, a dish my husband and I enjoyed very much in Jordan a year or so ago. The tender-cooked lamb in yogurt sauce was served on a bed of savory rice that was spiced with either saffron or tumeric and other yummy things. For a group of 7 adults, and 2 children, we ordered 6 servings of Mansaf that was served family style, and also a mixed grill or lamb/beef sausage (we weren't overly fond of it), beef and chicken (very tasty), super-good kefta and two kinds of rice. Yum!!! We ended up taking lots of food home and the staff was very pleasant about packing it for us. We loved the Arab dress--particularly on the gentleman who followed us to our TENT and poured us small bowls of Arabic coffee in greeting. Our servers were very attentive and gracious. Had we not been familiar with Jordanian and Mediterranean cuisine in general, we would have felt assured of authentic cuisine by clientele. We were 7 of only a double handful of Northern European-extract diners in the place; all other tables were filled with folks who knew their Middle Eastern food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindak222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food but....”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good food, attentive wait staff, but not very friendly. They are just there to basically take your order and delivery it to your table, dont expect a smiling reception from your server.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsmeFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spoiled me for other places...”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Always super busy, this place is one of those that we make sure we have time for in the Chicagoland area.
I could go on and on but I will keep it simple...
Their lemonade...so good.
Shawarma (chicken)... beyond good.
I couldn't wrestle the ingredients out of our lovely hostess for their rice, and to be honest... I couldn't reproduce it if I tried... it's that good.

Love Al Bawadi!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but bad service”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This restaurant has everything...good food, nice atmosphere but the only thing that it lacks is SERVICE. My first experience was good but the second visit was horrible. Very rude waitresses with lots of ego and attitude. Instead bring food home and eat. Not a place to dine in

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLoverForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bawadi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Al Bawadi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing