We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in a caravan. The caravan was nice and clean, and we opted for one with the beds made up and heating in the bedrooms, which was needed as it was in early March. The kids loved the entertainment of singing, dancing and competitions. The amusements were part of the club/bar, so really easy to keep an eye on the kids which went in there. Good sized playground for suitable for different aged children. The location of the site is really good as within 30 minutes by car you are at Llandundo, Cowyn Castle(which is excellent for kids) and rhyl too. Would go again as enjoyed the weekend even tho the weather wasn't too brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your recent review regarding your holiday at Ty Mawr Holiday Park. It was great to read that you were pleased with your holiday accommodation and that you took advantage of the beds being made up for you. It has been a little chilly here recently so I am sure the heating in the bedrooms was much appreciated!

The facilities at Ty Mawr are ideal for all our guests and we provide a wide range of activities to suit everybody. It was lovely to read that you and your family enjoyed the entertainment and competitions that were held during your stay.

As you have rightly stated, the park is ideally situated should families wish to venture off the park to explore the local area.

I was pleased to note that you are considering booking another holiday with Park Resorts. If you call the Park or Call Centre direct, they can let you know what offers we have throughout the season, alternatively you can check out our Park Resorts Website.

We look forward to seeing you all very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just stayed here for 3 nights on a short weekend away. The caravan itself was clean but nothing special and lacked equipment as there was no teapot and nothing to use to cook in the oven. This was however resolved when one of the staff came round to ask if everything was alright. The caravans are very close together so you hear the noise from other caravans which is very frustrating. We were not allowed to check in until 16:00 hrs and when we did and went to our van there was still people preparing the van so we were unable to get in and we had to go back to reception. On our first night we thought we would have fish and chips from the chip shop which is on sight. When we went in to the chip shop the food that we saw can only be described a rock bottom poor quality. We walked out and went to the chip shop down the road (Windsor Chip Shop). This is the first time that we have stayed at a Park Resorts caravan park and unfortunately it will be our last.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent holiday at Ty Mawr, although I was sorry to learn you were disappointed with your accommodation and the standard of the food served in our outlets on the park.

Unfortunately it appears that your caravan did not contain a full inventory pack, I would like to apologise to you and your family for the inconvenience this caused you. I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention the Accommodation Manager will now speak to all of her team and additional training will be given to ensure that all of our caravans are prepared and ready for guests arrival. However, I was pleased to note that during a courtesy call made by one of the team, that additional items were delivered to you once this was brought to our attention.

Please be advised that holiday accommodation is available for guests on their holiday start date from 1.30pm if you have booked a gold standard holiday home - 2.30pm if you have booked a silver standard and from 4pm if you booked bronze standard of accommodation. This information should be confirmed on your confirmation letter, but I am sorry for any confusion that was caused.

I was a little surprised by your comments regarding the standard of food provided in the Chip Shop, we do receive regular positive feedback regarding these facilities. However, we will now investigate the concerns you have raised and take appropriate action if necessary. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I would like to apologise on behalf of the team on Park that your stay with us was not a memorable one and would ask that you not judge us too harshly and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Park Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Booked to stay 2 nights. Stayed 1 night. Most people left a night early. Within 2 hours of pitching tent, 2 young traveller girls walked up to our tent door way, had a good look inside and then picked up our daughters toys. Scooter and other outdoor toys, then walked off with them. I challenged them and got them back. Only to be shouted at and told to [--]off. More intimidation followed. Couldn't leave tent for fear of our things going missing. The parent travellers were looking into other peoples caravan windows. Harassing other campers etc. Wrote to park resort head office they refused a refund as i didn't write to them within 28 days. Cop out. Will not visit again. Toilet blocks were crawling with travellers, made to feel intimidated. Generally noisy and dirty site. Staff unhelpful, security busy flirting with other staff. Just AWFUL. AVOID at all costs. Pay a bit more and go to haven!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank willigoagain-doubtit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

we went in sptember in the worst rain ever seen for a long time.we found a good pitch.withelectric nice and quiet at night not like some reviews maybe we were lucky kids loved it it was a tenner a night or 12 quid for 4 of us a great base for exploring wales i will defo be using site again showers first class nice n hot n spotless i complimented the cleaner i was impressed.no problems to speak of ..

Room Tip: the warren field is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johncarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write a review about Ty Mawr Holiday Park, It was great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay here.

The Parks facilities are ideal for children and as you confirmed in your review we are in a great location should families wish to venture off park and explore the local area.

Thank you for your comments regarding the touring facilities. Our Housekeeping team sometimes goes unnoticed so I will be sure to pass on your kind comments.

We do have lots of offers on throughout the year on all of our Parks for guests to take advantage of. Be sure to keep your eye out for anything coming through the post, alternatively you can check out our website for special offers or call the Park or Call Centre directly.

We hope to see you again during our 2013 season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok so firstly I am a total snob, I was dreading this stay as I really thought a caravan on a Welsh holiday resort was going to be gross..... how WRONG we were! My friend and I (age 24&25) stayed with our sons (age 2&3), in a gold caravan (Number R3) which was GORGEOUS!!!! The hot water came on instantly, we had loads space, the bathroom was immaculate.
Didn't go in the pool or get a chance to see the evening entertainment (we heard it though around 8pm its quite loud!)

We bought a ball from the onsite shop and spent hours playing in the adventure playground, its really big and my son said it was the best thing about our holiday!!!!

We used the kitchen a lot and we had everything we needed, also the tv was much bigger than we expected!!

The only problem we had was the FREEZING cold caravan in the night, the heating didn't do anything to warm the bedrooms but serves us right for booking a caravan for November ha ha.

Will be returning next year in the spring, prices are WAY TOO EXPENSIVE in the summer (£456 for a weekend?!) But will only cost us £156 for a weekend in April.

Can't wait to return :) the Welsh countryside is beautiful and there's tonnes to do in north Wales

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ally1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Ally thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holiday at Ty Mawr Holiday Park during the 2012 season.

It was great to learn that you all had a great time during your stay and were pleasantly surprised with the holiday caravan you were allocated.

I was sorry to note however, that you found the evenings a little chilly. If on one of our Parks again during the colder months please do not hesitate to call into our reception and we will give you extra blankets to help keep you all warm.

It was great to hear that you are looking to book again for our 2013 season. If you call the Park or Call Centre direct, they can let you know what offers we have on throughout the season, alternatively you can check out our Park Resorts Website.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for a week during october half term ,rented a private caravan.
Childrens entertainment was brilliant,have been to haven and this was much better.The kids clubs were great staff really interacting with the children,especially jellybean.
The evening entertainment was varied with the resident band playing a lot and many visiting acts.Plenty of tables and fair size dance floor.
Swimming pool with flume a good size,only about 7 changing room so i imagine in peak times it could be a problem,lots of large lockers.
Large ammusment area with lots of machines for the children,didnt use the farmhouse.
Onsite shop expensive and empty,well stocked spar is 10 minute walk down the road and lots cheaper.
All the staff were polite and helpful.
We would go again but in the summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booklady89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to enter your review following your holiday at Ty Mawr. It was great to read that you and your family had a great experience booking direct with one of our Owners at Ty Mawr.

All the Team Stars and Sports and Leisure Team that we have on our Parks are certainly a credit to Park Resorts! They dedicate their time ensuring that all of our guests staying with us are invited to join in and participate in the wide range of activities and entertainment that are available on the park.

The shop on Ty Mawr is run by a franchise and is open during the season. Towards the end of each season the stock is reduced. I have passed your comments onto to their area manager who has assured me that she will look into the comments that you have raised. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. It is with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve the facilities and service we provide on all our Parks.

It was great to hear that you are looking to book again for our 2013 season. If you call the Park or Call Centre direct, they can let you know what offers we have on throughout the season, alternatively you can check out our Park Resorts Website.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a great four days, I must say I was dreading going after reading the reviews. Stayed in a gold caravan which was spot less, and as new. Site was clean and well kept. Show Bar was clean. Only complaint would be the childrens entertainment which was not as good as Haven where we've stayed previously. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenWigan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hi Holly, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holiday at Ty Mawr Holiday Park.

It was great to hear that you all had a great time during your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised with the caravan you were allocated. Our Housekeeping team sometimes goes unnoticed so I will be sure to pass on your kind comments.

We have a Maintenance Team on Park who are dedicated to keeping the Park looking its best at all time, thank you for your kind comments and these have also been passed on to the team.

We do encourage all our guests, if they have any queries on the holiday park, with regards to either the facilities or entertainment, to speak to a team member whilst they are here. One of our team will always be happy to help and put things right as quickly as possible.

I was pleased to note that you are looking to book again for our 2013 season. If you call the Park or Call centre direct, they can let you know what offers we have on throughout the season, alternatively you can check out our Park Resorts Website.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towyn
3.1 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
603 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
634 reviews
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
551 reviews
4.9 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Towyn Road, Towyn, Abergele LL22 9HG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Abergele > Towyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Towyn
Price Range: $15 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Mawr Holiday Park is a lively park situated on the beautiful North Wales Coast. It is close to many beautiful attractions and serene backdrops with views of the Welsh Mountains. The park is lively with plenty to do for any generation, young or mature and offers a wide variety of Entertainment. Whether it is a relaxing stop over or a full week's family holiday we have the perfect package for you. Accommodation on the park is available in both pet friendly and non-pet caravans in Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum options. There are two large touring fields which cater to tents, Tourers and Motorhomes with electric hook up. Indulge in our extensive restaurant menu throughout the day and follow up with Live shows and Singers in the Cabaret Showbar later on. The team on park are always on hand, and we strongly believe that customers and people are our heart and soul, so we always strive to go above and beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, stress free and create some amazing memories you and your family will cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Holiday Park - Park Hotel Abergele

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing