We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, but not for everyone”
Review of Aloft Bolingbrook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Bolingbrook
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bolingbrook
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed overnight on a Saturday and were given a room on the second floor directly over the main entrance. I should say we were told only 1st floor and 2nd floor rooms were available.

To echo some other reviewers--very noisy, no soundproofing. The lounge was very busy when we returned after an outing at 11:30 p.m. The lounge is not in a separate room, but rather is part of an open floor plan that flows into the lobby. We could easily hear the music as well as the conversations of people who were smoking outside the main entrance. We really did not want to ask for a room change at midnight! Thankfully we were exhausted and fell asleep.

Additionally, while I found the European design of the room visually appealing as compared to your basic cookie-cutter hotel room, it also has an open floor plan. The sink is on the other side of a dividing wall, and the shower is divided from the bedroom by opaque glass. If you're sharing a room with someone and one of you gets up before the other, it doesn't work well lighting-wise or noise-wise.

This hotel appears to be strongly geared towards single young professionals, not the over 50 crowd!

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the lobby area as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwestmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. While we would like to think differently, the aloft brand is not for everyone. We do our best to accommodate everyone’s needs. The layout of the guest room is an open floor plan and for most travelers, it works. We understand that some may prefer more privacy. Our lobby bar is open until 2am on weekends and we do our best to keep the noise in the lobby so the guest rooms are not disrupted. Again, we thank you for your review of our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 334 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now and am angry with myself for repeating this mistake twice. The location is great and I am frustrated because I travel to this area frequently but I refuse to stay here again. For a renovated hotel they put no effort into sound proofing . All night you hear doors slam and I could here every word of the next rooms phone conversation. The worst part is the bar in the lobby . They blast music until after 2am and the drunks gather in a courtyard where they kept us up most of the night. At one point taround 2am the police came and arrested people. I read about the police having to come in multiple other reviews here as well. Aloft needs to decide if they are more interested in running a night club or a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemedic521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We review all guests experiences and do our best to accommodate everyone. I am very sorry to hear you have not had a good experience at the hotel twice now. The hotel was built in 2009, and like many hotels, unfortunately the walls are not soundproof. The hotel does its best to keep guest noise to a minimum and on the weekends enforces a “no party policy” in the guest rooms.

The hotel has brought in law enforcement to remove guests if they refuse to comply with the hotels policies and have parties in the guest rooms that are disrupting sleeping guests. While the impression could be negative in the eyes of a guest, we’ve always looked at it as a positive way to ensure our guests comfort and safety. The aloft Bolingbrook is absolutely a hotel that has a bar in the lobby, not a club. We’ve made major strides on the weekends to ensure the music is at a level that does not disturb the guest rooms. Again, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I invite you to contact me directly the next time you are in town. We would like to have another opportunity to show you the level of service our guests have come to expect. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back.

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a unique lodging experience at this chain. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms need some updating. My carpet was stained and worn. The rooms are large and have a European style. They are a bit loud due to the high ceilings and lack of curtains and furniture to buffer the sound in the room. However, there is little or no noise from the adjacent rooms or the street in front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice and large. There is no furniture to place your clothing and the closet is very small. If you are planning an extended stay, you are almost forced to live out of your suitcase.

You are located with easy access to the interstate and there is a fantastic shopping mall across the street. It is only 35-40 minutes from O'Hare during the non-rush hour traffice.

Room Tip: Any room locations seems to be fine. There is little or no noise from the adjacent rooms or the sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and recognized the uniqueness of our hotel! I will absolutely share your review with our staff and let them know to keep up the good work. The layout of the room does not include a standard dresser with drawers, but we’ve found creative ways for our extended stay guests to not have to live out of their suitcases! Again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

So, this was my first stay with this particular Starwood brand hotel. Have to say: two solid thumbs up. The staff was friendly (thanks for your good service, Rachel), the lobby was funky fresh (I'm a child of 80s music....sue me), the room was clean and nice, and bathroom was spacious (room 441).

Only a couple of detractions: housekeeping wasn't the best (making a bed is not that hard); the elevators were slow as molasses; and it would be awesome if the window shades closed from the bottom up, so one can have some daylight as well as privacy.

Great location (if you need to be in the burbs near Argonne or Joliet). Walk to a huge (though oddly empty) mall with some good stores. Oh, and loved the Bliss brand bathroom condiments!

Room Tip: Rm 441 was a gooder!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJ22312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor! First off, thank you for recognizing our lobby is funky fresh! We are not your typical hotel and we love to hear our guests comments about our lobby. I do apologize for the slower elevators and window blinds. Also, we will make sure housekeeping is made aware of your issue. Next time you come back, we will make sure your bed is in tip top shape! Again, our location is great if you are visiting Argonne or just here to shop at the Promenade or IKEA. We look forward to welcoming you back with a tightly made bed and all the Bliss products you can use! Thanks again!

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff were friendly and very helpful. This was a fun place to stay and close to many amenities.The room was laid out in a great way and the set up of the room was very useful. The pool was mediocre but the overall layout was cool and inviting. Walking distance to stores and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbawpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are always happy to hear feedback from our guests, good or bad! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and found it fun. I’ll pass this message on to our staff as they love to hear feedback as well! I’m sorry that Splash didn’t live up to your expectations, but I’m glad you enjoyed the layout and the vibe. It sounds like you took advantage of our location and did some shopping at the Promenade! Thanks again for your review and come back soon!

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were passing through for a football game and we booked this hotel because it was a good value out of the city and it seemed like a fun, hip place to spend a couple of nights. I wouldn't say it's the W, but it tried hard to be. I think that the location probably has the biggest influence on it not totally living up to what it was designed for. The area just didn't seem to fit the bill.

Our biggest complaint though were the thin walls. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or request a room away from other guests if possible.

All in all, we liked the hotel. It was a nice change from your run of the mill Holiday Inn or frou frou Sheraton. Fun and hip.

Room Tip: Walls are thin. We could hear full on conversations of our neighbors'. Request a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank YellowGazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to hear you didn’t get the night’s sleep you were expecting! I am very happy to hear you found the hotel to be clean, fun and a good value. Our proximity to the Promenade Shopping Center, IKEA as well as many local restaurants is a plus for many of our guests. However, our location is not for everyone….we like to look at it as “Urban cool in unexpected places”! Again, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back!

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was a bit concerned about the drive to be hip and trendy (as I am decidedly neither), but it worked out well. The rooms strive to be European, and they succeed admirably.

Very friendly staff.

Coffee: one packet of decaf, two packets of real coffee. Excellent!

Closet space: small, but adequate

Cleanliness: excellent

No iron? That is one improvement I would recommend

I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_aloft_bolingbrook, General Manager at Aloft Bolingbrook, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location is great if you are visiting Argonne or many other local companies in the area. I will pass on your kind words to the housekeeping department as they take a lot of pride in their work. A small hint for your next stay about the iron, they are tucked behind the bed in the headboard. A part of the room many of our guests miss. However, we want to make sure you have everything you need while you are here! We look forward to your next visit! Thanks again.

Paul Carpenter
General Manager, aloft Bolingbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolingbrook
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Bolingbrook
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bolingbrook I-55
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Bolingbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Chicago Bolingbrook
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolingbrook
Holiday Inn Bolingbrook
#7 of 9 in Bolingbrook
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Bolingbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Bolingbrook

Address: 500 North Janes Avenue, Bolingbrook, IL 60440-1277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Bolingbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bolingbrook
Price Range: $107 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Bolingbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style at Aloft Bolingbrook, 30 minutes from downtown Chicago. This modern hotel is located in Bolingbrook, Illinois, with easy access to Interstate 355 and Interstate 55. Find great shopping and dining across the street at The Promenade Bolingbrook. Finish up your day with a cocktail in W XYZ bar or take a dip in our indoor pool. A 42-inch flat-screen TV is included in the sleek guest rooms at Aloft Bolingbrook. Each has a stack of magazines, a refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities. Guests can work out at the 24-hour fitness center, boasting a variety of cardio machines. A children’s program is also available. Bolingbrook city center is 2.5 miles from the Bolingbrook Aloft Hotel. The Boughton Ridge Golf Course is 5 minutes’ drive away. This property is also rated for the best value in Bolingbrook! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Aloft Bolingbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Bolingbrook Hotel Bolingbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing