We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bank holiday special”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rookhope, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pauline5l
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bank holiday special”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us friends spent the bank holiday weekend at this cottage and I must say it is beautiful inside & out, & the owner is amazing. Pictures really do not do it much justice. Rooms are all very clean & chic!! Cosy place and has fantastic views of its surroundings. We were free to relax and had everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misse M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent the weekend at this cottage with friends and we had the best time in the world. The cottage was so comfortable, clean and luxurious. We took advantage of the hot tub and what the local area had to offer as well. This is a place I will definitely visit again and will advice anyone too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucyyyluu...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway Cottage”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely enjoyed our stay over the August Bank Holiday. We were a big group but the cottage was spacious to accommodate all of us.Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and the green scenery surrounding the property. Perfect for a getaway out in the sticks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmnsitumb...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in the middle of paradise”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us stayed here to get away from the city life and we loved every minute of it. Our host received us well (thanks for the hamper!) and even provided us with a barbecue stand that we used on both nights. She showed us how everything works.
The kitchen was fully equipped and the bedrooms were to die for. Super super clean and comfortable home. The pillows are simply the best!
Massive table in the kitchen for group meals and lots of space in the living room for relaxation and games etc... TV fully functional and wifi was excellent for those who resist isolation.
The hot tub was awesome and we all took turns to relax in it. There are sockets if you want to play music.
The location was more than superb. Quiet and peaceful for those who really want a break. Very safe too!
When the doors are shut, you can hardly hear any noise from the house (we did stay up pretty late!).
There are more than enough shops nearby and we also went paint balling - only a 30 min drive.
In short...I recommend this cottage 100%. Thank you to an amazing host for letting us enjoy the luxuries of your home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Miners Hall”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of my family just spent a wonderful week at the Old Miners Hall in Rookhope. The photos don't do the place justice, set in a wonderful location, lovely big place with all the amenities. Nicola was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. And it's a great base to explore County Durham, Northumberland and Cumbria. A great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama29jun...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous house for a 3-generation family holiday”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the property in this peaceful little hamlet was wonderful. But it was the beautiful house which has been so lovingly restored that blew us away. The attention to detail, the most comfortable beds ever, and of course to hot tub located in the summerhouse was what made this holiday a memorable one. When we arrived Nicola gave us the warmest of welcomes and showed us around the house. The welcome hamper was a lovely gesture, so much more to it than we had expected.
Although there were 9 of us, the rooms were all of a generous size and a quiet corner could easily be found if required. There were also many lovely walks in the immediate area around the property.
The house is well located for many visitor attractions, and it was so nice to come back and relax in the comfy spacious lounge or chill out in the hot tub. it's a place we all certainly want to come back to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbroo...
Flitwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, such comfort and a lovely area”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky to be the first family to visit the Old Miners Hall after it has been so lovingly refurbished. All of the furnishings and equipment are of a high quality and the property is warm, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen is so well equipped it was hard for us to tear ourselves away and visit the local pubs. The walks in and around the property were fascinating and full of history and it was lovely hearing the burn tricking outside the front.

Nicola, the owner, gave us the warmest of welcomes and was happy to help if needed. The welcome hamper, and especially the champagne, was a nice touch! We would certainly recommend the property, and loved the area as a base to explore some beautiful local spots including Hadrian's Wall, High Force and Durham.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing