We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Sunday brunch.”

Shannon's Five Star
Ranked #26 of 253 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try Sunday brunch.”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

On Sunday mornings, Shannon's has an all you can eat buffet. Half is filled with a variety of fruits. The other half is eggs, sausages, bacon, biscuits and gravy, etc., i.e. a good old country breakfast. For $8 you can fill your stomach for the day. The individual menu items may be a little higher than Denny's but you can't beat the buffet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh24v15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great place.”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you are traveling through Bloomington/Normal, try Shannon's. If you live in the area, you get the opportunity of finding a place like Cheers. It can feel like home. I mostly eat there only once per week but it is always speciial and they remember me. Great service, great food, reasonable prices. Best of all is the experience. There is no place like home except Shannon's.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went to Shannon's for an early morning breakfast before going into work and got there shortly after they opened. The service was extremely prompt and the food was fresh, hot, and delicious.
The value of our breakfasts were at least equal to, if not cheaper than going to a fast food restaurant and we got home style cooked food!
They open at 6:00 am CT and worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive breakfast that tastes ordinary”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Went there for breakfast with my son. He is a lite eater so i ordered him a kids meal pancakes. I decided on the tried and true bacon, eggs, hash browns, and toast. It didn't taste anything special but the bill afterwards was anything but. My entry w/ coffee was almost $8, and then add another five for the kids meal, then some more for tip and we're talking about well over fifteen dollars. I could get this type of food at any other local breakfast joint for much less and with much betters portions and quality. I'm gonna be coming back here anytime soon.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank rhythmsyndicate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thursday night dinner!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There for dinner on Thursday night: chicken fried chicken is their featured meal and it is YUMMY!!! All there food is good!! Breakfast, lunch OR dinner!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auntsue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shannon's Five Star also viewed

 

Been to Shannon's Five Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing