We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the hummus”
Review of Reality Bites

Reality Bites
Ranked #38 of 257 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Tapas Restaurant and Bar located in the heart of downtown Bloomington, Reality Bites gives you the best of both worlds; great food and an exciting night out on the town. Reality Bites provides a sophisticated, fun feel in a college town, serving a large diverse menu of lunch and dinner as well as a fully stocked bar.You can come in after a long day on Friday evening and just have a drink or anytime Tuesday thru Saturday to have a hearty meal and enjoy time with friends. Reality Bites is locally owned and takes pride in satisfying our customer's needs. So come on out and get the Reality Bites Experience.
Bloomington, il
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“loved the hummus”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A friend and i shared the hummus appetizer and a dessert. Both were very good. The sandwiches for the main course were also good but next time I would order an extra appetizer or two to experience more flavors. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Il.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We made a last minute reservation for 14 people and arrived minutes later. Our table was ready, the owner greeted us and service was impeccable. Emily, our server, was really on the ball. She knew the menu and was patient with 14 ladies who couldn't make up their minds. Good wine list. The bruschetta was excellent - a good size serving and plenty of the tomatoes/onions etc for the top of the mozzarella & balsamic clad toast. I thoroughly enjoyed a melt in my mouth 8 oz filet. Dessert was just right and the entire evening was a treat. When I return to Bloomington, this will be my first pick for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalenaBedandBreakfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food with friends”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of us went to Reality Bites for dinner and we enjoyed our experience. The food was very tasty - we shared several appetizers, baked brie, spinach-artichoke dip, crab cakes - and all were delicious. I had the shrimp risotto for the entree, which was good but could have used a few more shrimp - there were only four on the plate. Our server was friendly and efficient, the food was served promply and the atmosphere was pretty cool. A nice change of pace from the usual!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Reminds me of many northside Chicago bars with the exposed brick and long, narrow venue like a bungalow. It's not a big place and it's popular, so if you want to eat soon upon arrival, you better have a reservation, at least on the weekend. We didn't, and so we wound up eating at the bar after waiting for a pair of seats, which was fine by me. The bartenders are friendly and all of the food was outstanding, except the oysters which had a slight fishy odor and weren't completely cut from the shell. There were many interesting choices on the menu, and we plan to go back to try others. The ceviche, scallop risotto cakes, and spicy tuna tartar were absolutely delicious. If you like fish that isn't deep-fried and combined with other ingredients in interesting, tasteful ways, this is the place for you. If you have out-of-town guests, there's probably no better place to impress them in B/N than Reality Bites.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrytoFocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, ambiance”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

One of the few "hip" restaurants in the Blo-No area, Reality Bites delivers with and eclectic (if noisy) ambiance and tapas inspired dishes. Most of the appetizers are excellent, specifically the chicken skewers with whipped potatoes, hummus, tiger shrimp and fish tacos. They also serve some entrees, but we have always went with the appetizers.The food can be overly spicy at times, so if that is not your thing, telling the waitstaff up front is a good idea. The bar has a nice selection of beer (i.e. Bell's Two Hearted Ale)and wine. I hear from friends that they mix a variety of tasty martinis. The last time we were there was a Friday evening that had various after work groups/parties which was a bit annoying, but tolerable. The friendly staff more than make up for any inconvenience. All in all we really like Reality Bites and hope it stays in our area for a long time to come.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reality Bites also viewed

Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Reality Bites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing