We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lancaster's
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
254 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Always a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Tried this place 3 times and the food was nothing special or worth the money. Keep thinking I must be missing something but 3 tries is enough. Vegetarian options are poor and some meat offerings are offensive to compassionate consumers.

Helpful?
2 Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We were visiting Bloomington for a concert and sort of bumped into this place, so we went in for dinner. Quiet atmosphere, very knowledgeable and friendly staff. We ordered sandwiches and they were great - prime rib sandwich on focaccia had grilled vegetables and a chipotle sauce that was a big hit. Cheeseburger is NOT your typical burger. Served on ciabatta with oh, so much goodness. Dessert - grilled poundcake was good, but the bananas foster was unique and delicious. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stopped at Lancasters after spending the day looking for a puppy. The downtown area of Bloomington was so quaint and this restaurant fit right in perfectly. The waitress(Kristen) was very helpful and a creative array of off the menu specials was available. Nice, casual but elegant atmosphere with great food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tbone91148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

After reading reviews on several different sites I was concerned that we were making a poor choice in going to Lancasters for a special dinner. I'm glad I was proven wrong.

The building is clearly old and the owners use the space well. It is quiet and conversation friendly. The bar is seperate from the dining room and there is a seperate room for large parties.

We began our dinner with the Spinach & Artichoke Dip. It was served hot with a nice balance of cheese, spinach and artichokes. There weren't large pieces of spinach & artichokes found in other restaurants.

Then we each had the House Salad. I'm fussy about salads and this one passed the test. The fresh crisp greens were served on a chilled plate and the balance of all the ingredients was very good. I liked the dressing because it was light. Bread with a dipping sauce was also served at the same time as the salads.

For dinner we had the Baked Salmon, Wild Game Meatloaf and the Seafood Etoufee. My salmon was served on a warm plate and was cooked perfectly. The meatloaf and etoufee were also served as described.

The portions are what a serving should be - don't expect to take home a doggy bag - and we didn't have room for desert. The menu doesn't read like a phone book which is alright by me. I would rather go to a place that makes a few things well rather than a lot of mediocore meals. The meal was well paced and our server Tom was attentive without being obnoxious. I want to add that we went on a week night so that may have made our experience that much better. Because as frequently happens if a place is really busy, food and service can suffer even at the best places.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetogo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
201 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had heard for years how awesome Lancaster's was to eat. We also heard you have to have a reservation and that it was really expensive. So, when I won a contest for a free meal at Lancaster's, we went! We were not at all impressed AT ALL. Dated atmosphere, limited food choices, taste wasn't anything to write home about, and the bill was enough to make us choke. Just the 2 of us...ordered an appetizer, a salad, an entree, and shared a dessert...with tip...was almost $150. I am not kidding. We will NEVER go back and still shake our heads when we hear about Lancasters. Oh, and this "need a reservation" place...there were only 2 other people there besides us. The best part of the entire experience was the waitstaff...they were at our table often, refilled without asking, and very accomodating.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weluvtravlin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancaster's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing