We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-do when coming to Bloomington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucca Grill

Lucca Grill
Ranked #4 of 253 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must-do when coming to Bloomington!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is awesome and the food is wonderful! The atmosphere, smells, decor takes you back in time. When you go to Bloomington, you must experience Lucca! Lots of choices for food if you don't want pizza. However, if you are a true pizza lover you must have the Ala Baldini pizza!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great thin pizza”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stopped in at 9 pm on a Thursday night for pizza and a beer. Place was filled with people. That's the sign of a great place. Had chicken livers. They were fabulous too. Love the extra thin and crispy crust on the pizza. Although it is off the well worn path of Veteran's, I always track it down when I am in town. My family has been coming here since my Dad was in college. He even knew the Baldini brothers. It is a "towny" bar with old world Italian food. Worth the stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Singer7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is better than the food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food is what you would expect, but the chance to eat with friends in a small, and personalized italian restaurant is the best part of this place. Pizza is their pride and joy--all different types of combinations served on super thin crusts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAKenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walk back in time”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you want original pizza the Ala Baldini is great. It is an old time bar and small resturant that you can walk into and feel right at home. The sandwiches and other pizza's are also very good. It was a good ole democratic meeting place back in the 60's and 70's and even has a picture of President Kennedy hanging in the bar!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucca Grill”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've only been there for the pizza which is really really good,, Homemade thin crust with just the right amt of sauce (which is a bit on the tangy side...which I prefer) cheese and toppings the place has a family run atmosphere to it charming and friendly. I dont work close by any more so I have not been there in a few yrs... I would love to go back and see if it's still as good as before.. Like to try some other dishes too....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lucca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing