We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive tasteless pizza”
Review of Stolfa's Pizza

Stolfa's Pizza
Ranked #75 of 253 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive tasteless pizza”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Were told by friends we had to have their pizza. The crust was too crunchy, almost burnt, not enough toppings, and no flavor. With the amount of money we spent we should have ordered dominios...

Helpful?
2 Thank MegMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The Italian beef was a huge disappointment. Just chopped beef with an odd flavor. No cheese or peppers. Our first visit so maybe we could have asked for them but who knows? Very pricey especially for take out food. Pick up area was clean. Food ready when we arrived

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 155rancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointing #1”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The pizza was definitely not the greatest. We had it for a casual business dinner and I was not impressed. There was too much cheese and it lacked texture and variety. There was barely any sauce on the pizza and the crust seemed to be underdone. Id been looking forward to trying the number 1 ranked restaurant on trip advisor and it just didnt meet the cut. I honestly enjoy frozen digiorno much better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had 5 pizzas pick up to my business for staff. The crust was too thin and hard, like a cracker. Sauce is too sweet and there is a mountain of cheese on top. I mean there was more cheese than crust. I'm surprised that the crust can hold that much weight. Each pizza was different but they tasted the same. flavors are not there, just the taste of commercial cheese. It also took almost 2 hours. it wasn't even peak lunch time. 3 pm-ish. This place would be good if it was a lazy Sunday, because that is how I felt after two squares.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mike_61701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!! Don't Look Anywhere Else for Pizza in Bloomington/Normal!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is our last night of a 10 day road trip through 12 states. We have eaten a lot of food along the way, but we definitely saved the BEST for last. When my husband walked into the very unassuming pizza place, he knew right away that if the food was half as good as the service, we were in for a great meal. The pizza didn't disappoint. We have a favorite Chicago style pizza place back home (one we prefer above any Chicago style pizza we have eaten in Chicago) and this was a definite tie for the greatest pizza we have ever eaten. Though we were so full after just two slices of pizza, we managed to try the chicken, which also came highly recommended. It was so good, my husband finished it all. We managed to wrap up our extra pizza and will put it on ice and hope it makes it home to Wisconsin. We don't want to miss a bite!!! Looks like we will be taking a weekend drive to Bloomington to visit again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpbiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stolfa's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Stolfa's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing