We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful at Christmas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
1000 Monroe Dr, Bloomington, IL 61701-3333
+1 309-828-1084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
eureka, il
Level Contributor
215 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful at Christmas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is so much fun to go through this at Christmastime. When we entered the front door, music wafted to our ears with violins playing in the background. They were baking cookies so that smelled wonderful also! They take you through the mansion explaining the hx of it all. Very interesting and beautiful place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nurse4death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delight of Lincoln Era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Blast to the Past! This beautifully restored mansion was the home of David Davis, friend of Abrham Lincoln. It sits on beaitful grounds and gardens where many festivals and events take place at the mansion. During the year the home is opened for holiday showing which are very special reinactments of the period when Judge Davis lived. It is worth the time to see this home if you are interested in history or architecture.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great historical mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful historical mansion in Bloomington/Normal with lots of special events. I would recommend a visit during the Christmas season when you can see just how the Victorian's decorated for Christmas. A magical time for the whole family. I'd also recommend the Garden walk that happens every June.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historically accurate reflection in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have visited numerous times and enjoyed each time. The home is decorated in the traditional period Christmas motif in December, making this visit extra special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boilermaker821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you like Victorian era homes, don't miss this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited the David Davis Mansion during the Christmas holidays a few years ago. The entire home is decked out in period holiday decorations and is absolutely gorgeous! It is really something special and I highly recommend it. However, I don't think kids under 12 would be much interested in it, so best to leave the little ones at home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Athena_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Davis Mansion State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to David Davis Mansion State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing