We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you like Victorian era homes, don't miss this!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Davis Mansion State Historic Site

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you like Victorian era homes, don't miss this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited the David Davis Mansion during the Christmas holidays a few years ago. The entire home is decked out in period holiday decorations and is absolutely gorgeous! It is really something special and I highly recommend it. However, I don't think kids under 12 would be much interested in it, so best to leave the little ones at home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Athena_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herrin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mansion on the Prairie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having toured many southern plantation homes and many millionaire mansions, I didn't have high expectations for the David Davis Mansion - Davis was an early settler (early 1800s after Illinois became a state in 1818), attorney, and investor in the development of Bloomington. He later became a Supreme Court Justice. His home is outstanding, filled with interesting memorabilia, exquisite design features and lots of history. It easily competes with other homes I've toured. Sarah's garden is maintained by the local Master Gardener group and is as true to the original as it could be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St. Patricks Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Tour was very interesting - from the Irish servants point of view - my kids paid attention the entire time and loved the corned beef as a bonus at the end.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remington, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Former Vice President's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Toured on a special garden tours event. Enjoyed the restored house with original furnishings, as well as the garden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Countryman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Halloween was fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went for Halloween one year & they give the kids candy after the tour. The house is very nicely decorated. Another time, the staff was in period costumes. They are very knowledgeable on David Davis and Blm/Normal. Been there a few times and always enjoy it. Very small donation requested. Worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Davis Mansion State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to David Davis Mansion State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing