We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location -- close to eating and a Walmart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Anamosa, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location -- close to eating and a Walmart”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked our room on hotwire.com not knowing what hotel chain I was going to get. I got a great deal and the Country Inn is a pretty good hotel. We were nicely surprised. It is in a good, hotel row, location. Within walking distance (our family walks daily, so long walks don't bother us (even in 30 degree weather)) to a Bob Evans and Steak and Shake. We also walked to the Farm and Fleet and Walmart. There is a Mexican restaurant between the two stores also. Galaxy movie theater is right up the road, too.

The hotel is older, but our room was clean. The kids enjoyed the weight room, pool, and hot tub.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were facing the parking lot and the curtains don't close... so it was extremely bright in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MikeandCarrie,

Thank you so much for taking the time in providing us with your feedback. I am very glad to hear that you found our hotel to be in a good location. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guest. We are currently undergoing renovation in our pool room and will begin renovations in our rooms within a few weeks, so please make sure to keep us in mind next time you are in our area.

Once again, Thank you for your feedback.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    95
    35
    37
    14
See reviews for
158
47
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The pool, the breakfast, the fitness center--this had everything we were looking for, and a comfy style as well. The decor was up-to-date, and we loved the big bathroom! I liked the shower installed by the pool and jacuzzi.

Room Tip: They gave us a room facing away from the free-way, but said that either side was actually quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dawn213,

Thank for you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

While travelling, we often look for a Country Inn & Suites because they are often a little newer property and have better attention to detail than many other chains in the same price point.

At check-in, the desk clerk seemed unsure of tasks and not very confident. She could not find my customer profile in the system , which has never happened before. Not a big deal, but slowed the process and she had to enter available system data manually.

When we arrived at our room, the room was clean, but did find hair in the bathroom and the pillows didn't have pillowcases. When advised, the desk clerk said we could pick them up at the front desk.

The breakfast offering was standard for the chains, not better but certainly not worse for the standard fare.

Several other hotel chains very close. Next time through we will probably stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Jim B.
Midway, Arkansas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience you had at our hotel. What you experienced is not the standard we strive to uphold . We plan on doing some hotel update this winter. My hope is that next time you are in the area you will come back and give us another try.

Once again,Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. We thank you for your feedback and promise to keep them in mind. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATAVIA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel. Good for college visit. Breakfast had more healthy options than most. Staff very friendly. Beds comfy, but a little more hallway and 2nd floor noise than I'd like.

Pool and jacuzzi were well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Lisa J,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your recent experience. My staff and I take great pride in offering the highest quality of customer service to each and every guest that stays at the Country Inn & Suites.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms could use an upgrade but they were neat, tidy, and functional. The kids loved the pool. The breakfast was fabulous. They had a burrito bar, waffle bar, oatmeal bar, as well as lots of choices in milks, pastries, breads, juices, cereals, and coffees. They never let anything get cold or run out. It is also pet friendly whic we didn't need but it was nice to see a clean pet friendly place. The staff was friendly and helpful. Expedia messed up my reservation and the hotel desk clerk had it fixed withing 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Selina B,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and I'm also glad that you you found our breakfast to be enjoyable. The burrito bar is a big hit with our guests. You'll be glad to hear that we have added many new items to our breakfast menu such as french toast, sausage links,breakfast sandwiches, and breakfast potatoes. As you saw we are one of the few hotels in the Bloomington/Normal area that allows pets and we make sure to deep clean every rooms one a guest with a pet has checked out.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel but there are some things that should be in place no matter what the price...for example the tiles in the bathroom should be grouted down. The beds were very comfy and clean but besides the nice breakfast that was the only highlight of this hotel. The coffee maker was broken, bathroom tiles were chipped/loose, very old outdated televisions, one of two very old treadmills was not working (no sign warning you of this), no tv in workout room, missing carpet in room and broken outlets in the bathroom. The manager stated he had just taken over a couple of weeks before but he definitely has his work cut out for him. If we had not arrived so late on the day of and incurred a cancellation fee we would have switched hotels. This hotel is in need of a maintenance overhaul.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have microwave/refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Ms. Angela,

Thank you so much for taking the time and providing other guest with your valuable feedback. I must say that I agree with you. As per our conversation since I took over the hotel two 1/2 weeks ago we have begun to work on upgrading and working on major maintenance stuff at our hotel. The TV is missing from the workout room due to a new Flat Screen that has been ordered and will be installed next week.I am also working with the owners on getting new treadmills for our fitness center. I am very sorry for all the room issues you had. Housekeeping has been informed to report all guest room issues to the maintenance department once they discover an issue to resolve it before a guest checks in. I am glad that you found your bed to be clean and comfy. I'm trusting that you had a good night sleep. I am also pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast. Just to inform you we have added new hot items to our breakfast menu so guest will be able to enjoy different items each morning.

Once again thank you for your feedback. My hope is that you will give us another try if your travels ever bring you by our area in the near future.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed twice at this Country Inn and Suites while we visit our daughter at ISU. It is a little tricky to find as you can see it from the road but can't get there directly from that road. Rooms are fine and breakfast is hot, but it is nothing special. About a five minute drive to campus.

Room Tip: Ask for room 213. It is at the top of the stairs and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelston1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Pelston1961,

Thank you for taking the time and providing our hotel and other travelers with your feedback. I am very glad to hear that this is your 2nd visit with us. I am sorry that you did find it somewhat tricky to locate our hotel. As of 9/26/2012 our hotel is under new management so there will be a many changes that our hotel will be doing within the next few weeks and upgrading our breakfast items are one of them.

I hope that you keep us in mind next time you are in the area and once again thank you for your feedback.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Country Inns & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#6 of 22 in Bloomington
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Address: 923 Maple Hill Rd, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61705-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for a concert, a college visit, a family vacation or a business trip, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Bloomington-Normal West, IL welcomes you with friendly service. Our hotel is conveniently located off I-55, 74 and 39, near downtown Bloomington and uptown Normal. As an added bonus, we are also within minutes of Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Champion Fields and the Grossinger Motors Arena. After a long day of exploring, pillowtop beds and a quiet location promise a good night’s rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington Normal West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington Normal West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing