We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
BATAVIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stay again”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Clean, comfortable hotel. Good for college visit. Breakfast had more healthy options than most. Staff very friendly. Beds comfy, but a little more hallway and 2nd floor noise than I'd like.

Pool and jacuzzi were well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Lisa J,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your recent experience. My staff and I take great pride in offering the highest quality of customer service to each and every guest that stays at the Country Inn & Suites.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    88
    33
    33
    12
See reviews for
147
45
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms could use an upgrade but they were neat, tidy, and functional. The kids loved the pool. The breakfast was fabulous. They had a burrito bar, waffle bar, oatmeal bar, as well as lots of choices in milks, pastries, breads, juices, cereals, and coffees. They never let anything get cold or run out. It is also pet friendly whic we didn't need but it was nice to see a clean pet friendly place. The staff was friendly and helpful. Expedia messed up my reservation and the hotel desk clerk had it fixed withing 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Selina B,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and I'm also glad that you you found our breakfast to be enjoyable. The burrito bar is a big hit with our guests. You'll be glad to hear that we have added many new items to our breakfast menu such as french toast, sausage links,breakfast sandwiches, and breakfast potatoes. As you saw we are one of the few hotels in the Bloomington/Normal area that allows pets and we make sure to deep clean every rooms one a guest with a pet has checked out.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel but there are some things that should be in place no matter what the price...for example the tiles in the bathroom should be grouted down. The beds were very comfy and clean but besides the nice breakfast that was the only highlight of this hotel. The coffee maker was broken, bathroom tiles were chipped/loose, very old outdated televisions, one of two very old treadmills was not working (no sign warning you of this), no tv in workout room, missing carpet in room and broken outlets in the bathroom. The manager stated he had just taken over a couple of weeks before but he definitely has his work cut out for him. If we had not arrived so late on the day of and incurred a cancellation fee we would have switched hotels. This hotel is in need of a maintenance overhaul.

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have microwave/refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Ms. Angela,

Thank you so much for taking the time and providing other guest with your valuable feedback. I must say that I agree with you. As per our conversation since I took over the hotel two 1/2 weeks ago we have begun to work on upgrading and working on major maintenance stuff at our hotel. The TV is missing from the workout room due to a new Flat Screen that has been ordered and will be installed next week.I am also working with the owners on getting new treadmills for our fitness center. I am very sorry for all the room issues you had. Housekeeping has been informed to report all guest room issues to the maintenance department once they discover an issue to resolve it before a guest checks in. I am glad that you found your bed to be clean and comfy. I'm trusting that you had a good night sleep. I am also pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast. Just to inform you we have added new hot items to our breakfast menu so guest will be able to enjoy different items each morning.

Once again thank you for your feedback. My hope is that you will give us another try if your travels ever bring you by our area in the near future.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed twice at this Country Inn and Suites while we visit our daughter at ISU. It is a little tricky to find as you can see it from the road but can't get there directly from that road. Rooms are fine and breakfast is hot, but it is nothing special. About a five minute drive to campus.

Room Tip: Ask for room 213. It is at the top of the stairs and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelston1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristo O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Pelston1961,

Thank you for taking the time and providing our hotel and other travelers with your feedback. I am very glad to hear that this is your 2nd visit with us. I am sorry that you did find it somewhat tricky to locate our hotel. As of 9/26/2012 our hotel is under new management so there will be a many changes that our hotel will be doing within the next few weeks and upgrading our breakfast items are one of them.

I hope that you keep us in mind next time you are in the area and once again thank you for your feedback.

At your service,
Cristo Ortiz-Palafox
General Manager
Country Inns & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel has big rooms but is old and outdated. Can't believe ratings from the bargain hotel websites - beware bidders. The tiles in the bathroom were loose and could easily be pulled up. Had bugs in the bathroom. Pool was dirty and filter seemed not to be working. Fitness room had an ancient stair stepper and treadmill. Best part - size of room. Worse - everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

I am glad you did enjoy the size of the rooms. We do apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay. The hotel is currently under renovations to address some of the key issues that exist. It is a shame that some of these issues were not addressed with our staff during your stay; however, we do invite you to return in the future for the opportunity to make this right.

John Larkin
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

...the location is right off the interstate. The room was more than dated, it needed a good deep cleaning. The couch had stains and the fabric on the bottom of the couch was tearing away, the carpeting was stained, the door frame of the bathroom was spotted with rust stains (?), the drain for the shower was very sluggish, and the microwave/refrigerator area needed a good deep cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNINMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Sir,
I do apologize we are a bit outdated and there is some maintenance work that needs to be done. Luckily we have been sold out or close to that for 3 months and have had little or no chance to do preventive maintenance to solve these minor issues. We will in August when it slows down and can promise a turn around then. Thanks for the comment, we are working hard to make sure it doesn't stay that way for long.

Tim
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've stayed at a good number of Country Inns and this one was below average. Overall it felt dated and somewhat rundown. It was clean but in need of an update. The deadbolt was broken off the door in my room which was a concern.

The overall value for the $ is still acceptable but I would hope that this location gets updated soon and someone inspects the rooms more frequently.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I appreciate your honesty sir, and would like to let you know that we are in the middle of some upgrading. We were one of the 1st Country Inn's ever and were built in 1998. In 2008 we were in the middle of a complete overhaul when the economy took a big hit. Since 2007 they have added 300 properties to our chain of over 500. Many folks like yourself have had the chance to see brand new facilities and then compare to ours, and there is no comparison yet.
Now for folks who have never been to one, they love this place and think that it's very cozy & comfortable compared to other chains.

I am glad to see you found the rate comparable and appreciate your honesty there too. When it comes to cutomer service and cleanliness, I promise you will find no better. Please do come back to visit now that we are moving forward with more renovation since the local economy is getting back on track. Thank you.

Tim Carroll
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.8 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Address: 923 Maple Hill Rd, Bloomington, IL 61705-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Reliable Lodging in Bloomington near Illinois State University. Whether you're in town for a college visit, a conference or a family trip, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson(R), Bloomington-Normal West, IL welcomes you with friendly service and a hot cup of coffee. Within five miles of both downtown Bloomington and uptown Normal, our hotel is also conveniently located off I-55 and I-74, and within 10 minutes from Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University and the Interstate Banquet and Conference Center. After a long day of exploring, pillowtop beds and a quiet location promise a good night's rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington Normal West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington Normal West
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing