We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected -- got the basics covered and no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected -- got the basics covered and no complaints”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We found this by searching online while driving to find a reasonably-priced stop for our road trip. Our criteria were straightforward: it was late, we were road-weary, and we REALLY wanted to unwind in a hot tub. So … we started calling around to see which hotels had hot tubs which would still be open late. With our travel association discount card, we got a great discount on this room and were pleasantly surprised. The room was spotless, the staff exceedingly courteous and the king-sized bed was super comfortable. And the best part? A pool/hot tub open until midnight! The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which included the basics: cereal, yogurt, fruit, and make-your-own waffles. The hotel was smoke-free and thankfully did not have that “air freshener room spray smell that’s so common in chain motels (and which can be very annoying to scent-sensitive travelers like me).Not luxurious by any means, but all in all, served our purposes well for a quick sleepover stop.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMcNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    95
    35
    37
    14
See reviews for
158
47
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Always thought Country Inn and Suites were great hotels until this experience. Dated decor in the room and less than clean. Noise level was ridiculous with drunken neighbors coming in at 3 a.m.
Neighborhood less than stellar. Amenities were ok (pool, breakfast).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blnavarremary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

With stressful family situations at home, my husband and I needed a relaxing night away. We had two problems with our stay. We were first given a room with no running water in the sink. We didn't realize the problem until we had moved in and returned from dinner. When we reported it, we were given another room across the hall, so we moved our belongings. It was a warm evening and we were disgusted to find the AC was not working. We tried opening the window which not only would not stay open, but crashed down. Luckily it didn't smash my fingers. Ok, so we propped the window open with the information notebook. Husband went out to the desk where a line of customers were waiting to check in. After a while the AC started followed by a phone call saying they had forgotten to activate the AC from the desk. Duh! Otherwise, the pool was clean and just a tad cool. The hotttub was hot and relaxing. The bed was comfortable. The cookies were good and the breakfast was adequate. At checkout we found the manager hadn't heard anything from the evening staff about the room issues. He took some off our bill. Hopefully room 102 now has running water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyvernette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, in
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We called for 2 rooms, they had one room for us?!? They wouldnt do anything about it!?! Verify your reservation as they dont seem to get it right and dont know how to fix anything either, customer is last at this hotel : (

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Looking at some of the other posts on other hotels in the area it was hard to believe some of them. Really all the first time posters loving a generic hotel chain hotel? So anyways thought it was time to post a review on this chain hotel. It was fine. What you would expect from this chain. Not upscale but nice and clean. I got upgraded to a suite which is always great. The breakfast choices are good and free. They did run out of milk which was not cool. There was a Girl Soft ball tourn. in town and the hotel was full but they should have made sure to have enough milk one would think. The rooms are not trendy with Country Inn and suites but they are clean. Very small breakfast area but the lady that worked there was very nice and helpful and was trying her best to keep table clear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chitownbigcityfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family gave me a trip to see my first Cubs game and we needed a hotel about 2 1/2 hours out of Chicago. A lot of the hotels in the are were booked and over priced. We stayed here and it was AMAZING! The staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They even gave us their only map to get to Downtown which was amazing I want to go back!. But the hotel was AMAZING in itself. The King suite was the greatest! And the breakfast the next morning was out of this world! Great place to stay and right off the interstate! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDNKWMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Made reservation on-line; member of Carlson Club. Visit to area family & friends. Spent 2 nights; great breakfast included in rate. A second Country Inn is located closer to our family but rate differential made it worthwhile to stay here.
Desk and breakfast personnel very helpful and appreciative of our business. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MISTERBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#6 of 22 in Bloomington
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Address: 923 Maple Hill Rd, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61705-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re in town for a concert, a college visit, a family vacation or a business trip, the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Bloomington-Normal West, IL welcomes you with friendly service. Our hotel is conveniently located off I-55, 74 and 39, near downtown Bloomington and uptown Normal. As an added bonus, we are also within minutes of Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Champion Fields and the Grossinger Motors Arena. After a long day of exploring, pillowtop beds and a quiet location promise a good night’s rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bloomington Normal West
Country Inn & Suites Bloomington Normal West Hotel Bloomington
Country Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing