We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Bloomington
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Terrible room. Noisy parking lot - cars in and out all night with doors slamming. One heater on the edge of the room - 70's style. Heat was either blasting so the room was a sauna or completely off. Shower barely worked and ran out of hot water quickly. Room rate was higher than others in the area - so no bargain here. Even with AAA it was still over $60 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel. At the same time I really apologize that your stay was not upto your satisfaction. This shows that I, as General Manager am not doing the perfect job. I and my staff are very proactive in solving any problem guest may face. I could not find you in my system with your name and also checked with my staff for any problem you might have made us aware of. Please call us with the room number you stayed so that I can fix the problem and make sure no other guest go through the same bad experience as you did. Thank you again and would like you to give us one more chance to serve you.
Sanjay Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    32
    9
    16
See reviews for
31
27
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
347 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were very tired and glad to have found a bargain right off the interstate that was good enough for a few hours rest. Front desk clerk was helpful. You park right in front of your room with it's own door, making it so much easier to bring your luggage in. Linens were OK on beds, pillows and mattress decent. Room lacked frige and micro, scant selections of channels, but the room was spacious and the wifi had good signal strength so we could check weather for the remainder of our trip and watch a little tv/netflix online. Granite counter at sink was nice but housekeeping needs to address bathroom issues as the shower was icky with mold in the corners, yuk. Towels were standard for bargain chain but at least they were clean. Have stayed at other RRInns and notice there is an unfortunate inconsistency in level of quality ~ this one is on the lower end of average but entirely adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to know that we were not upto your expectation. We had issue with our temporary housekeeping staff, which is at present resolved. Thats why I had consecutively 3 reviews with bathroom issue. I hope you will give us one more chance to serve you. I promise to make your next stay, a PERFECT stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, IL
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stay at this Red Roof In at least six times a year and always found the manager to be friendly and postive about any questions or concerns we may have. As for the quality of the rooms, I rate them at a B-plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you Mr. Jerry for your nice words. I will continue to do my best. Its always been a pleasure to serve you and others who come for 3rd Sunday Market. I have your same room ready for 15th.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were looking for a budget motel and chose this one based on TripAdvisor reviews.
The positives - easy access from 74, fast check in, desk clerk made fresh coffee for us, large room with new granite counter and sink. Lots of dining options nearby.
The negatives - room seemed clean enough but the bathroom was not as clean as I would like. We had a room on ground floor with a connecting door to next room. When we came back from dinner we could hear children and a dog as well as the television and adults talking. I went to front desk and one of the clerks did go the room and ask them to be quiet. They did quiet down but the walls are thin and the door allows even more noise to come through. We turned on the air and that helped, too. The desk clerk did say we could move to another room if we were not satisfied. We were fine.
We felt perfectly safe in this location. The carpet in these walk in rooms are hard to keep clean, especially near door but I always wear shoes in any hotel.
So, if you are looking for a budget stay in overpriced Bloomington this is fine, especailly for the price. The desk clerks were very accomodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking out time to review our property. Glad that you recommended our service to others. Please be aware that I personally will be more pro-active to make sure that rooms are more cleaner than you experienced.
Thank you once again and hope to see you in near future.

Sanjay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I usually stay at chain hotels that are indoor entrance. For a one night stay, it was fine. Cleanliness wasn't up to other hotels I have stayed at in the past. Grease-like substance on remote sealed the deal. There was a hand print on the window that I think may have been the same hand that touched the remote! Didn't report as the damage had been done. No TV watching for me! There are other hotels in the area that are a more pleasant stay than here. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Approach remote with caution!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlunderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry that your experience at our property wasn't upto your expectation. I will try more harder to make sure these issues are addressed and taken care of. Reviews like yours tell me my underperformance overall. I promise you will have a PERFECT stay if you give me one more chance.

Sanjay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just stayed at an awesome RRI in Indiana so I thought we would have the same experience in Bloomington.... nope. Hotel in need of care, doors opened to exterior... did not feel safe in this area.
I would not chose this when so many other choices exist in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest

I am pleased to hear you had a great experience with another Red Roof Inn, I wish our accommodations would have provided you with the same comments. I apologize that you did not feel comfortable at our inn with the exterior corridors. I would like to know more about what you meant by “in need of care”. Please feel free to contact me directly at the inn to discuss. Once again thanks for your comments to help us improve for our future guests.

Sanjay Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were particularly impressed with a staff member who provided directions to a restaurant and a coupon for $4 off our check. Room was clean and price was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Top1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
It was great to know that your stay was satisfactory. I will definitely pass on to my other team members. Hope to see you on your next trip. I promise we will provide again a PERFECT STAY.

Sanjay Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Bloomington
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington Normal
Days Inn Bloomington Normal
#19 of 22 in Bloomington
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#15 of 22 in Bloomington
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 22 in Bloomington
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Bloomington

Property: Red Roof Inn Bloomington
Address: 1905 W Market St, Bloomington, IL 61701-2603 (Formerly Best Inns Of America Bloomington)
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Bloomington 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012 and conveniently located at Exit#160 on I55 & I74. Lots of restaurants at walking distance. Easily accessible from ISU and Wesleyan University. Very near to Cellular Coliseum & Interstate Center. If you are looking for affordable and clean stay, this is the place. You will be welcomed with our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing