We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Place to Stay; Ask for a high-numbered room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room was very comfortable and the mattress was one of the best. All public areas were clean and seemed to be well maintained. Plenty of outlets in our room including some that accepted USB; easy to charge all our electronics. Excellent breakfast and the person responsible during our stay kept it clean and furnished even though there ware a large number of people in the area. They could use more seating. If possible, ask for a high-numbered room. The elevator is at one end of the hotel (not the center) and there is a long-walk if you are in 201, 202, 203, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-numbered room if you have mobility or walking problems. The hall to the low-numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 383 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel is clean and very accessible to the interstate. It is tucked away, but not too far away, from the main road that road noise was not a problem. There are many places to grab a bite to eat and there is a Steak 'N Shake right next door. We got in at 11:00 at night and check in was seamless. It is 8 miles away from Illinois State University. The rooms are typical Hampton Inn sized rooms, but is clean and no odor. Bathroom is standard but not small. Hallways are clean and SMELLED GOOD! No musty odor here! Breakfast was standard. It was warm food with your typical fare of items (scrambled eggs, biscuit, oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, bagels, etc). We are from the south, so we missed the grits, biscuits and gravy that is offered is Hampton Inns in the south, but food selection was OK. There is a pool but we did not get to try it during our stay; however, it looked clean. We will definitely stay in this Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: It's only three floors so pick a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The amenities at the hotel including the complimentary breakfast are above average for the price. The value for the price is commendable. You can not ask for more for the prices charged. Great value. I will consider a return stay at this hotel chain and at the particular location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Akin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Like all other Hampton Inns, this lives up to its potential. It has a great location, well appointed rooms, good fitness center and pool. The only negative is that the computer does not work very well, but I was informed that they will be getting a new one soon. I have stayed at this Hampton Inn in the past and will stay there again next time I am in Bloomington.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bug_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Best Kept secret is this west side Hampton - all the great amenities of the "in town" locations that always seem to be booked. Easy access to I-55- fast food alternatives close by. AND the price is a much lower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm Very satisfied. From the comfort of the room, to the cleanliness of the facility, to the friendly staff. Well worth the price. Since I am a very what most people call "tickey/pickey" person, this should be considered top quality coming from me. I'm not easily pleased when it come to a bed, or clean bathroom or food. Yet I can not find one reason to complain about this facility.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a trip to Chicago and couldn't drive the whole way; so we found this gem to stop at for the night before finishing the drive the next morning. The hotel is located off I-55 less that 1/2 a mile and is one of a plethora of hotels off the exit.

Check-in was very easy. Being HHonors Gold they don't require us to initial by the rate or sign any paperwork, so they just gave us our key and a brief orientation and we were on our way to our room. This hotel is 3 stories high and the elevator is located at the end of the hallway. This is an incredible design that ensures that there are very few rooms that are actually located near a noisy elevator. In addition, the stairs are located next to the elevator and are carpeted. So anyone who does get that one room by the elevator/stairs can nearly guarantee they won't hear any loud noises coming from the jumping down/clanging of feet on an otherwise cement stairwell. Whomever came up with this design deserves kudos points.

Our room was very nice. It was standard layouts of a Hampton Inn guest room and they honored our request for a King Sized bedroom. The bathroom had your standard amenities, the water was hot, there was a bath/shower combination and I didn't see much hair left from the guest before us. We slept well, even though the guests next to us were loud.

Breakfast in the morning was your typical Hampton Inn fare. Regretfully, it was "Western Omelet" morning (my lest favorite of the Hampton Inn breakfasts). They had the other Hampton Inn items to include waffles, oatmeal, turkey sausage, fruit, juices,yogurt, pastries and the coffee was hot/fresh. We simply couldn't beat the price at the $77.00/night per diem rate and were overall very happy with our stay.

Kudos to the Front Desk woman who recommended "Swingers" to us for dinner that night. We were in the mood for somehting decent and in the immediate area all they have is fast food. We found this awesome restaurant at her recommendation and would say that you shouldn't settle for what's in the immediate area of the hotel and the front desk staff made a great recommendation. (P.S. there's also a walmart about 2 minutes down the road from the hotel).

Overall, an excellent stay. Stay with confidence at this newer hotel; we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
3.9 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal West
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington-Normal Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bloomington West

Address: 906 Maple Hill Rd, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61705-5005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range: $94 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bloomington West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing