We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Autre Monde Cafe

Autre Monde Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Autre Monde Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Berwyn
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Park Avenue
Transit: Pace Bus - Roosevelt Road Line and Oak Park Avenue Stop on the Blue Line - about a 5 block walk south to Oak Park and Roosevelt.
Description: an absolute jewel-quite a find-exceptional food not found anywhere nearby
Level Contributor
230 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 5 and had a wonderful time. Very nice wine list, we shared 3 bottles and the menu is clearly meant to be shared. We started with marcona almonds and also olives. After that each of us picked an item and we shared. The crispy shrimp fritters were excellent! We then went on to a second round of small plates. Just amazing.
We found easy street parking.
Service was outstanding.
With the 3 bottles of wine, plus tip,we each put in $50.00 and walked out very happy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Small Plates -- Big Flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been here a couple of times, and our most recent visit was certainly the best. The menu is small plates, and individual dishes come to the table in an essentially random order -- come with a group and you will have a great time. The place is small, generally packed, loud, and everyone is having a good time - getting your dishes in no regular sequence just adds to the (very pleasant) feeling of anarchy. Small wine list with some weird bottles, but each of the wines that we have tried has been at least reasonably good (and very well priced). I wouldn't drive across the country to eat here, but I would certainly drive across town. Worth a try, especially if you want to feel like you're eating in the middle of a party.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
312 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a visit to the area and unsure of where to eat, we found Autre Monde on Trip Advisor. What a great discovery. Our entrees (lamb shank and gnocchi) were excellent. Interesting wine list also, with wines from offbeat places like Croatia and expected places like Spain and Italy. Place is small and crowded so it was pretty loud. Enjoyable experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

What an amazing experience we had! Four of us enjoyed a myriad of small dishes with wonderful cocktails and wine. The food here is truly a unique, savory and inventive array of Mediterranean food with Spanish, Italian, and French influence. Truly one of the best in the Chicago area. The only detractor is that the bar is unbelievably small and the noise level is outrageous, making it difficult to hear each other. Still, we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vhadquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
372 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in an Unexpected Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've been eager to try Autre Monde since it opened (and since they've regrouped after a fire), and we were so pleased that we plan to return in a couple of weeks for another special meal.

The four of us agreed to share our main courses; while we were disappointed that the snapper on the menu wasn't available, the dishes we did order compensated. One of us ordered the chicken (moist and flavorful); another had the steak frites (just delicious--which we ordered without the frites and with spinach instead); another had the gnocci with duck sausage (fabulous); and another had the goat cheese pasta. Everything was, well, just delicious, as were the side dishes and the desserts: pot au creme; cinnamon cake; and cannoli. It's delightful to find such fabulous dining in such an unexpected, modest location, and the food is among the best we've had--and that says a great deal about the quality here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Autre Monde Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing