We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn - Benton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Staying at Super8, personally I have to say was the best idea of my vacation for stayin a night anywhere. For one, it had the most comfortable beds, and two, the desk clerk was really friendly and made me and my family welcome. Most of the Super8's I had visited were trashy and loud, lucky this one was the totally opposite. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good nights sleep, and the best service 24/7.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Starbuxbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2008

Dirty, dirty, dirty. I had the great misfortune to get tired while driving and decided to stop at this motel for the night. I should have kept going. Upon checking in, I noticed a small sign that read "No refunds after 15 minutes of check-in". Whoa, that should have told me what I was in for. I was too tired to digest what I read so I went to my "room", and upon opening the door I was met with an old musty odor. It was late, so rather than seek out another room, I just pulled back the covers on the bed and slept in my clothes. I got a few hours of rest and was gone before 6:00AM.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RaceOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

I and my wife booked this hotel directly. I would say that was one the best experience of our hotel stays. We had other family members staying there too and we made movie for all our family and our relatives we wanted to see that movie and we could not hook up with the TV that was already in the room so we mentioned that to the manager and he actually got us his own personel TV from his office so we could injoy that movie because we were very excited, i think that was really good gesture and excellent service because manager did not had to do it and he did it anyway. Rooms were very clean and staff was nice and helpful. I would recomend that hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nick085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Our confirmed reservation was not honored and we were given a lesser room. The room was not very clean and the staff was not very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KokopelliFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

This seems to be a fairly old property that has had some decent modernization and upgrades, but is not all the way there yet. In fact, if you take this Super 8, along with the Days Inn next door and the restaurant that shares the same parking lot -- if I had to guess I'd say all three used to all be parts of a single Holiday Inn. It has that 1960s Holiday Inn look and feel.

My stay started with a courteous and helpful young lady at the front desk, who cheerfully changed my room to the top floor when I asked. They put a sticker with the room number on the key card -- a nice touch for people like me who forget the room number by the time I get back from dinner. Walking through the corridor, the room doors and the hallway give a 1960s feel. Inside the room was a bit more updated, with nice-looking bedding and furniture. The bed was quite comfortable. On the downside, the carpet was a bit threadbare, the drapes didn't entirely cover the window, and the A/C was old and noisy. The bath fixtures were nice, although the plumbing was fairly antiquated judging by the repeated hot/cold cycles in the shower. Interestingly, the motel guide in the room still touts the Super 8 "VIP Card" ... how long has it been since Super 8 stopped the VIP program?

Overall, this is a reasonable place, albeit at a slightly-higher-than-reasonable price, in a small town, convenient to the freeway and services.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cadillac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
5.7 mi away
Lake Cove Hotel
Lake Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Whittington
48 reviews
21.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
346 reviews
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
500 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
21.8 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn - Benton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn - Benton

Address: 711 W Main St, Benton, IL 62812 (Formerly Econo Lodge Benton)
Location: United States > Illinois > Benton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn - Benton 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Benton, Illinois and all it has to offer, whether staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through at the Country Hearth Inn Benton. Ideally situated only a few miles from Morthland College and downtown Benton, our hotel is conveniently located off Highway Illinois 14 on West Main Street. We are near local attractions such as Franklin County Garage 1910 Museum, I 57 Drag Strip, and Wayne Fitzgerrell State Park. Our property offers a guest laundry facility, so you can keep your clothes and belongings fresh during your stay. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with a free cup of coffee or continental breakfast. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Our staff will work with you to ensure your stay with us runs smoothly down to the last detail. Each of our 40 guest rooms feature the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Country Hearth Inn Benton is your best choice within the county seat of Franklin County, Illinois. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Chicago or Champaign. At Country Hearth Inn Benton our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Country Hearth Inn Benton, Expect More. Get More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Hearth Inn - Benton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Benton
Super Eight Benton
Benton Super 8
Benton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing