We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Comfortable Place to Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn - Benton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I have stayed at this Super 8 on several occasions, so I am familiar with the location. As with any hotel, there will be problems. However, I must admit the quality of service is phenomenal at this location. The staff and management make you feel at home with the excellent customer service. The hotel rooms have always been very clean. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget, and most are these days. The hotel really does have a pleasant atmosphere even if a bit retro in style.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimee309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Country Hearth Inn - Benton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Signage at check-in desk noted the items for breakfast available at the motel. This sign included biscuits and gravy. There were none the next morning. Breakfast was sparse.
Dimly lit check-in area and breakfast area.
Good point:The beds did seem to have new sheets.
I felt the room was overpriced considering the look/age of the facility. The base price was $64.99.

Room Tip: I look at the managers business card at the front desk. I've also become cautious regarding the...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were on our way home from TX and just looking for a place to crash for the night. Got off at an exit and looked for the best looking, inexpensive hotel and picked this one. Didn't expect a lot from a $65 a night hotel, but were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms were very large. It looked like the hotel had just been renovated, clean paint, nice carpet, no visible wear on the bedding or curtains. The vanity was in the bathroom, this was actually nice because I was traveling with my son's girlfriend, it gave us a little more privacy. The beds were very comfortable, and you could faintly smell bleach. Not so much that it make you sick, just enough that you could tell they had been freshly washed and bleach had been used. When running out to the car for something, I could hear young children in a couple of the rooms around us. I noticed ath when in our room I couldn't hear any thing through the walls. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We checked into hotel and when we went to our room we noticed bugs on the window sill. Most of them were dead and when we rested on the bed we noticed bugs on the wall around the lights by the bed and actually crawled on my husbands hand. When we complained to the front desk they informed us they had a couple of rooms that insects had gotten into... why did they rent the rooms if they KNEW they had BUGS.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labradoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

when we arrived we noticed anyone could come into the hotel at anytime. no security cameras at all except in the lobby. the breakfast if that is what they call it if you dont get there by 6:30 am forget it they dont put that much out and there is nobody in the lobby to get more if you need more. we seen drug needles in the parking lot 10 feet from the entrance.they will just walk into your room to clean it even if you put out the do not disturb sign. this is the worst place to stay. my advice is keep driving untill something else turns up. i would not want anyone i know to stay at this dive. we would have been better off sleeping sleeping in the car for the week we stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffalex39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Believe the other bad reviews, this place is disgusting! My room's floor had some sort of animal hair all over it, and needed vacuuming terribly. The counter in the bathroom had some sort of weird dried stuff (vomit possibly) all over the edge, mold around the sink, soap residue be the faucet, and the bathtub was so dirty it was brown with dirty footprints. The heater was a noisy rusty mess, and the beds didn't have any of the nice plastic sheeting you see so often now days, so I had the lovely treat of seeing dried yellow drool printed pillows peeking out at me from under my pillowcase when I arrived.
The hotel wasn't secure at all either, the main doors didn't even close properly, and every time I went past them they were propped open. With the sort of unsavory people I saw meandering through the parking lot, this lack of security is a poor choice!
As another reviewer said, "keep on driving"! Heed this advice, you'll probably get a better Super 8 further on down the road!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahospud011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This place is a dump. It's been a long time since we've stayed somewhere this bad. The rooms were worn & dirty looking. The towels felt like sandpaper. I haven't seen such a small bath towel in over 25 years. No coffee in the lobby except during breakfast. The owner watched our every move when we got took one pastry & coffee back to our room rather than sit in the nasty looking 'breakfast area'.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essie337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
5.7 mi away
Lake Cove Hotel
Lake Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Whittington
46 reviews
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
57 reviews
21.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
487 reviews
21.8 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
59 reviews
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn - Benton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn - Benton

Address: 711 W Main St, Benton, IL 62812 (Formerly Econo Lodge Benton)
Location: United States > Illinois > Benton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benton
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn - Benton 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Benton, Illinois and all it has to offer, whether staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through at the Country Hearth Inn Benton. Ideally situated only a few miles from Morthland College and downtown Benton, our hotel is conveniently located off Highway Illinois 14 on West Main Street. We are near local attractions such as Franklin County Garage 1910 Museum, I 57 Drag Strip, and Wayne Fitzgerrell State Park. Our property offers a guest laundry facility, so you can keep your clothes and belongings fresh during your stay. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with a free cup of coffee or continental breakfast. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi available throughout the property. Our staff will work with you to ensure your stay with us runs smoothly down to the last detail. Each of our 40 guest rooms feature the ambiance of home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Country Hearth Inn Benton is your best choice within the county seat of Franklin County, Illinois. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Chicago or Champaign. At Country Hearth Inn Benton our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Country Hearth Inn Benton, Expect More. Get More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Hearth Inn - Benton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Benton
Super Eight Benton
Benton Super 8
Benton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing