We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Prayerful”

National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Holyoke, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Prayerful”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We LOVED driving the stations of the cross. Of course, you can walk this area, very safely. You can obtain a map of the grounds at the hotel desk, it is very helpful & self-explanatory. Enjoyed seeing all the chapels and lit a candle at the candlelarium.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cookie_1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    44
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas spiritual extravaganza”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have visited this almost every year since I was in my young teens and find this to be a place of beauty and spirituality. The displays at the stations, the lighting, the music and narration of the events surrounding Jesus birth are breathtaking and awe inspiring. You leave there with tears in your eyes, with a renewed sense of devotion and a sense of fullness in your heart and spirit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Light show”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The best Christmas lights and attraction on this side of the Mississippi. There is a prayer grotto with candles. Also, live animals and lots of religious gifts in the gift shop. The restaurant needs reservations during the Christmas season.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHALET13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Inspiring”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have seen the exit sign on the freeway for this Shrine many times when I pass through the area and have always wanted to see it. Some friends and I finally made a pilgrimage and we weren't disappointed. The grounds are beautiful. We were very happy to know that we could drive from station to station at the Stations of the Cross, as one of my friends cannot walk great distances. As we drove along the tree shaded road, we spotted a deer munching on leaves. Such a peaceful spot. I was especially taken with the sculpture of Christ in the Agony Garden. The chapel at the Shrine is beautiful, as is the main Church. The gift shop is amazing! Although we didn't stay in the hotel, we did have lunch in the restaurant. What a great variety of soups to choose from, and the bowls are small so you can sample as many as you want. The salad bar had quite a variety of 'fixins' to make a wonderful salad to go with the soup, and the rolls and butter were fantastic! At $7.95, three of us enjoyed the unlimited soup and salad bar, which is available every day except Sunday, between 11am-2pm. The fourth person in our party had the turkey club sandwich. It was huge and she said it was very good as well. Our server was very friendly and attentive, and his personality added to our dining pleasure. If I lived in the area, this would be a regular lunch stop for me. All in all, our pilgrimage was well worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stars4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely, serene retreat and great resturant for Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We discovered the Shrine shortly after transferring here from Wash DC area. They have lovely, serene grounds for contemplation where you can walk or drive about the Stations of the Cross. There is a beautiful Chapel with regular Masses and a visitor center with a wonderful gift shop with a huge selection of Catholic gifts and prayer items. The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and we have been back for Sunday brunch twice in the last month. The Sunday brunch is from 10:00-2:00 and there is a great selection of breakfast and very nice lunch items. The restaurant is also open during the week for lunch (not sure about dinner since we have only had lunch and brunch there). The service is very good and the food has been excellent on our three visits over the past two months. Highly recommend you visit the Shrine, visitor center gift shop and restaurant if you are in the area!.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows also viewed

 

Been to National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing