We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, fresh, fresh!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Gorditos

Dos Gorditos
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Belleville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh, fresh!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Everything I have eaten at Dos Gorditos has been excellent! My favorites are the shrimp and rice with vegetables, and the fajita shrimp quesadilla. My husband likes the fajita burrito. They have awesome guacamole! Everything is made to order. I would highly recommend giving this place a try!
It is pretty loud in there. So go at down times if that is a problem for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BexView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre Mexican food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Ate here the first week it was open a couple years ago. The food is slightly better, however, it is simply mediocre Mexican food. I had a taco salad, pretty bland. My husband had nachos and seemed to like them.
We also had fried ice cream. It was cold, and coated in soggy cornflakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernIll
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Mexican!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love Dos Gorditos! The food is good, priced right and served hot! Margarita's are cold and taste great. Great little place for lunch or dinner. Staff is friendly and service is great. We'll keep going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 60LilRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food BIG portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ate here with the family while in the area visiting, food was good portions where LARGE, the burritos are the biggest I think I have ever seen. Would eat here again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been to Dos Gordito's multiple times and keep going back. The queso (cheese) they use is phenomenal. I often get a bean burrito with the queso on top, rather than the red sauce, Their margaritas are the best I've ever had. I've been to three states and multiple Mexican places, so this is saying a lot. The staff are all friendly, albeit sometimes the waiter's understanding of English is sometimes halting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Gorditos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Gorditos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing