We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view”

Telepherique du Saleve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kortrijk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

With the Geneva transport card you can get easily and for free to the cable car.
Simply take the bus to Veyrier-Douane.
From there, it's about 0,5 kilometer to the cable car entrance.
Prices are reasonable (adult: 10 euro for a return ticket).
The view is amazing: you can see lake Geneva, which seems bigger and bigger from a height.
You can also do a steep walk to have a panoramic view of the Mont Blanc!
Quite hidden in the scenery, there's a Buddhist temple!

Attention: First of all have a look at the opening times of the cable car! It's closed in the winter period.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kortrijk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view on a clear day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We did a day trip to Geneva from Lyon. We did this first before going into the city. The exit off A40 was two beyond the turnoff for Geneva - A41 - not sure of the name of the exit. If you keep following a winding, small road with spotty signage you will come to a parking lot for the telepherique. It was 10.80 euros for each adult. We went up on a clear day so the view was great. There was about a 15 minute wait to go up and a similar wait coming down. It was not too crowded even though it was a nice day and nearing lunch time.

There is a formal restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. There is also a casual take out spot just above with picnic tables. We did not go up to eat just the view. There are some hiking trails up there but we did not do that. Other than that there is not a lot do up there. There also must be a way to drive up as we saw some cars too. It was also much cooler up there so a light jacket or sweater might be useful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picnic on the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a short layover in Geneva and thought would do something in nature, this trip to Mont Saleve is perfect even if you have only the afternoon to spend.

Take bus no. 8 till the end and you will find yourself steps away from the Telepherique du Saleve, in few minutes you are up on the mountain from where you have beautiful view on Geneva and Lac Leman and short walks trough the woods, well signposted so no worries of getting lost.

If the day is clear enough you can see all the way till Mont Blanc.

The place is great for picnic and wondering in nature, there is also small restaurant with view.
Make sure you don’t miss the last bubble going down, also bring passport or some form of identification as you are on the borderline of France and Switzerland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MagyaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing views over Lac Leman and Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First take the no. 8 bus from Gare Cornavin in Geneva city centre to the border crossing with France getting off at the last stop which is called Veyrier Douane (you can also take bus no. 34 and bus 41 but I don't know the details of these services so you would need to check that out). The journey should take about 20 minutes. Once you arrive at the border crossing simply cross into France on foot and look out for the colourful signs directing you towards the Telepherique or cable car. It is about a 5-10 minute walk at the most.

Buy your ticket and board the cable car - a return costs €10.80 per person and a single, if you feel like walking up or cycling down, costs €6.50. The panoramic views from the cable car on the way up and down are wonderful on a clear day.

On arrival at the top, find a comfortable spot and take in the wonderful views looking out over Geneva, Lac Leman and the mountains peaks surrounding you. Take a picnic lunch or if you don't want the hassle of carrying it then grab something quick and easy from the mountain chalet cafe which serves snacks, drinks and ice creams.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did on a bright Sunday afternoon in August.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLad121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing view but nothing else to do at the top.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We thought the view was amazing from the top and are so pleased we did it. The price was 10 euros each but there really is nothing to do apart from jump out of the cable car see the view and go back down. It's a 20 minute bus journey out of Geneva and easy to find on foot as is well signposted from the French border. We'd do it again but make sure we take a picnic to be able to stay longer and enjoy the views!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telepherique du Saleve also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, Haute-Savoie
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Etrembieres, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Telepherique du Saleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing