We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very helpful front desk. Free warm cookies in the evening. $11 breakfast bar available in the morning. Well equipped gym (took advantage). Comfortable rooms, free internet access. Parking was $11/night which seemed a bit like robbery, but guess that's par for Chicago and that Midway park. Only complaint I had was the pillows - for some reason never was able to sleep on those pillows (too hard). Probably should have sought a new one. Other than that, great stay.

p.s. Well, I guess the only OTHER complaint I have is that there are relatively few good restaurants in the area, which is a MAJOR hotel hub area. Come on, folks! Can't you give us something other than TGI Fridays or Dempsey's Irish American Grill??

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaGal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    153
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
142
69
33
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

From July 22nd to July 24th, 2011, my parents and I had stayed at the luxurious Hilton Garden Inn near the Chicago Midway Airport, for our biennial B.M.M. (Brihan Maharashtra Mandal) Convention of North America and Canada. During this Convention, amenities were made to and from the McCormick Convention Center, by a special shuttle bus,

The Hotel rooms were so posh and lush, that there was a large screen television in each of the guests rooms, as well as deep cushion double size mattress beds. Room service was available for guests 24/7 with breakfast, lunch and dinner amenities being made able to be brought up to each individual guest's room!

Also, there was a wide screen t.v. in the parlor room of the main lobby of the hotel. In addition to this, there was a complimentary breakfast bar, with all kinds of breakfast entrees, including cereal, toast, Blueberry, English as well as Cranberry muffins, regular as well as raisin bagels with cream cheese, as well as coffees galore, tea and all kinds of fruit juices (orange, grape fruit, etc.) Not to mention, a full-service Family Restaurant and Bar, which was open 24/7 too!

On the second floor of the hotel, there was a full use gym and Personal Body-training Center, with both a steam room and a sauna (whirlpool) for all patrons to use, with a full crystal blue-water large family-size swimming pool outside on the patio deck of the front main-office! Any time that customers needed anything , just ask the staff at the Main Office and they would serve you with a smile! :))

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the city sky-line is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitKshirsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I've come to this hotel several times over the past few years and they do get the basics right, but this time I was irritated by a couple of things.

On the good side - immaculately clean, safe and the rooms are spacious.

This time though I was irritated by the fridge in my room. At first I noticed that the fridge is not balanced so when I went to put my complimentary bottled water, it was bouncing around. The next morning, when I went to get some icy cold water, I found it was room temperature - the fridge was set to OFF or on the lowest setting.

I found this very frustrating - is there a lack of attention to the maintenance of the fridges? Is it intentional to keep the fridges in the OFF or lowest setting?

Also I was in the restaurant/bar around 8pm and found the area exceptionally warm. The air conditioning was not set cool enough or was off. If you walked to a different part of the reception area, the temperature was cooler. I asked the server about it who basically shrugged her shoulders. I then mentioned this to management who offered to call maintenance, but I didn't get a confident that even management thought it could be solved. By the time I left at 9 there was no improvement.

Is the air conditioning in that area defective? Is it impossible for employees to adjust a setting? Why was it so warm in the restaurant?

After many visits to this hotel over the years, I can still wholeheartedly recommend it. It would just be nice if the details that really make a guest comfortable can be worked out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. All issues mentioned have been addressed and are being rectified. The Air Conditioning issue in the Restaurant is being repaired now by our engineering team, and should be fully functioning within the next couple of hours. Thank you for your patience while we worked through this issue. If you would like to discuss further, please contact me at the hotel directly. Your feedback is invaluable, and we truly appreciate it! Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and for continuing to recommend our property!
Regards,
Margaret Dye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Here I am again, trying to find a good hotel in Chicago that doesn't charge an arm and leg for parking. This one was only an arm --- but they did charge for parking. The hotel itself is a bit hard to find. It sits way back behind a couple Mariotts and a Hampton Inn and a Holiday Inn. So you can say it's a hotel park..
Very clean, nice restaurant on the premise. The waitress was especially nice. The A/C seemed to not be working at the restaurant as it was VERY hot, but at the check in desk it was cool. Nice selection of breakfast foods at the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I went to Midway for a business dinner with a prospect who was flying out the next day. Stayed overnight so I too could catch a flight.

The Hilton Garden Inn is a short shuttle from Midway and an efficient and decent place to over-night. The check-in is friendly and was fast for me, but probably slows done if there are a few customers on the shuttle. The room was clean, a decent size with a large comfy bed and strangely small pillows. Bathroom toiletries by Neutragena - which was nice. I think $200 + + is steep for all that but maybe Chicago is booming. Probably worth about 30% less.

One warning. The American Grill - the hotel's 'restaurant' - is truly awful. It is a canteen/diner used for the hotel's breakfast, with no ambience. I ordered a steak, thinking if it was a Gril at least a steak can't go wrongl . . .but it came overcooked, tough and coated in pepper. My guest's salmon was smothered in sugary sauce.

Midway seems a bit of a desert for good restaurants, so no idea where else one should eat. But the American Grill at the HGI is definitely not the place. I knew I was taking a risk eating at an airport hotel, but even so, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Targetsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was nervous about this location but with a 6am flight we wanted some place VERY close to Midway Airport. I have to tell you that reviewer BlondeAllOver is correct. There is nothing at all wrong with this location. There are several hotels within this large fenced in property but it is very open to the outside with no problems at all. Directly across the street from this side is a cute little well kept subdivision of middle class homes on small lots. We walked with no fear or issues outside and all the way to the corner of the airport, quite a few blocks away, for dinner at Giordano's Pizza. We're glad we did. Of course you aren't going to have the fanciest neighborhoods by the airport. But to be this close to the airport with all these conveniences around...it's a mistake to not stay here.

We loved the shuttle service especially since this location was the first on, first off location. We didn't have to drive around to all the other hotels upon arrival. This is a shared shuttle service for all the hotels in the complex. And on the morning of departure, we are the ones who got the shuttle on the dot at 4:20.

The ladies working the desk were very nice, the cookies at the desk were really yummy, and our room was large and extra clean. I was worried about the room while walking down the hall towards it. I always try to find an area for improvement when staying anywhere and this was it. The hall carpet has become very dingy and it really needs a good cleaning or better yet, a replacement at this point might be in order. I definitely wouldn't avoid staying here because of that since overall we found the hotel to be excellent in service and location. The rest of the hotel had no issues of dirty or dingy appearance.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver colo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very nice hotel with a great staff. Free transport to Midway every 20 min

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gepparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford Park
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
Sleep Inn Midway Airport
#4 of 5 in Bedford Park
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chicago Marriott Midway
Chicago Marriott Midway
#119 of 190 in Chicago
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Address: 6530 S Cicero Ave, Bedford Park, IL 60638-5804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bedford Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bedford Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chicago is warm and inviting, yet elegant and functional, the best among Chicago Midway hotels. Featuring deluxe guest rooms and suites, our hotel offers one or two beds, an oversized work desk with an ergonomic chair, desk level outlet, and two phones each with a data port. Our spacious rooms and suites support all of your business needs with complimentary high-speed Internet access and secure in-room printing to the business center. Each of our Midway Airport accommodations feature a hospitality center that includes a microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Basic at home amenities include 27" flat screen televisions, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and laundry services. All guests can take advantage of our complimentary self-service business center with copier, fax, and computer, indoor heated pool, and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle available 24-hours to Midway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport Hotel Bedford Park
Hilton Garden Inn Bedford Park
Hilton Bedford Park
Bedford Park Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing