We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is our go-to place for California Rolls”
Review of Swordfish

Swordfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Swordfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Batavia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: McKee St
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“this is our go-to place for California Rolls”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place has the most tasty California rolls of anywhere... the crab has some nice little extra seasoning or something and we just love it! Occasionally there is a groupon ($40.00 for the price of $20.00) and we always take advantage of it! We don't find it expensive because we don't order much beyond rolls... =0)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice little place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The food was very good. Especially some of the seasonal sushi rolls on the menu. Aside from the great food it is a very nice place and our waiter was very attentive. Only drawback is that it was a little expensive compared to other similar sushi restaurants we go to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in a Surprising Location”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Swordfish sits in a strip mall location and judging from the outside one would never guess at the romantic and cozy setting on the inside. Once you walk in you are transported to another world that doesn't seem to be in strip mall suburbia. The sushi is outstanding and the prices are fair for the quality of the dishes. We have been there with guests, with young children and on a dates and it is excellent for all these type of nights out. Our children love it, our friends love it and we do too. They have buffet nights on certain dates where you can try lots of different dishes as well. It is a hidden gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank withkids224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone, even if you don't like Sushi”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would eat here every day if I could. It's just that good. The quality of fish used in their sushi is top notch. I think a big misconception of sushi is that everything is raw fish. This is not the case, especially at Swordfish. Many of their specialty sushi rolls have cooked, fried, or smoked fish.
Their specialty rolls are works of art. The sushi chefs take their time and create amazing presentations. They clearly take pride in their art. The old cliche' applies here- "you get what you pay for". If Swordfish is a little more expensive than others, there is a reason. Its far and away superior to anything in the midwest.
And if you just don't like sushi at all, there are plenty of seafood, beef, chicken, or vegetarian choices to appease everyone in your family, group, or business associated.
You won't be disappointed, and can thank me later. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gwiggin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After years of driving by and wondering about the places, my husband and I finally stopped in. The food was excellent, the sauces were unique, the decor was bright and interesting, and the service was good. The only unpleasant thing was a table near us with a couple businessmen, one of whom interrupted his loud sales pitch only to bash on a political a candidate we happened to like. Guess the restaurant can't do much about loud, annoying patrons. Otherwise the place was nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abelard1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swordfish also viewed

 

Been to Swordfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing