We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place for a family breakfast”
Review of Honey Jam Cafe - CLOSED

Honey Jam Cafe
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come on in! We're glad to see you! Honey Jam is a place where you can gather for any reason and know you will be greeted by a smile, ready to serve you a fresh, delightful meal. We hope our unique and warm surroundings make you feel at home, as if you are visiting a favorite neighbor. Whether you would like to visit us for a meal, contact us for catering, use our free private rooms, let us know what we can do for you.
IL
Level Contributor
140 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a family breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place is a nice, clean and delicious spot for breakfast or lunch with the kids and grandkids. The menu is varied, the service is excellent, and you get your own pot of delicious coffee! I wish every breakfast restaurant did that! The portions are generous; we always have leftovers to enjoy at another time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4funIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Banana Pancakes Please”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

holy yum! another shocker from the Portillos family. I couldn't believe the huge menu but am pretty bummed this place isn't open for dinner.

Such a warm and inviting ambiance. The banana pancakes are the best i've ever had.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picprincess23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a quick sit-down bite.”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This Portillo's (Chicago area chain) spinoff has better food that Chili's/Friday's/Applebee's tend to have.

Reuben and turkey club sandwich are quite good.

They make a good attempt with a portabello sandwich, but disappoint by serving it on a "buttery croissant." Still better than you'll likely do for veggie food at other places in the area.

A point of special mention: the fruit served as an alternative to fries is actually very fresh and tasty.

Finally, they close at 2:30pm (at least on Sunday), but they were civilized about letting stragglers take their time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierre66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Since we went for breakfast at 9:00 am on a Saturday, the 10 min. wait was sort of expected. Once we were seated and we ordered our food it came right away. I ordered the turkey sausage, tomato & brocolli omelet and was not disappointed. Like the other Portillo's restaurants the food was first rate. I should mention that we went to the Honey Jams in Lombard.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 58thway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
248 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Terrible service and sub-par food”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This place was terrific when it opened. The menu has a large variety of choices and was very good. But recently I have been there twice and I have vowed to never go again. The wait staff is horrible. Both times I was there it was quite empty yet we couldn't ever seem to find our server. When our food came to the table it was cold. I had a grill cheese that was made with some sort of processed cheese. Very unappetizing. All of our food looked unappealing and just tossed on the plate. This is a Portillo's owned restaurant so I would expect so much more. During the opening months these placed was jammed with patrons but no longer. I wonder what happened.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKjazzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Jam Cafe also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Bolingbrook, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing