We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I can not say enough for this resort! It started with a warm greeting and continued with a free room upgrade and even an early check-in without giving them any notice of that need. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. The views were unbelievable, especially from the restaurant. The only setback was not quite realizing that we would not be able to swim at the resort beach due to it being jellyfish season but seeing how this is a yearly occurrence and pretty standard at the hotels it was not a major concern. Rose in reception was an especially pleasant treat and helped us with anything that we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for five days in March.It was an unforgetable experience. 'Rosemaryo's' review - I couldn't say it better.However the staff at Thala beach challenged me to write a review poem - I had written one in their guest book, so here it is: Thala Beach is the re - sort to be in,
Luxury bungalows on stilts is what you stay in,
The beach,the forest and the creatures,
Great staff, great food are the features
It's the best place in the world to relax in!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I went in trepidation of cane toads and lizards - as per a review. Well we saw 3 tiny toads who were more scared of us than the other way round! If you keep the doors closed no lizards can get in (or anything else) as the windows are all covered with fine mesh. We were upgraded to a Eucalypt Bungalow, and as it was my husband's birthday we were presented with a bottle of bubbly on ice! The bungalows are the same (except for the Suites) but the Jungle Bungalows are farther to walk from Reception. The walking distances can be quite long and in places steep, so bear that in mind if mobility is a problem. The quality of fittings is excellent . Putting on the balcony fan in the evening made it very comfortable and kept any bugs away. The tiny gecko lizards came and kept us company and ate up the odd flies that settled nearby. The beach is idyllic! There were on 8 people the whole length when we were there. The restaurant is on the expensive side but such a superb setting that you have to have at least one meal on site. We stayed 5 nights, but if we had known how wonderful it was going to be would definitely have booked for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The actual location of this hotel is beautiful, you are in the middle of the forest and it is very much at one with nature. The lodges blend in to the scenery very well and it is so peaceful. You are right on the beach and it is very private. The rooms were quite basic, but as this is an eco-lodge you're not really expecting plasma tv's and docking stations!

However, there are a few points that I think are important to mention:

1. The pathways between the lodges and the main hotel are very dimly lit so at night you can't really see where you are walking! This would not be a problem so much but when you can hear 'things' moving under your feet it can be quite unnerving. There are alot of toads hopping about, and one night we had the excitement of seeing a snake! There are also a lot of very thick webs, although we never actually saw any spiders.

2. Port Douglas is the nearest town, and although the hotel run a free bus service to and from there, the buses are not that frequent and do not run late at night. This means if you go out to Port Douglas you have to get a taxi back, and this is quite expensive. We ended up doing this several times as we loved Port Douglas... it is really beautiful and there are some good eating places. We had a meal a few times at 'The courthouse' in PD and it was amazing value for money, and one of the best steaks we have EVER had! They also have bands playing and the atmosphere is just really good, we loved it!

3. We had a meal one night at the hotel and although it was good, it wasn't good enough that we went back and preferred to go in to Port Douglas!

4. The beach is very secluded and pretty, but on our first visit to the beach we got chased furiosly by some huge wasp/bee thing, to the point we had to leave the beach as it would just not leave us alone! We didn't go back to it which is a shame but this really put us off. We ended up at the swimming pool... but this was freezing!

So in summary, a nice hotel, but just not for us! If we ever return to this beautiful part of Australia then we would stay in Port Douglas and not Thala... although it was an experience and we're glad we done it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandymoo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Thala was the most beutifull location for our small wedding, we had a small beach wedding and stayed at thala for 6 nights. Thala was amazing and made every moment of our wedding perfect. The location is great secluded enough but still close to town if you want to go out for dinner, although the food is so great at the hotel we rarley left!!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ErinL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

You can get married on the beach here and the venue for the reception is an amazing wooden structure in the rainforest canopy, with stunning views.

All the accommodation is in private huts. The honeymoon suite isn't cheap, but it is incredible. It is spacious and has an incredible terrace overlooking two private beaches.

The service is pretty good. We had lots of fun wine-tasting with a sommelier who knew what he was talking about without being patronising. We felt like there are lots of weddings here, so the staff don't make it feel like your wedding is unique. But they are helpful and they gave us a perfect wedding to remember, so we can't complain!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have recently been visiting my son in Australia, during which time, we spent a long weekend at Thala Beach Lodge. On arrival we were greeted by friendly, helpful and courteous staff, who unloaded our luggage from our hire car and helped us to check-in. The car was valet parked for us and we were driven to our bungalow in a golf buggy and advised that any time we wanted the buggy to pick us up to just phone reception. This was a facility we did not require, but it was nice to know it was available as the terrain is very hilly and steep. Our bungalow was very comfortable with balcony view of the sea. The pool is very imaginative and a great place to cool off and relax after a day's sightseeing/excursion. The accommodation is very well laid out and each bungalow offers privacy. The views from the restaurant and bar are stunning, overlooking beautiful beaches and bays - an ideal place to sit and watch the sun go down behind the horizon. We booked two trips over the weekend through the reception staff who were very knowledgeable and helpful. One to the Low Islands where we enjoyed a day snorkeling and relaxing on a beautiful catamaran and another to the Daintree Rainforest, which was an incredible experience. I do not hesitate to recommend these trips to anyone. I cannot fault the meals at the Lodge and the service was excellent. Given the opportunity, I would stay at Thala Lodge again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
735 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,700 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range: $183 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing