We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We liked this place and there are many positives. What a great location and unique to feel like you are living in the rainforest. It does feel like a special place. Service was good and staff were friendly and helpful. There are some negatives in our view. The actual room, whilst nice, did feel in need of refurbishment especially at this price point. Also we didn't like the fact the room was only cleaned once every two days. Finally the buffet breakfast is not the quality I would expect (its OK like a mid range hotel but not special). Overall we would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul-ps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
There are newer reviews for Thala Beach Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place enough. Unspoilt private beaches, awesome resort rock pools,great food and the best views around!!!
Thanks to all the staff for being so friendly and making my proposal one to remember forever.
Regards,
Etienne

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EtienneGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked my last few nights in Australia after travelling from the west over a month and I can only describe it as paradise!
I was travelling on my own, which meant I stuck out amongst the newlyweds, but the hotel is an amazing escape from the world, where you can simply relax and enjoy the fantastic service by the team.
The cabin I was in overlooked the beach, was a great size and right next to the reception too, so perfect for the bar! I couldn't fault the food either as, although it's not cheap, it was worth every penny in flavour and presentation!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view for the perfect sunrise to wake you up!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. The views around the place are amazing. Very friendly and knowledgable staff who were always willing to help or even just stop to chat on the way past. All our tours were booked by the hotel on our behalf with advice given to us on how best to organise our activities so we got the most out of trip. Would love to return again one day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Highland81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a fabulous time when we stayed in Thala Beach recently. We knew it was stinger season so wouldn't be able to swim, so although that is a shame because the beach is beautiful, we were prepared. The cabins were lovely, food was absolutely excellent, and the lectures and guided walks superb. Great place to stay if you are interested in nature. Only downside was not having cups and glasses changed on the days we had agreed would not be serviced. Something a bit squalid about rinsing your cafetiere in the sink. Our fault, we should have opted to have the room serviced every day

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent my 50th birthday and the night before with my husband at Thala Beach Lodge and it was a beautiful, peaceful getaway in the middle of an otherwise busy and adventure filled vacation. Besides the incredible location, the staff and service was top notch. Loved the hammocks on the beach and the pool was incredibly beautiful and peaceful. Certainly a special place for a special occasion. Thanks for the great service. Hope to come again someday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 282Juli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Unfortunately to be in a place like this, but not having the chance of using the beach, because of the jellyfish season, it is very compromising and a deception. The resort is very nice, but needs much more service. Rooms being made, just every second day, is not something you would expect.
Also being nature friendly, does not mean that you have a lousy decor. So A fantastic location, but overpriced for what you get. A thumbs up for the staff..

Room Tip: Guess rooms are most alike..
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala_management, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We thank these guests for their compliments with regards to our staff and location, we are very proud of our operation.

Far North Queensland’s waters are affected by marine stingers between the (approximate) months of November to May annually. The affected area spans over 2000kms. We are disappointed that this guest’s research left them unaware of this commonly known fact and they were in turn disappointed on arrival.

The majority of our reviewers concur that our chosen decor is most pleasant and suited to the environs – however we appreciate individual opinions. Daily servicing is available on request – we are unaware why these guests didn’t take advantage if they preferred this option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range: $185 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing