We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax and visit this part of Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We spent 5 nights at this wonderful resort. The accommodations are all individual, private cottages with a wonderful view of the ocean. The main lobby and restaurant are open to local foliage, no windows or doors. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After meeting us once, they knew us by name. We enjoyed dinners at the restaurant each night. The presentation and the flavor of the meals were excellent. The service was impeccable. This is definitely a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,449)
There are newer reviews for Thala Beach Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

On returning from a days Golf with friends at Sea Temple Port Douglas we decided to call into Thala Beach Lodge for a first experience since we live locally at Cairns Northern Beaches.
After having a look at the Lunch Menu and deciding the meals were very well priced we decided to stay for Lunch. We were very pleased with the service and the meals were very impressive. So much so that we returned two weeks later to celebrate a birthday. Once again the hospitality was not to be faulted and the meals, amazing. We will be back with friends and family in the future. A hidden gem to be recommended for others to enjoy.
Well Done Thala Lodge

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdealCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Thala Beach Lodge this last weekend and we wanted to comment on our experience. We travel often, for both business and pleasure and have been fortunate to have had a wide variety of experiences, at both ends of the spectrum, from hostels to five star rated, all inclusive resorts. We both work in tourism and hospitality, and that always influences our experiences as well.

We were welcomed warmly, the reception staff were warm and friendly. The location is scenic and the rooms well laid out, whilst close enough to walk around the resort, the rooms still had an implied seclusion, giving you the feeling that you were away from the rest of the world.


We were a little surprised that there was an open bottle of white wine left in the fridge, I can only assume that housekeeping did not check the mini bar thoroughly. We called through to reception and they advised for us to leave this outside the front door so that it could be picked up and disposed of immediately. It was still outside the door when we checked out 2 days later.


The rooms are pleasant and cosy, which was fine, as it was a wet weekend, so that meant lots of time in the room, which was what we had planned to do. The weekend was a much need break from a very hectic and busy start to the year. All we planned on doing was drinking some nice wine and eating a great meal.


Our biggest disappointment was the Restaurant. The service at first seemed okay, we booked for 8 and were seated, then waited for 15 minutes before being seen by wait staff. We placed our drink order and starter order and waited another 10 minutes before our wine was brought over. Whilst it may be argued that the restaurant was slightly busy, the staff didn't seem to have much focus or attention .

Our starters were Scallop Cerviche and Soft Shelled Crab. The scallop dish was fair, one scallop tasted of grit, and the cold noodles didn't really add anything to the dish, just gave it a different, not that pleasant, texture. The crab was very overcooked and burnt, the dipping sauce was very acidic and too sharp and the rice was very overcooked with a mushy texture, it blandly just tasted of soy, but mainly tasted of old rice. It was very unpleasant and not eaten. Neither dish was seasoned at all. I did let the server know and she said that she would talk to the chef. Nothing came of this, I was just left hungry and unsatisfied.


We both ordered the steak, rare, for our main course. The timing was okay between dishes, not too close but we weren't left waiting to long. On first bite of the steak we could not eat anymore. Mine was cold, not warm at all, and very over seasoned- All you could taste was salt. It was a messy plate with a huge mound of salty and oily walnut salad, with the greasy pancetta lost amongst all these big flavours. We both like and enjoy gorgonzola but the amount in the salad was over whelming.


We again told the server of the issues and she again said she would let chef know and left. We were left with inedible plates and this was not good enough. My husband called over a different server who suggested that we order something else and they would replace our meals with the new order. We did that, but were now left waiting a long time. We had finished the wine which we had ordered to go with our meal- So that was a big let down as well.

We were then disappointed when the new meals came out and the "Crispy skin" pork belly, was soft, flabby and burnt underneath. The snow pea stir-fry was very greasy. My husbands lamb, unseasoned and unappealing. I again told the server (this time the German Lady) that the pork was described as having "crispy skin" on the menu. She told me "I was wrong" and "that is how it is served". I had not eaten anything on the plate- except a snow pea (oily) and I said to her that I was sorry but this again isn't good enough. I asked that they take it back as I found it inedible. She did. The male server said that we would not be charged for this as it wasn't eaten. It seemed that at least one member of the restaurant staff was capable. However, I was still left very hungry and very unsatisfied. The whole restaurant experience soured our weekend.


When we checked out it seems that this was not addressed and we were charged. The front desk staff seemed busy, and we were in a hurry, so decided that we would address this when we contacted the manager about the poor experience in the Restaurant.

I emailed the next day and was told that the concerns would be addressed. Whilst they kindly offered to refund the meal that we had already been told would'nt be charged they also refunded the crab starter as well. However, the whole manner of the email suggested that their staff did no wrong and that we were just whinging. The email left me feeling even more dissapointed. The tome suggested that I didn't know what I was talking about and tried to justify clear problems by suggesting that many of the issues no one else had any issues with. Well maybe noone else dining has had the same hospitality back ground and didn't know any better.

I still stand by that the chef is amaturish and clumsy, and the food poorly executed. Overall, the resort isn't at the standard that it believes that it is.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michnruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

We are pleased this guest enjoyed our surrounds, seclusion and bungalow accommodation.

With regards to the restaurant experience, we feel that much of this complaint comes down to personal taste & preference, as on the very same evening – we had in excess of 50 other extremely happy diners, from a variety of backgrounds, professions & nationalities!

We are confident in the manner in which we responded and know that the complaint was handled in a most courteous & professional manner.

The scathing personal attack on our Chef as ‘amateurish & clumsy’ is deplorable.

We appreciated the apology this guest’s husband made for her behaviour on the way out of the restaurant on the night in question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Our very comfortable room had a lovely view of the water over the trees from the balcony. The beach was wild and unspoiled -- beautiful with the jungle headlands reaching down the water -- and had a discreet shack serving drinks in the afternoon and just enough lounge chairs and hammocks. October is not stinger season so swimming was terrific. The open reception area and dining rooms are some of the nicest I have seen... you feel like you are up in the treetops and the ocean is all around. The pools are natural looking and shaded... loved having the small one hear our room. We did a picnic basket dinner in the room one night which was great -- when they remembered, after many phone calls, to bring it. Then they were incapable of saying 'sorry we made a mistake' but that and the bread in the dining room being horrible were our only issues. I would love to go again and stay longer. Much more appealing than being right in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

From the moment we arrived till the day we left, we enjoyed a piece of paradise. Thala Beach Resort brings you close to nature while experiencing luxury accommodation and excellent service. Be sure to take walking shoes as there are beautiful trails and even just a walk down to the beach is lovely. The way in which the rooms are situated offers you complete privacy and the staff must be complimented on their professionalism and friendliness. Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisevanniekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

About 6 months ago I reserved a week at this hotel, based on superlative reviews here and elsewhere. as my trip is coming up, i was organizing my papers, and realized i had never received confirmation of my reservaton. i called the hotel and was told that they had other dates for me. they said the hotel was booked completely for the first 2 nights i had reserved, and that i could stay somewhere else for these nights. i asked them if they could please try to accommodate me. i subsequently received an email saying that they wouldn't know immediately whether they could.
i subsequently decided to cancel the reservation and stay elsewhere, as time was of the essence. i informed them of this. i emailed and then called 3 times to ascertain that the reservation had been cancelled. i had paid over $900 deposit. on my final call, i became a bit annoyed that they couldn't find my reservation. i then received a very rude comment from the agent after she told me that the refund had been processed.

i was disappointed that, in additon to having the wrong dates for my stay, i was subjected to this unfriendly and inhospitable treatment. it soured me on the prospect of ever staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank wrldtrvlr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thala1, Manager at Thala Beach Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2011

We are most disappointed to read this review. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service & all our Trip Advisor reviews continue to reflect this.

The guest informed Management of intent to cancel at 2.31pm local time on the Friday afternoon - the refund was processed by our Accounts Dept at 8.22am the following Monday morning (next business day). We apologise if this timeframe did not meet the client’s expectations. The reason the booking agent couldn't find this reservation when the client called, is because it had already been cancelled out of our system following the refund being processed.

The conversation between this guest & our reservations agent was overheard by several management staff, and at no time was she rude or inappropriately behaved. Their conversation concluded with our res agent advising the guest that due to exchange rate fluctuations between the booking & cancellation periods, he had 'made' in excess of $100 on the transaction. This information was not passed on to be rude or 'smart' - however apologies if this was construed as so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at Thala for three nights in a Eucalypt room. It is an extremely relaxing peaceful place, offering quite a different holiday to other resorts in the area. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, particularly in relation to recognising my wife's birthday.

We mainly spent our time reading, swimming in the two pools and relaxing in the lounge area of the lodge.

The rooms are remote from the main building so it is a bit off an uphill walk to go to the restaurant and main pool but you can get picked up and driven in a cart if you prefer. Did not really like some of the paths being gravel instead ashphalt but it was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelllersfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Beach
6.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
973 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
839 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
624 reviews
7.7 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thala Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thala Beach Nature Reserve

Address: Private Road | 5078 Captain Cook Highway, Oak Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Thala Beach Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas > Oak Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oak Beach
Price Range: $187 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thala Beach Nature Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a family owned 58 hectare nature and wildlife reserve 15 minutes south of Port Douglas. Get there from Cairns via a spectacular 45 minute drive along Captain Cook Highway. Elevated on stilts, 83 eco designed timber bungalows are discretely concealed within the forest canopy, blending in with the natural environment and feature ocean, mountain or forest views. Panoramic views are enjoyed from open-sided Osprey's Restaurant across the forest canopy and beyond to the Coral Sea. Guests and visitors dine amongst birds in the surrounding treetops, whilst enjoying modern Australian cuisine with friendly and attentive service. Granite boulders, waterfalls and overhanging trees create natural swimming pools blending discretely within the environment. Paths wind through rainforests and woodlands, connecting with secluded coves and beaches, passing through habitats for endemic birds, wildlife and flora. Guests enjoy complimentary guided nature tours by onsite rangers including tree planting, stargazing at an outdoor observatory, beach discovery, wildlife walks and bird-watching tours. A completely organic 650 tree coconut plantation is home to a unique coconut odyssey tour highlighting the extraordinary qualities of the 'tree of life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thala Beach Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thala Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Thala Beach Resort
Thala Beach Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing