We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience”
Review of Swell Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swell Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would definitely recommend a stay at swell eco lodge. The setting is really amazing; the people are down to earth and so friendly! If you would like to experience the wild coast in its purest form, then this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

So after one hec of a ride (as most rides in the Transkei, due to the roads) we came to our destination Swell eco lodge, where we where warmly welcomed by lee anne and Justin, showed our very clean and comfy room with attached kitchen all tastefully decorated, with a eco friendly consciousness, we had booked a horse ride and where taken out by one of the local villagers onto the beach then back through to warm and cultural community, when we had come back Nyomi had backed us a delicious bread and kept our room and kitchen clean through out the stay, wood was also quickly gathered for us to enjoy a braai, I can recommend this place to anyone that wants to get away fro it all, take loads of food and your drinks with or anything youll need coz not too easy to get to shops ect... best to go in a nice group of friends :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We loved our stay at Swell Eco Lodge. Its awesome to be out in the 'middle of nowhere' and to enjoy the beauty of the wild coast. We had a tough time getting there with our 'city' vehicle and would only recommend off-road vehicles. We hope to be back one day for a much longer stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armada, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Swell Eco Lodge can not be described by words alone. The surrounding sights, sounds and smells are so primal and real. Immediately you completely immerse yourself in the raw beauty of nature. At times I felt being somewhere between the cross roads of the Lord of the Rings and Jurassic Park. Never have I had the trappings of modern society removed all together in my mind. In this great 4 day stay, never for a moment did I want to go back to modern society. What I just described was just outside the perimeter of the lodge itself. Within the lodge itself the right balance of modern convenience and respecting the local architecture is maintained. The staff was unbelievably courtesy and professional. And I can't complimnet Lee and Justin enough for their warm and gracious hospitality. It's so awesome of a venue, a single word hasn't been invented yet to describe or capture the experience of it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelo_armada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place is amazing and you get a true African experience. I love being amongst the locals and there is a great beach that is just a 10min walk away where the cows like to lay around in the sand. This place is definitely off the beaten path and if you have a 2 wheel drive car just be prepared to navigate the road during the day. It is really rough and not recommended at night. But once you get there it is definitely worth the drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We traveled from England and met up with our South African family for a trip to Swell Eco Lodge.
We hired a 4x4 as we expected the roads to be rough and would advise anyone to do the same as it made it fun and dealt with the bad ruts in the road. Make sure you get good directions and travel in daytime or ask the owners to collect you at a local airport.
The lodge is just fantastic with very comfortable rooms and all the amenities. The owners and the local Xhosa employees cannot do enough for you and if you ask, they will travel as a guide, carry things to the beach or even do a barbecue on the beach.
This is Africa untouched and if you are looking for nightlife and TV etc. try Cape Town. If you are looking for heaven, stay here.
We walked the coast, fished, swam, lazed on the beautiful beach and travelled to nearby hole in the wall which should be listed as one of the most amazing places in the world.
We took some hand me downs and a few old clothes for the local children and sponsored the local football team and were treated as VIP 's to their fantastic game attend by all the locals on a pitch near the beach.
If you like seafood, ask the locals, or take your own food as all the facilities are there to cook or barbecue.
There are very few places left in the world as beautiful as this coast and cannot think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at three places on the Eastern Cape Wild Coast in December 2013/January 2014. Swell Eco Lodge was our clear favourite of the three. The fantastic setting - including the placement of the bedrooms which allows you to watch the sun rise over the ocean, as well as the quiet but vibrant and refreshingly friendly community surrounding the Lodge - coupled with the very-well equipped kitchen / lounge area that we shared with one other family made our early mornings and evenings at the lodge itself only a pleasure. We used as many daylight hours as we could exploring the coastline and river mouth. The other two lodges we visited - also secluded and highly recommended - didn't come close to the stunning stretch of coast ranging northward from Swell Eco Lodge. In one word: remarkable! This review would be incomplete if we did not also mention the very professional and welcoming interaction we enjoyed with Justin and Lee-Ann. There was not one false note in our three days at Swell Eco Lodge.

Chris & Jackie

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mdumbi
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mdumbi Backpackers
Mdumbi Backpackers
#2 of 3 in Mdumbi
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swell Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swell Eco Lodge

Property: Swell Eco Lodge
Address: Mngcibe, Mdumbi, South Africa (Formerly Swell Tours Guest Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Mdumbi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mdumbi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swell Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO SWELL ECO LODGE! Swell Eco Lodge offers self-catering accommodation, ideal for couples, groups and families. Set within the rolling hills of Mngcibe (North side of the Mdumbi River), we invite you to enjoy pure relaxation and fun while supporting a green way of life. Spectacular sea views, jumping whales, roaming cattle and a view of rural life in this wonderful village is only a part of your holiday experience! We offer many activities for those who want to be a bit more active and explore the pristine beaches, rivers and ocean. Our lodge is made up of traditional Rondavel structures which blend into its beautiful surroundings and our interiors are modern, calming and artistic. Join us now for a South African holiday with a personal touch you will never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Swell Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing