We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croissants to die for!”

Ambrosia Euro American Ptssre
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Barrington
Restaurant details
Moline, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Croissants to die for!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick breakfast before catching the train for Chicago. He had an almond filled pastry and I had a ham & cheese croissant. They were flaky and delicious, some of the best I've ever had. The prices were high but the quality is worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferriswheel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have been patrons at Ambrosia for almost 2 decades. The bakery items, specialty cakes, homemade sorbets, and small desserts are the best in the area. This is a gourmet, high end French bakery that specializes in fabulous cakes and changes seasonally to reflect the freshest ingredients available. There are a few tables inside and also outside to enjoy coffee and a treats with friends. Love the live entertainment sat mornings. The service and staff have always been first class and professional. Custom gingerbread houses can be ordered a year in advance, as demand is high. An awesome treat for the holidays. This is not a chain doughnut shop, but it well worth the trip. Try the savory croissants, they are our favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank campceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miserable Attitude”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you interested in meeting one of the owners, don't do it. Mother's Day, my daughter and I found the atmosphere angry and depressed. The shop is very small, minimal seating and a very small selection of pastries and ridiculously over priced. One 6 inch cheese cake and 8 one inch tarts cost $66.00. Their selection of cakes is either flour less cakes or cheese cake's all pretty and look the same. They also sell a minimal selection of very tiny little tarts. Other than those two items they only sell a few prepackaged granola products and bags of coffee. They don't make any speciality items at all. Don't bother asking the owner's who seem in bad moods and unwilling to accommodate their customer's. My daughter and I were very disappointed and won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christine1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We have been buying better pastries here since they opened”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although it is a great place to meet a friend for coffee and a sweet treat, they make spectacular special occasion desserts. Hoping I will be in town for CHristmas one year so I can order their amazing Gingerbread Houses.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newtmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not a Restaurant, but a Great French Bakery with a few tables; Very Expensive”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This really is just an excellent French Bakery with bakery goods as good as or better than the best ones we have enjoyed in Paris. Service is pretty much like at any bakery (no table service), but they do also offer excellent coffee. However everything costs about 50-100% more than similar items in Paris! Rating is as a bakery; it really is rather poor as restaurant.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia Euro American Ptssre also viewed

 

Been to Ambrosia Euro American Ptssre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing