We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & beautiful atmosphere!”

Chessie's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chessie's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 76 Restaurants in Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chessie's Restaurant offers an outstanding menu and service. Since we opened in 1978, we have provided excellent service to our customers. We are located in the Ice House Mall in downtown, Barrington, Illinois. Chessie's Restaurant has several dining rooms; an original Illinois Railway train dining car, our pub/bar, atrium dining and our private banquet room. Plan your next special event with us!
2 reviews
“Great service & beautiful atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

WOW! I've experienced the BEST of everything at Chessie's Barrington!
From the moment we were greeted as we walked in until we were leaving, the service was A+!
The menu had a great selection and the food was delicious!
Even enough for leftovers!

Good job! Yes we recommend Chessie's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Risabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“$5 Burger Tuesday!!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best burger and amazing price.

Luv the train theme, friendly wait staff (kinda slow) .

Overall great menu options and excellent tasting food

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milo1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. Bad food. Worse service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was at a private reception at Chessies recently. Place looks great. Neighborhood is affluent.

The food was lousy. It was a buffet with 5 items. For the first hour, they only put out 3. By the time the last 2 items came out, everyone was finished eating. But thankfully the food was horrible so we only had to suffer through 3 bad choices. Service was very light. One person doing everything, from serving to bartender to bussing. Tables stayed a mess throughout the entire event. They could have sent a bus boy through our party once every 15 minutes and the room would have stayed clean.

But, the space we had was private and looked good. Good place to have a party where kids are part of the group. Want to have a party there? Be specific about service...every detail. And have a tasting beforehand.

I did not pay the bill. I cannot comment on value

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great American menu, good daily specials, excellent value”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of our favorite spots --- love the bar and the train car! Service is friendly and efficiently. Decor during the Holidays is amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan4mat1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The old Chessie's was better”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The place feels a little dated and the food and service is just average. The menu has changed from the original Chessie's and not for the better I'm afraid. My recent experience was ok, but I'm in no hurry to go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bsch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chessie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chessie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing