We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun place”

Nippers Beach Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great fun place”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went this past Sunday for my third or fourth visit. They have a pig roast on Sundays but we elected to skip that and fave fried shrimp instead. Great beach, great view, good food, good drinks, good music, 2 swimming pools. Just a fun place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    37
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crazy memories”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had rented a house on Great Guana Quay and Nippers was the local entertainment and the only place to eat. The drinks were huge and the place gets louder and a little wild as the evening wears on. Great location overlooking the beach, with the open decks and the pool. The food was middle of the road, in general, but the burgers were great and we were told that the pig barbecue was something not to be missed. I guess boaters would come in from all over for this weekly pig fest. Lively, unique and an opportunity to explore some of your wild side or just relax and enjoy the view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
218 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good Eating in Great Guana Cay.. . .”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I returned recently from a week in Great Guana Cay and ate at Nipper's at least 3 times while there. Nippers, and pretty much everywhere on the island, is definitely casual beachfront dining, but the food was quite good, the beer cold, the Goombay Smashes yummy, and the service friendly and efficient. We enjoyed dining outdoors (although there is an air-conditioned indoor dining area with large windows facing the sea), and the view could definitely not be beat as Nippers sits on the most spectacular beach. We are big seafood fans, and ate mostly fish based meals, but the hamburgers at Nippers are very good as well. We did go to the Sunday Pig Roast as well while there, and enjoyed the buffet style meal, which is an "all you can eat" from noon till 5:00 as long as you hang onto your plate for re-use. At every visit, there was great music playing, and it was never overly crowded - in fact pig roast day was the only time we saw a real crowd, but we were there in August - not the busiest time of the year! There is beach access from Nippers and we were appreciative of the fact that no one seemed to mind us walking through the bar to get to the stairs leading to the beach when we wanted to snorkel. We would definitely recommend Nippers as a worthy bar/restaurant while in Great Guana Cay!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average food, but a must see in Abaco”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nippers is a must see and a staple of original restaurant/bars in the islands. The views from the bar are incredible. The beach and pool area are great. The food is very, very average and the prices are above standard. Mostly fried food served on disposable plates with plastic utensils. No matter what time of year you go, the flies are a big problem. You eat with one hand and wave the mass population of flies off with another. I'd recommend going for drinks and eating somewhere else. If Nippers could improve the menu and fix the fly problem it would be an above average place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Nippers on our first night in Great Guana. It is quickly heading into low season, so the place was fairly empty.
The food was excellent, the catch of the day was delicious, even the burgers were perfectly done.
The service was OK. The place was rustic. Average $26 per person plus tip.
I will go back before the end of my trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippers Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Great Guana Cay, Abaco Islands
Great Guana Cay, Abaco Islands
 
Treasure Cay, Great Abaco Island
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 

Been to Nippers Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing