We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eating in Great Guana Cay.. . .”

Nippers Beach Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Stittsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
218 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good Eating in Great Guana Cay.. . .”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I returned recently from a week in Great Guana Cay and ate at Nipper's at least 3 times while there. Nippers, and pretty much everywhere on the island, is definitely casual beachfront dining, but the food was quite good, the beer cold, the Goombay Smashes yummy, and the service friendly and efficient. We enjoyed dining outdoors (although there is an air-conditioned indoor dining area with large windows facing the sea), and the view could definitely not be beat as Nippers sits on the most spectacular beach. We are big seafood fans, and ate mostly fish based meals, but the hamburgers at Nippers are very good as well. We did go to the Sunday Pig Roast as well while there, and enjoyed the buffet style meal, which is an "all you can eat" from noon till 5:00 as long as you hang onto your plate for re-use. At every visit, there was great music playing, and it was never overly crowded - in fact pig roast day was the only time we saw a real crowd, but we were there in August - not the busiest time of the year! There is beach access from Nippers and we were appreciative of the fact that no one seemed to mind us walking through the bar to get to the stairs leading to the beach when we wanted to snorkel. We would definitely recommend Nippers as a worthy bar/restaurant while in Great Guana Cay!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    38
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average food, but a must see in Abaco”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nippers is a must see and a staple of original restaurant/bars in the islands. The views from the bar are incredible. The beach and pool area are great. The food is very, very average and the prices are above standard. Mostly fried food served on disposable plates with plastic utensils. No matter what time of year you go, the flies are a big problem. You eat with one hand and wave the mass population of flies off with another. I'd recommend going for drinks and eating somewhere else. If Nippers could improve the menu and fix the fly problem it would be an above average place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Nippers on our first night in Great Guana. It is quickly heading into low season, so the place was fairly empty.
The food was excellent, the catch of the day was delicious, even the burgers were perfectly done.
The service was OK. The place was rustic. Average $26 per person plus tip.
I will go back before the end of my trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was excited to go to "nippers" due to other reviews on the internet. Apparently, the place is amazing when "barefoot man" is playing. We had awful service, the waitresses were rude and came back multiple times to ask what we had ordered. The gift shop has odd hours and closes late, we went to Nippers to have a drink and asked for the gift shop to be opened as we wanted to buy tshirts and other merchandise - was rudely told "no" by the bartender, despite it not being that late.

The food was medicore - not anything that I would rave about to others. Our food was clearly reheated after a misunderstanding where the waitress refused to give us our food despite us telling her multiple times that it was our food (continued to try to give the food to the table behind us - who already had their food and had completely different food on their order than ours).

My sister and I went to swim in the pool and it was extremely gross and could use a good cleaning out. Dead bugs floating everywhere!

The best (and only good part about this bar) was that the beautiful beach is right below and it has a fantastic view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“June 2013”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well First trip of the week ( Monday) we were the only customers. Service was poor and the food was average. The bugs had the best meal of the night (us). Went back on Thursday so the kids could get some tee shirts. once again we were the only one there. Was told it was too late to buy tee shirts. went in Friday for lunch. maybe 4 or 5 tables of people eating. Don't think our waitress spoke English, had a heck of a time ordering food. After about 45 minute out waitress came out with our food and wondered around with it. we told her several times (as she keep passing by with it) at it was ours. But she ended up taking the order back to the kitchen. Several minutes later and three waitress later they figured out it was ours ( attempted to reheat it) and served it to us. I wanted to walk out, wife didnt. Sundays hog roast is ok. Not worth the price

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nippers Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Great Guana Cay, Abaco Islands
Great Guana Cay, Abaco Islands
 

Been to Nippers Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing