We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Guana Cay

Great Guana Cay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the more undeveloped islands in the Bahamas, known for its Loyalist history and the friendliness of its inhabitants.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to Guana Cay for a vacation in June of 2013. Very "low key" vacation spot as there wasn't much to do. We planned on bringing our boat and scuba diving/island hopping. Due to our transmission going out in the truck before getting to Florida - we weren't able to do so. Spent most of the time on the beautiful beach on the ocean side.

As I said, it was very "low key" and we spent most of the time on the beach. We rented a golf cart for one day and spent a portion of the day touring the island. The golf cart was great - but not needed as everything in our general area of our house was in walking distance.

The "touristy" merchandise was very limited and I didn't get any merchandise other than from the bar at nippers (which wasn't a great experience).

The locals are extremely friendly and were always willing to engage in conversations regarding their daily life, etc.

Would love to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“just a day trip to Guana Cay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

unless you rent a hiuse, just make the trip to Guana Cay a day trip. there are 3 bars on the cay- near the settlement. Orchid bay , Nippers and Grabbers.Nippers has a great view and a beautiful beach below. Grabbers is good for sunset and Orchid Bay has indoor dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthlakeDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful water, friendly island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Simple, low-key vacation in paradise.

We rented a house on the ocean side in April. The colors of the ocean - turquoise through lapis - were unbelievable. There was a constant breeze and no mosquitoes. Water was clear, warm. Some days there was some surf - calmer down the beach towards Nippers. Nippers was not our thing, big drinking scene, but the plus is the beach as a result is almost empty.

Dive Guana was great - well worth one or two days of snorkeling or diving. They also rent bikes and golf carts (the local transportation) Reef was shallow, good for snorkeling. A lot of beautiful fish, though also some algae. The trip that also goes to Man O' War and Hope Town is a good deal for a day trip, easier than taking ferry. Though we loved the ferry!

Be sure to eat at Island Flavors - a small food stand on the dock in the harbor - fish and conch salad there were excellent. Its a very friendly island, people we met were so nice. We found the market to have all we needed for cooking - a great mix of the utilitarian and the more esoteric (goat cheese, almond milk for example). They had good meat and chicken.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lisavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The quaint little island is one of the friendliest places on earth. The locals make you feel at home. The food on Guana Cay is awesome everyone takes great pride in there craft. Jerry at Pirates Cove personally cooks the best steak I have ever had. Nippers has the best seafood and party in the caribbean. Don't go to this island it will ruin you for all other places.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Guana Cay is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

There is not much on the island. There are small shops and 2 restaurants. Good 1/2 day trip. The marina restaurant is apparently closed until further notice. Check out Dive Guana for diving in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Orianarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Guana Cay also viewed

Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
 
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
 

Been to Great Guana Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing