We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriearl Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Harbour Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just got back from a multi-island tour of the Bahamas by private plane. We spent one night at this wonderful hotel. The owners (Marty & Angie) were superb. Great rooms, great cocktails at the pool overlooking the ocean and Marty is one hell of a chef! One of our party had a birthday and Angie baked chocolate chip cupcakes that were out of this world! The beach was devine and saw no other folks on the several mile long beach all day. You have to go to shell beach a couple of miles away. The hotel has a nice golf cart you can use for free or you can walk it if you like a leasurely stroll. The beach is to die for! At low tide you can walk out on a sand back at least 1/4 mile out and collect shells, see starfish, live conch and a host of other animal life. We've been to many islands in the Bahamas but if you are looking for that special get away place this is it. We may go back in June and have contacted the seaplane company in Ft Lauderdale listed in a previous posting. Even though many of us are pilots none of us have experienced the adventure of seaplane travel.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms and all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhills57702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed staying with us and the cup cakes!!! I am glad we were able to have a Birthday celebration, we always enjoy a party here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
52
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Carriearl, Great Harbor Cay, Bahamas, in the first week of March. We have been to many islands, but this was the best. Marty and Angie are amazing and the food is spectacular, They attend to every need and are so helpful. Everyone on the island is so friendly. The beach looks like Tahiti, really! baby blue to teal water, small islands offshore. The sand is like fine powder and easy to walk on. There are shells and sand dollars everywhere. We had the beach to ourselves.The Carriearl is amazing. The rooms are spectacular! We had a private lanai in the Rooster room, with floor to ceiling doors that opened for the breeze. There were hibiscus with hummingbirds right on the lanai. The beach is the best anywhere right out the door and a minute over the dune. The water is full of fish like a marine preserve. They had every comfort on this nearly private island and gourment food of incredible variety right at the hotel and a full service bar. Very easy to get to from Florida or Nassau. The flight was amazing you could see the reefs in the water approaching the lsland. We are hoping to go back in May! We miss you Angie, Marty, Chester and Rasta! Next time we are brining half our neighborhood!

Pam and Horst
Casselberry Florida

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamt210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would like to thank the owners of Carriearl Boutique Hotel for all they did for us while enjoying the accomodations and the wonderful food cooked by Chef Martin, we had a great time there and Great Harbour Cay is Wonderful. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: They are all beautifully decorated and comfortable matresses and pillows, the linen smells fresh and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjaime4953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring House, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marty and Angie have created a little piece of heaven in their boutique hotel on Great Harbor Cay. I arrived as a solo traveler feeling like welcomed and at ease. Marty's cooking is fantastic and they are always ready to pour you another drink. The decor in the rooms is beautiful and they are kept very clean. In the mornings after breakfast, I went for a run or walk on a nearly deserted beach that was picture perfect. All of the people on Great Harbor Cay make you feel at home. I met wonderful people and I am very thankful to Marty and Angie for a fantastic trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It was lovely to have your company at Carriearl and we were pleased that you fitted in so well with all our friends who took you under their wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Home away from home! Marty and Angie have created the perfect boutique hotel on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Bahamas. Tropic Ocean Airways flew us in from Miami on one of their seaplanes and delivered us onto the pristine, powder sugared beach directly in front of the hotel - not a soul to be seen for five miles. Angie and Marty proceeded to top that with their hopitality, superb food and drinks, immaculate guest rooms, all the amenities of a four star hotel, a tour of the Island, along with a boat ride around the Island. All this for a fraction of the price anywhere else in the Bahamas. We've already booked our return in April to stay at our new second home and visit with our new friends. Thank-you Angie and Marty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nap1hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Marty and I really enjoyed having you all to stay, and it was thrilling to see your wonderful Sea Plane land on the ocean in front of us. What a brilliant and fun way to travel!!!!! We can just picture a bride and groom getting out for a Romantic wedding on our deserted beach. Thank you for your kind comments and we are looking forward to lots more exciting things to come with you all. Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a group dinner and breakfast here, and everything was incredible. Angie and Marty were wonderful hosts and the location is unbeatable. From the food, to the drinks, to the view, this spot is top notch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katenessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

For starters it was perfect.Fabulous room,hospitality and food (not to mention the most friendly bar and bartenders.Such an amazingly beatiful place that words are hard to describe it.Pristine beaches where yours are the only footprints within miles.The price for eveything was so much less than I ever expected too.Definatley going back.............. (soon I hope)

Room Tip: Mine was the room on the water side and was spectacular,althouth all there rooms where amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinaMcmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriearl, Owner at Carriearl Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are so glad you and Sandra enjoyed staying with us, we certainly enjoyed your company too. It was lovely to see all the coral fans you found on Hawkes Nest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Harbour Cay
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriearl Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriearl Boutique Hotel

Property: Carriearl Boutique Hotel
Address: Great Harbour Drive, B56 L13, Great Harbour Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Berry Islands > Great Harbour Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Great Harbour Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriearl is your antidote to workaday worries, but is only a 20 minute flight from Nassau, and a hour flight from Miami. From the moment you walk in the door you will feel at home. With one of Dronzi's famous Rum Punches in your hand, you will just want to chill round our beautiful freshwater swimming pool and walk our amazing beach, where the only footprints you will see are your own! Owned by 2 'Brits', Angie and Marty, our British Hospitality is reflected in our attention to detail and wonderful International Cuisine. We have a 'Smart, Casual' dress code in the evenings, and we do ask Gentlemen to remove their caps please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriearl Boutique Hotel Great Harbour Cay, Out Islands, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing