We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Killgore Adventures Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Fishing Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Idaho's #1 outdoor adventure company. We provide scenic whitewater jet boat tours in Hells Canyon, guided fishing & hunting trips, & much more! When you go on a trip with Killgore Adventures, you are traveling with the locals. We are a family owned and operated business and our trips start right in the heart of Hells Canyon right where all the big whitewater begins. Captain Kurt Killgore has been driving jet boats for almost 18 years now, 15 of them commercially with 100% safety rate. Our main trip, the Wild River Tour, is six hours long where you go through the complete wild river section of the Snake River. The trip is 32 miles each way making four key stops and running all the whitewater rapids Hells Canyon has to offer. We go through Granite Creek and Wild Sheep Creek Rapids which are class 4/5 and numerous class 3 rapids along the tour which are exciting for everybody. Check out our video to learn more about the historical stops we make along the way, the lunches we provide our guests, the engines on our boats, and many other common questions our customers ask. We hope you will consider booking one of these exciting trips with us! #killgoreadventures
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Valencia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bucket list item”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We did the jet boat up and down the snake river in June. Curt was the captain and we used their largest boat. There were 26 people on board. The sights were amazing. We saw two cinnamon bears and big horn sheep. I would recommend wearing swimwear under your clothes as we got soaked on the trip downriver. Overall this is simply a great experience for people of all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    14
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best jetboat trip so far”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

(First part regards the motel at Kilgore's.) We intended to camp at the RV Park prior to our Hell’s Canyon excursion the next day, but it was cold and rainy last week, so we instead checked into 2 motel units. If we were planning on a motel stay we probably would have stayed at nearby towns, half an hour or so away. White Bird is tiny, and this was our option at this point.

The rooms were old, and clean, though the carpet looked its age, and my room did have a somewhat musty smell. Not in a terrible way, but it was there. Basic, basic room, pretty far from town, and everything considered not a bad deal at $65, if you are going to be taking their tour the next morning. They did have satellite TV, a nice amenity at a location like this, and serviceable wifi. They also had a communal fire pit, and firewood for the burning, as well as an axe, so I made a blazing fire that night, which at retail would have easily been $20. For the motel, 2 and a half stars.

The next morning we opted to drive the 17 miles to the boat launch, Pittsburg Landing, rather than take their shuttle, which is an additional cost, btw. It is a very scenic, steep and winding drive, not for large vehicles or those uncomfortable with these types of road conditions. I love to drive, and enjoyed the 45 mins or so that it took to get over the mountain and down to the water.

Kilgore jet boats have canopies, where many of their competitors are not. Maybe they go different routes and can operate open, but without the cover, we would have been completely drenched several times later that day.

We were told that average flow in the Snake here is about 50,000 gal/sec in June, and last week it was only 8,000. There was PLENTY of water to enjoy our trip, though I could see our pilot took steps to avoid obviously shallow rocky areas.

We made about 4 stops along the way, at an old ranch/museum and river camp area, as well as just below Hells Canyon dam. Compared to jetboat trips on the Rogue and Willamette a few years ago, there was less narration and talk while underway, but what there was, was informative and interesting to listen to.

The ride itself was often rough and wild, which is what you expect, and on the Snake they go through what they say are class 4 and 5 rapids. I never worried when I was on the Rogue, but this was wild enough to make the adrenaline rush a few times, especially when the bow goes down in the rapids and for a second all you see is a wall of water in front of you. Then it comes down with a huge crash over the canopy. The stern comes out enough where you hear the jet drive starve for water for a second so it’s clear they push the envelope.

The only part I really didn’t like was that they used diesel engines, 3 x 315 hp. With a tail wind, and when still or going slowly, the diesel exhaust would temporarily get strong enough to be unpleasant. It wouldn’t last long, but I would prefer gas engines.

They give you a decent sandwich box lunch at the dam, and they have water and soda available while underway. I thought the $175 cost per person a bit steep, but they were very professional, exuded confidence and gave us a ride we’ll remember for years.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great" Wild River Tour”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The 6 hour Wild River Tour through Hells Canyon on the Snake River should be on your "Bucket List" and Killgore Adventures would be our recommendation for the trip.

Killgore is a first class family owned and operated business. They are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The boat was top notch.

We stayed in the RV facilities but they also have a row of nice motel units. There are nice clean restrooms and a laundry room.

The trip up the river and back takes you through class 3-5 rapids and Kurt navigates this river perfectly in the 36' jet boat. He is very knowledgeable about the area and shares this with you. There are stops going up and back at historical sites that also include bathroom breaks. They serve a great cold lunch at the dam site stop and you have time to tour the visitor center at the dam. There is also a stop on the way back to allow swimming for those who want to get out on the sandy stretch of beach and cool off.

Wildlife abounds in the canyon and Kurt tries to show you as much as he can. We saw Bighorn Sheep, Bear, Deer, Bald Eagle and a coyote plus other smaller birds and animals.

We have taken other jet boat trips in different areas through the years, including Alaska, but this was the best overall experience that we have had

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want a chance to see a wild river safely and comfortably, take this tour. We took the Hell's canyon tour and were not disappointed. At $175.00, it is a lot for a family of four, but is worth the once in a lifetime experience. The tour starts you out in the canyon and not through farmland. The people were nice to deal with and honest in their opinions and actions. Kurt did a great job on the 36 foot boat and was informative and knowledgeable of the area. We went over the Class 3 rapids like they were smooth water and the Class 4-5 rapids were achieved without difficulty. I felt completely safe at all times. We saw a ram and ewe bighorn sheep and an eagle. There were enough stops for bathrooms and seeing historical sites to make the trip comfortable. The lunch was a very good sandwich, macaroni salad and cookie and had plenty to drink. The half day wild river tour was really enough, don't think I would have wanted much longer. An experience well worth the time. We took the shuttle and I decided it was well worth the $20.00/per person cost since the road is rather narrow and can be tricky. I could have driven it, but was very glad we did not. No complaints at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Memorial ATV ride 2013”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 days with the atv group from Killgore Adventures. We had 2 great rides. We saw a lot of area and had some great rides. The staff are all very pleasent to deal with. The BBQ/potluck was great at the end of the ride.

The only reason this isn't a 5 is because we were at the tail end of the group. The leader started the break when he arrivied at the break stops. The breaks should have started when the sweeper arrivied.

the ride seem to be challanging enough for experianced riders. But beginners could keep up.

We will be back. All in our party(6 riders total from spokane Wa) had great fun and enjoyed the people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killgore Adventures Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Fishing Trips also viewed

 

Been to Killgore Adventures Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Fishing Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing