We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden jewel- A Wonderful Time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Bird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Lodging
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Let me first say that you should also read reviews under Killgore Adventures because there are more reviews there and they are one and the same! This river adventure and fishing operation is run by a local family (The Killgores) who have a small motel and RV park along a sandy piece of the Salmon River. It is a beautiful peaceful setting where the stars light up the night sky. They shuttled us to the boat launch on th Snake River. We then took the 6 hour jet boat trip on the Snake River through Hell's Canyon all the way to the dam and back. We had a lovely lunch, chance for a swim, stops along the way to visit historic sites on the river. We saw Big horn sheep and black bear. The Killgores made sure all of our needs were met, Heather in the office; her son Kurt as boat captain and first mate-Steve- almost part of the family- (Go Vandals!). The rapids were a blast and Kurt and Steve made sure our gear and cameras were stowed before "splash time" but our safety was always their first priority. I would recommend this trip to all but it is also suitable for families with young children and seniors. Too bad I don't fish! It would give me another excuse to go back. Lee and Larry,

Room Tip: We stayed in he RV park
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here the night before our jet boad trip. The motel is on the bank of the reiver and you can hear the water from your room. White Bird is pretty small and I guess that you would only stay here to visit Hells Canyon, not much else to do.
If you are taking a Killgore trip i recommend that you stay here and take the bus trip to the river in the morning, an experience on its own. The motel is pretty basic but neat and clean

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had 1/2 day to devote to Hells Canyon. Would have loved to do afloat trip, but did not have the time. 2 hour jet boat: saw bear by the side of the river, bald eagles nesting and fledging, early native living site/cave/paintings, old rancher cabin, berry picking, hells canyon dam, or and gorgeous scenery.

The lodge with breakfast was comfortable amd accomodating. The room accomodated sleeping for 8. I would have thought they could split that room in two, so it could be more efficient and affordable for a family of 4. Still it was nice to be nearby for the boat, since that was remote from our previous location (Wallowa Lake).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finndance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I wasn't sure about it when I drove into White Bird, Idaho - tiny town practically in the middle of nowhere but it was great. The office staff were very friendly. I camped and was the only one so I got the pick of the sites - they weren't all great but mine was at the end in the shade overlooking the river and I was very pleased. Aside from the "hike" to the rest rooms it was great. The boat trip was a lot of fun. The drive from the site to the river was very scenic but also hard driving on gravel down grade switchbacks so if that kind of driving makes you squeamish consider the small fee for the transportation to and from the river. The boat trip was excellent - we saw big horn sheep right off the bat, a black bear in a tree up river and along the shore down river, bald eagles and deer. The dam from the boat was pretty cool and the scenery just can't be beat. The trip back down river was a lot of fun through class V rapids - you get wet - I'm pretty sure this is true of every seat on the boat - but that was much of the fun. The trip was fun, lunch was a darn good sandwich, and overall it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gabbyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a 6 unit motel and Campground. About 12 RV sites and a tent camping area. It is located on the road that leads to only drive-in access to the Snake River Canyon. Also on the confluence of White Bird Creek and the Salmon River. If you open the bathroom window you can hear the creek. The rooms were comfortable, good satellite TV, coffeemaker. Some rooms have kitchenette and ajoin other rooms. There are picnic tables out front and a campfire area. Personnel very nice and helpful. There is a laundry room and shower rooms for the campers. We had a family group and some stayed in Tents and some in motel. We ate our meals at the picnic tables and cooked on camping stoves. Very Very quiet and beautiful views of the mountains/foothills. You can swim in the Salmon River at the motel, there is a big eddy right off the shore so you don't float away. Only negative is the shower stall was small. Another thing to note. The very small town of White Bird has one little market that closes at 6 and one restaurant. A mile south on HWY 95 is Hoots gas station/cafe with some store items. The motel office sells canned drinks but it also closes by 6. So stock up before you get here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Bird
23.2 mi away
Salmon Rapids Lodge
Salmon Rapids Lodge
#2 of 5 in Riggins
203 reviews
7.8 mi away
Whitebird Summit Ranch
Whitebird Summit Ranch
#1 of 2 in Grangeville
43 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 2 in Grangeville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Salmon River Motel
Salmon River Motel
#1 of 2 in Riggins
23 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hells Canyon Jet Boat Trips & Lodging

Address: 3252 Water Front Dr, White Bird, ID 83554-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > White Bird
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in White Bird
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging accommodations are located on the Salmon River and White Bird Creek. All rooms have their own restrooms and showers, air conditioning, satellite TV, and are very clean and comfortable. Two of the units have one queen bed and a kitchen unit. Other units have two double beds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing