We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LaCasa cancelled our family reunion booking with only 3 weeks notice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Cottage Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 South Fintry B&B and Inns
edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LaCasa cancelled our family reunion booking with only 3 weeks notice.”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Be warned--LaCasa may not beable to honour your booking. LaCasa has just informed me, with only 3 weeks warning, that they will no longer be open the weekend in September. We are now scrambling to book a group of 20.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank adventurerseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
85
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
camrose
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Just returned from a great trip to La Casa this last week. The cabin we rented thru vrbo. Couldn't have asked fro a better location. Full lake view only a short walk to the marina and swimming area. It was a ways up to the pool, but we enjoyed the exercise and for those that didn't, they drove up as there is plenty of space to park. Went to the "wing night" one night at the restaurant. All you can eat for 12.00. I found it great value as some of the teenage boys ate more than their share. The music from a local singer was very good.

The la casa resort is still developing but the owners of the cottages think they're in paradise and are very socialable. We met up with some old friends who happen to have bought our there, and made some new ones. Lots of activiities such as movie nights, yoga, aquacise, etc. Sure you have to pay extra for them, but don't you at most other places? Very nice fitness room and the pool area was clean and very pretty.

I think if you've done your homework, researched where the cabin is in the development, and are aware there is or can be alot of walking, you'll have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My husband and I have 2 youngs kids 6 and 4. We just came back from La Casa a few days ago and have gone for the last 3 summers. It has never failed to disappoint us. It seems that every year seems to get better and better. Each summer we have brought out friends and family who have also loved the resort. While yes, the resort is a little bit of a drive from Kelowna, once you are out there, we find very little reason to leave. If you stock up on groceries first, you should be good to go. Each year they seem to add more and more to the resort (movie theatre, cantina, bar, gym, 2nd pool is in the works) The service is fantastic, any problem we have ever encountered was dealt with in a very friendly manner. For allllll the many ammenities the resort offers, this has become a summer vacation spot that is now becoming tradition for us.
One last tidbit...last summer 2009 my son left behind his stuffed monkey. We didn't realize it until a few weeks later. When I called La Casa, they said they had the monkey and had been trying to get ahold of us. I asked for them to ship the monkey collect via Canada Post to us which they did - and they even ended up paying the postage!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinicotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Parents traveling with a 3.5 yr old and 9 month old. After a 30 minute drive past the town of Vernon we arrived at La Casa. Beautiful 'cabins', in fact stunning with stunning balcony's that over looks the beautiful Okanagan Lake. But that's where it stops. When we arrived at the first cabin, it was lived in. We have to admit that the property manager was quick to resolve that issue and we were given a replacement within minutes. The new cabin had a great flat screen tv, but there was no cable (we were not advised...the notes said tv...we assumed cable was included). But we were not there for TV we wanted Okanagan sun, sand and water!!! Sun yes, sand... well...a platform with sand was buildt about 4-5 feet up from the rocky shore...hmmmm not what we were looking for. Water YES...across the highway (did I say HIGHWAY) was a pool! I had to cross it with my baby in the stroller and my toddler holding my hand. There was no crosswalk.

The resort itself is buildt on a majorly steep slope, so everything is accessed via steep switchbacks. With no sidewalks (although "everything is in walking distance".) All "amenities" have extra fee's that you must pay unless the owner has already...we were not told this. Also, luckly we stocked up with food because their grocery store was more like a "shop" at a campsite not a place you can pick up veggies and something for the bbq.

Our washing machine AND dishwasher didn't work. The A/C machine wasn't powerful enough to cool upstairs, where the bedrooms are. We stayed for one night and left. This was risky given how popular the Okanagan area is. But we couldn't imagine staying here with two small children for a week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curlyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I was recently at LaCasa with my spouse and his daughter (age 9) and some friends and their two young children (ages 1 & 3). The cabins were very nice althought the air conditioning was extremely loud - especially in the room we stayed (the unit was in the closet). The weather was incredible and it was almost impossible to do anything but spend time on the beach. The beach at the resort was a little dissapointing though. It was OK for us and our 9 year old (there was a water trampoline and slide), but the rocky beach was no good for the younger children. Our friends ended up travelling over two hours a day back and forth to other sandy beaches in Vernon and Kelowna the resortt is about 45 minutes away from both cities). Their three year old got sick may times on the windy roads. There is also a pool which the 9 year old liked, but it was too deep for little ones without floatation devices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loewenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We booked our visit to LaCasa hoping for a beach friendly summer family vacation. Much to our dismay the "beach" was really just jagged rocks and very very small. Wearing water shoes didn't even help with the rock discomfort. We had a 1 year old and there was no place suitable down by the water/"beach" to play with our little one. The cottage was nice enough, but very sparse and not suitable for children (no railing around the deck). The whole resort is on a very steep hillside so to get anywhere is a steep hike up or down (not suitable for our child, or the older in-laws). The resort is about 35 minutes from Kelowna down a windy road on the side of the mountain - making day trips into sightsee a bit of a challenge. We left after the first night as we were not pleased.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Smitty1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My family and I were evacuated on arrival at la casa in July 2009 when the okanagan fires were at their peak. We did not stay in the accommodation as we were advised to leave. My debit card was charged for one nights stay and myself and my husband have tried for over a year with numberous emails and phone calls to claim for a refund. To no avail. The managers Cliff and Julie do not apply to our emails and we feel this highly unprofessional and would not recommend la casa to anyone, this experience has left us out of pocket although we are still emailing regularly and telephoning our requests are heard and they advise that they will pass the information on for 12 months now and still no refund, poor show.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank laudun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Fintry
The Cove Lakeside Resort
#1 of 5 in West Kelowna
1,082 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
Predator Ridge Resort
#6 of 20 in Vernon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cottage Resort

Property: La Casa Cottage Resort
Address: 6808 Westside Rd N | South Fintry, South Fintry, British Columbia V1Z 3R8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > South Fintry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Fintry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa Cottage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west side of Lake Okanagan, 30 minutes north of West Kelowna, British Columbia, offering 60 vacation rental cottages in the La Casa resort. Beautiful new, fully-equipped 2 and 3 bedroom cottages near the lake/marina, around the swimming pool/activities centre, or on the upper ridge with spectacular lake views. Activities include: 2 swimming pools, 3 jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, mini-golf, beach volleyball, basketball, playground, group BBQ area, kayaks, lake aqua trampolines, marina, trails right behind the resort for hiking, biking, ATV, and nearby horseback riding, golf, and wineries. Perched on the hill, the lake view Events Centre is ideal for weddings or groups up to 130 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing