We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and helpful staff”
Review of Wallace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wallace Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant and helpful staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Over the years I have stayed at the Wallace Inn at least half a dozen times. On the surface it remains the nicest motel in Wallace, but its amenities have slipped since the days when it was a member of the Best Western chain. A couple years ago I noticed the souvenir shop adjoining the motel's restaurant had been closed. On our most recent stay we were informed that the restaurant would be open only for breakfast. It seems they are following the same path as the railroads did when passenger counts began to wane and, in response, they cut service to a lower level. I'm guessing there will be no restaurant at all on my next visit. Hopefully I'm wrong on that guess.

The staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Our room was clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was well stocked. They have a very nice pool and hot tub just off the lobby. The price seemed a bit high though. Even using my AARP membership the two of us ended up paying $142 for one night. Granted, this is the tourist season, but it was also a Wednesday night and the motel was not near capacity.

There was one problem with the room. During the middle of the night my adult son tried to turn on the air-conditioning fan, but it wouldn't work. We tried again in the morning, and still nothing. I meant to tell the front desk on checkout, but forgot.

I will return, but I hope things get straightened out by next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your longstanding loyalty. We apologize for your disappointment regarding the restaurant’s hours. We are in the process of making improvements to the Trailside Café and are especially excited to reveal our new menu and extended hours soon.

The Gift Shop was operated by a private company which, after 18 years, decided to close its doors. We and our guests are delighted with the conversion of this space to the Galena Room, a beautiful, naturally lit space, decorated with historic local photographs, and popular for events.

Our maintenance department is checking air conditioners to ensure that they are all working. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

On your next visit, please contact Rick Shaffer, Director of Operations, in advance as he would like to make all arrangements to ensure a stay to your complete satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    119
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
101
124
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Myself and three buddies (all of us in our early 60’s) wanted to do some cycling on the beautiful trails in northern Idaho, so we used the Wallace Inn as the starting and ending points for our three-day 150-mileloop. It was the ideal place to stay and we all loved it.

The hotel is very nice, clean, and well appointed. They have early morning coffee in the lobby starting around 5:45, for people like us who needed to leave before the café opened. The hotel staff could not be friendlier, and went out of their way a couple of times to accommodate a request or two. When we rolled back into the hotel after three days on the trail, they seemed genuinely happy to see us back.

The Wallace Inn’s General Manager is Rick Shaffer. We first talked with Rick last autumn, explaining the general idea of our bicycling trip and asking for any advice and recommendations he might have on when to go, what trails to take, where to stay, etc. Rick is a cyclist himself, and was able to point us to the best routes to take, what the trail surfaces were like, what dates to avoid (e.g. ATV week), etc. He could not have been more helpful, shuttled us up to the NorPac trail, and even followed up with me after our trip to make sure all had gone well.

The routes we biked were mostly rails-to-trails bikeways, created from former railroads. This means they were fairly wide, nicely surfaced (either packed gravel/limestone or paved), with gentle grades suitable for all levels of cyclists. The NorPac takes you to the Path of the Hiawatha, a beautiful trail with plenty of tunnels, bridges, and gorgeous mountain scenery.

We biked the following loop: Day 1: From the Wallace Inn, shuttle to NorPac east of Mullan. Rode NorPac & Hiawatha trails, then to Avery. Day 2: From Avery to St. Maries on the scenic road next to the river (very little traffic in the morning; picked up in the afternoon). Day 3: Shuttle from St. Maries to Heyburn State Park. (NOTE: do not even consider cycling west from St. Maries to Plummer or Heyburn Park – the road has zero shoulders, steep drop-offs, logging trucks trying to negotiate many curves, etc.) At Heyburn, we picked up the Coeur d’Alene Trail – a spectacular paved trail with beautiful scenery -- lakes, mountains, meadows -- and we took this all the way to Wallace. We arrived back at the Wallace Inn around 4pm, and a welcome sight it was!

Our three days were about 40, 50, and 60 miles. To anyone looking to enjoy some beautiful rails-to-trails cycling, do not pass up these trails!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMack970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
What fun it was to read your review. Thank you for sharing your itinerary and advice, as other guests will surely find it helpful. Rick is a pro when it comes to biking and our area’s trails – so glad you connected and that he helped you at various steps along the way. Hope we can work with you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRDSBORO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently went to Wallace, Idaho as part of a bicycling vacation to the Pacific Northwest. Based on several prior TripAdvisor reviews I decided to stay at the Wallace Inn. It was the best decision I made for my vacation. The staff of the Wallace Inn arranged comfortable accommodations for me and were quite helpful in my day-to-day bike planning. They arranged shuttles from the Inn so I could bike one-way several days and see more of the area bike trails. When I determined to bike the Route of the Hiawatha they arranged trail passes, shuttle passes and even loaned me a bike light for the tunnels! I was particularly impressed with the proprietor Rick Shaffer. He took the time to communicate with me before, during and after the trip to see that my needs were met. They went the extra mile for me. I would love to go back!

Room Tip: I stayed in a single king bed room right next to the front desk, which made it easy for me to go in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We’re so happy to hear we were a highlight of your vacation and that Rick helped to make it that way! Let us know if we can help you with another vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to stay at on a return trip from Washington state. We arrived late in the evening, but the desk clerk had our reservation and the keys were all ready for us. There was plenty of parking and the clerk directed us to the closest entrance to our room. The room was quite large and clean, and the beds were very comfortable.

They do not serve a complimentary breakfast here; instead, there is an adjacent cafe. We left early in the morning, however, and did not eat there. Beautiful pool area, but alas, no time on this trip. We'll stay here the next time we come through. The Route of the Hiawatha bike trail is nearby and well-worth doing again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COgirlBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your review! Please let us know if you would like guidance planning your next bike adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Wallace Inn while traveling out west. We wanted to tour the attractions in Wallace and found the town so interesting and picturesque. Upon checking in we noticed we were getting a flat tire. It was after hours, but they told us where we could get it fixed. The hotel was so clean and our room was very nice and comfortable. The next morning while we ate breakfast in the restaurant the desk clerk called to have someone repair our flat. They came right away and everyone we dealt with in Wallace was so nice and helpful. Great experience and we will recommend the town and the hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachertami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review – your recommendation means a lot to us! We’re glad everything with the flat tire worked out and that you enjoyed Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay one night midway between Glacier National Park and the Spokane Airport. The Wallace Inn fit the bill perfectly. The location was easy to find off of interstate 90. The Inn is decorated beautifully and the room was large, clean, and comfortable. As an added bonus, there is an indoor pool, sauna, steam room, and hot tub! We took advantage of these after spending most of the day hiking in Glacier or driving. The desk clerk recommended some restaurants, and we settled for the BBQ place. Eating at an outdoor table in this lovely town topped off the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so pleased to hear about your great stop in Wallace. Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The front desk staff was super helpful. They provided us with a map of the area and were great in knowing what time things were open and had good suggestions on what to do. Down side was the next morning, no wait staff showed up for work so the continental breakfast that was included was "cancelled." There wasn't even any coffee in the lobby. The pool was super dirty and I will spare you the details.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aparadox4u2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are happy to know our staff was helpful, but concerned about your disappointments. The day you were here was the second in 21 years that our café did not open. There may also have been miscommunication because we do not provide continental breakfast - rather we have a full-service restaurant. As for the pool, during extreme heat we open side doors for ventilation - debris may have blown in. We apologize and will continue to strive to attain our high standards. We appreciate your taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
141 reviews
10.4 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
10.4 mi away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
21 reviews
10.0 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lux Rooms
#3 of 3 in Wallace
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Inn

Property: Wallace Inn
Address: 100 Front St, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of North Idaho's breathtaking Silver Valley, at the foot of the towering Bitterroot Mountains, the newly renovated Wallace Inn offers a unique experience for visitors. Come explore all the natural beauty, history, and year-round recreation that abound in the area. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, friendly, personalized service, and an array of amenities await your arrival. Stay with us and enjoy our indoor pool and spa, steam room, dry sauna, exercise facilities, restaurant, lounge, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wallace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Hotel Wallace
Wallace Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing