We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times, Great People”
Review of Wallace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wallace Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wallace is a great get away with friendly and colorful people. The Wallace Inn is a great home base for all the activities the area has to offer.
Friendly faces await behind every shop or restaurant door. The locals all seem very knowledgeable and proud of their mining town heritage. Just hearing some of their stories made for some great memories. Plan on spending at least a day just window shopping and experiencing Wallace before you take off to do whatever you came for- it's worth the time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Wallace experience! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our special town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This area, about an hour from Coeur d'Alene, ID, is quaint and quiet. The Wallace Inn is just off the I-90 freeway. Our room was simple, but spacious and comfortable. It had a nice pool and spa. The restaurant served only breakfast this time of year, and had a good selection, but breakfast was not included in the room rate. We visited several antique shops in town and toured the City Limits Brewery. The Brewery had a great menu (superb HOT chicken wings!) and several good beers to choose from. We spent a relaxing day in Wallace and enjoyed the serenity of the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We're glad you found your visit comfortable and relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was amazed at the quality of service and friendliness of the staff. We felt like members of the family there, and everyone was very helpful and accommodating. As soon as we asked for something, it was done! Rick Shaffer,The Prime Minister, asked us regularly wherever he ran into us in the halls if we needed anything and if we were being taken care of. The Wallace/Kellogg area is blessed to have such a fine establishment for their visitors. I plan on coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodyLaneDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I just cannot say enough good things about this. The manager rick is simply awesome all of the stuff are friendly and polite. The food is great the rooms are great this is a place you need to stay if you are planning to stay anywhere near Kellogg or Wallace.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My two teenager grandsons and I attended the Northwest Outdoor Writers Association (NOWA) in Wallace ID.....the intire staff treated us like we were family (the favorite side of the family!). Rooms were large enough for all our "stuff" and more, beds were cozy and towels abundant. We purchased fishing licencses at the local hardware store the day before we arrived and the sweet lady at the hardware store, Janet, delivered them to the Inn on her way home. Her sister Norma works at the Inn and was delighfully helpful with all our needs. Food yummy. My advice....go out of your way to stay at the Wallace Inn....outstanding....and I truely hope you get the chance to meet the Prime Minister, Rich Shaffer...his sense of hospitality will knock your socks off!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shotgungranny6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a member of the Northwest Outdoor Writers Association, I travel a bit and love to participate in outdoor activities.I’ve stayed at historic venues as well as modern glitzie places. But nowhere was I treated better than my stay at the Wallace Inn. Overseen by the Prime Minister himself, Rick Shaffer, it is a blend of modern amenities and historic presence. Just a few blocks from the center of downtown historic Wallace, it offers a nice restaurant, clean rooms, as well as a pool with a view and conference rooms for business meetings. If you choose the Wallace Inn, you will not be disappointed.

The town of Wallace is listed on the National Historic Register. I don’t mean a few buildings…I mean the entire town. From mining offices, the handsome Northern Pacific depot, the bordello building, to mercantiles, the whole town is listed. Historically, Wallace was and is the silver mining center of the universe, and they let you know it. In town there is a mining museum and nearby a mine tour, complete with a trolley shuttle service. For those whose interests differ, there are hiking and biking trails, fly fishing spots, kayaking, and almost weekly festivals. The famous Route of the Hiawatha is a great place to start. The annual Blues Festival is a must!

As for me, I’ll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cascade47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We love NOWA! Wallace loves NOWA! Thanks for your stay and your great comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently had a conference at the Wallace Inn in Wallace Idaho. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The manager Rich Shaffer also known as the Prime Minister of Wallace was the best host. He went WAY beyond the call of duty. He made so many arraignments for all of us. We have never been treated so well.

The rooms were spacious, the towels were so soft, the bed so comfortable, the temp was so perfect that we never had to make any adjustments.

Best ever!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
38 reviews
10.4 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
68 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
6.3 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Inn

Address: 100 Front St, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range: $96 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of North Idaho's breathtaking Silver Valley, at the foot of the towering Bitterroot Mountains, the newly renovated Wallace Inn offers a unique experience for visitors. Come explore all the natural beauty, history, and year-round recreation that abound in the area. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, friendly, personalized service, and an array of amenities await your arrival. Stay with us and enjoy our indoor pool and spa, steam room, dry sauna, exercise facilities, restaurant, lounge, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wallace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Hotel Wallace
Wallace Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing