We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Silver Shines in Wallace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wallace Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Silver Shines in Wallace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a member of the Northwest Outdoor Writers Association, I travel a bit and love to participate in outdoor activities.I’ve stayed at historic venues as well as modern glitzie places. But nowhere was I treated better than my stay at the Wallace Inn. Overseen by the Prime Minister himself, Rick Shaffer, it is a blend of modern amenities and historic presence. Just a few blocks from the center of downtown historic Wallace, it offers a nice restaurant, clean rooms, as well as a pool with a view and conference rooms for business meetings. If you choose the Wallace Inn, you will not be disappointed.

The town of Wallace is listed on the National Historic Register. I don’t mean a few buildings…I mean the entire town. From mining offices, the handsome Northern Pacific depot, the bordello building, to mercantiles, the whole town is listed. Historically, Wallace was and is the silver mining center of the universe, and they let you know it. In town there is a mining museum and nearby a mine tour, complete with a trolley shuttle service. For those whose interests differ, there are hiking and biking trails, fly fishing spots, kayaking, and almost weekly festivals. The famous Route of the Hiawatha is a great place to start. The annual Blues Festival is a must!

As for me, I’ll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascade47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We love NOWA! Wallace loves NOWA! Thanks for your stay and your great comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    98
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
82
104
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coeur D'alene
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently had a conference at the Wallace Inn in Wallace Idaho. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The manager Rich Shaffer also known as the Prime Minister of Wallace was the best host. He went WAY beyond the call of duty. He made so many arraignments for all of us. We have never been treated so well.

The rooms were spacious, the towels were so soft, the bed so comfortable, the temp was so perfect that we never had to make any adjustments.

Best ever!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I got the opportunity to stay at the Wallace Inn for four nights during our annual Northwest Outdoor Writer's Association Conference and was absolutely amazed! Manager Rick Shaffer and his staff set a new high bar to match for hospitality. The staff was friendly, helpful with suggestions on things to do in the area, and very accomading to requests. Rick in particular went out of his way to make our conference a successful one. The food he provided was very good and during a hosted dinner we were interrupted by the unannounced arrival of the East Valley High School Strolling Strings group from Spokane, a large group of talented young men and women who serenaded us with a variety of music as we ate and drank the night away. Now that is entertainment!

On the more functional side you'll find the hotel has an attached restaurant and lounge, a nice indoor pool, fitness center, and large lobby as well as conference facilities. The hotel rooms are over-sized, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom towels soft. The hotel is clean and the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, are uniformly friendly. It is also within walking distance of downtown Wallace and their is a convenience store/gas station next door in case you need anything in a hurry. In other words, it's the perfect base camp or conference facility.

There's plenty of things to do around here as well. Here's a quick list:

1. Go to downtown Wallace and explore the museums and shops in this charming and historic town. BTW - the food and drink at the City Limits Pub, Club 1313, and the Smokehouse (you have got to try the brisket) are all very good!

2. Go on the Sierra Silver Mine Tour. You can catch a trolly from their downtown office and then go underground for an informative and fascinating tour given by retired miners who worked in these very hills. Total time is 75 minutes and the cost is very reasonable.

3. Hop on your bicycle and pedal portions of the 72 mile Trail of the Coeur d' Alenes that runs past town or the shorter but scenic Route of the Hiawatha from Montana back into Idaho (a shuttle is available for this one so you can actually just travel downhill). Both trails are on converted rail beds, providing an excellent route to travel.

4. Backtrack and go fishing on the scenic Chain Lakes running from I-90 south towards St. Maries along State Highway 3. These are also excellent destinations for wildlife watchers. I saw elk, great blue heron, osprey, and a wide variety of waterfowl. Fishing is also available on the North Fork of the Cd'A River.

With a backdrop of mountains, easy access off of I-90, a creek rushing by the hotel and a small town full of friendly people, you'll want to visit this wonderful town and when you do, you'll want to stay at the Wallace Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncwmallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review of the Wallace Inn and the Silver Valley. We were thrilled NOWA chose Wallace and were pleased to roll out the red carpet. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We love to stay at The Wallace Inn. They let me have my puppy in the room. They have a great restaurant in the building. They have a lovely fireplace and pool, sauna & weight room. The desk staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious with all the amenities one could ask for. We go through Idaho on a trip to Oregon each year and stay at The Wallace Inn both coming and going.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarmersDaughter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We love your review! Thanks for sharing your Wallace Inn experience. Hope to see you and your pup again soon.

Rick Shaffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved it so much, we came back two weeks later for more. We came in the summer for the best biking adventures we've ever had. Over the top service. Very clean nice rooms. We couldn't be happier and have told lots of friends to check it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howellingbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic thoughts. It is always great to hear from our many happy guests and we hope to see you on the trails again soon!

Rick Shaffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the years. The one consistent quality is that the front desk staff is always friendly, efficient & helpful. Sadly, the same can not be said of the housekeeping crew. Their one job is to make sure the rooms are bright & shiny clean. Several times over the past years I've found a considerable amount of hair on the bathroom counter, sink, toilet & tub. This isn't the occasional hair drop but hairs of all types being left behind on the surfaces from an unclean cloth. Makes me wonder what that cloth cleaned before being used on my room? How are the coffee carafes & glasses washed . . . hmmm? I've also noted the occasional spot of (?) being left behind on the counter, sink & toilet. To remedy this problem I've started taking my own disinfecting wipes in a baggie so I can sanitize all the surfaces I'll touch. I have reported this problem to the hotel desk clerk in the past. The rooms appeared very clean on the next couple of visits. Now I'm seeing hair again. It's not my job to monitor housekeeping. That's management's responsibility. I'm now posting this review in hopes they will see it & be movtivated to truly improve . In the mean time, I'll probably look elsewhere for a room. One more thing . . . the mildew growing in the grout of the shower tiles is only getting worse. Not at all appealing & doesn't show pride of ownership. C'mon people! It's a nice hotel in a beautiful little town! These are inexpensive fixes!

Room Tip: If you're not an early riser, don't take a room (up or down) right next to the lobby. Sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Please accept our profound apologies. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and, over the years, most guests comment not only on our warm hospitality, but on our sparkling cleanliness. Your concern is our concern. Staff will immediately address each issue and rectify the problems. Thank you for your constructive feedback and for your loyalty over the years. We hope to earn it back.

Rick Shaffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Guesthouse Inn just 10 miles down the road in Kellogg is way nicer and has a continental breakfast. If you pick up one of those free hotel coupon books (found at fast food restaurants and gas stations), you can stay at the guesthouse for $69.00. Its way nicer, was much less conjested, more modern and, like I said, serves a nice continental breakfast.

As for the Wallace Inn, our room was old and dated but clean. Our bed was really uncomfortable. Also when you cann the number on their website it redirects you to some strange national service that books you stay. The person who booked us didn;t seem to know anything about the plae and took forever to finalize our reservation. Additonally, we told them that we had pets and asked if we could bring them. They said yes and then quoted us a price that did not include a pet fee. They didn't tell us this. So, when we went to check out after our stay, the receptionist made us pay a a very high fee for having two dogs. We had been under teh impression that that was in our origional quote. We asked her to consult her manager about teh situation and she never did. We felt a little misled. For the final price, we would never have brought them, or would have stayed at the guesthouse inn like we have in the past. Overall, not worth the price. Kellogg has better food anyhow. The food in the restaurant at the Wallace Inn is pretty much like a shoddy Denny's. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at Wallace Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Research indicates that your reservation was booked with Magnuson Hotels, a private reservations company. They apologize for their failure to inform you of our pet policy. This has now been clarified to them.

Additionally, we apologize for not having informed you at check-in of our pet policy. We have emphasized to our staff the importance of clear and complete communications at check-in relative to all room charges. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us.

Thank you for your thoughtful and constructive comments.

Rick Shaffer
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
10.3 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
0.3 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.0 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Inn

Property: Wallace Inn
Address: 100 Front Street, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of North Idaho's breathtaking Silver Valley, at the foot of the towering Bitterroot Mountains, the newly renovated Wallace Inn offers a unique experience for visitors. Come explore all the natural beauty, history, and year-round recreation that abound in the area. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, friendly, personalized service, and an array of amenities await your arrival. Stay with us and enjoy our indoor pool and spa, steam room, dry sauna, exercise facilities, restaurant, lounge, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wallace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Hotel Wallace
Wallace Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing