We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eager to return!”
Review of Wallace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wallace Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
mazama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eager to return!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were 3 women bicycling the Trail of the Coeur d'Alene and our one night stay at the Wallace Inn was perfect!

Spacious and immaculate room, rejuvenating hot tub/pool, informative and helpful staff, espresso maker in the restaurant, interesting, historical town...we couldn't have asked for more!

We are already planning next year's bike trip and will stay longer with day trips out and back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzbarb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    109
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
92
114
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The room was clean, the pool very refreshing. Close to everything. Front desk staff friendly. We signed up for a promotion package and the operator was willing and helpful in adapting it to accommodate extra family members. On site restaurant service was poor, slow and difficult to get server or hostess' attention. brekafast and lunch fare was good. Our kids did the zip line tour - the base of operation was on site. They loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was probably the best hotel in town. The front desk was helpful in getting us a room with two beds even though we paid for a single. My son loved being able to swim in the indoor pool which was open until 10pm. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We had breakfast at the attached restaurant which was more convenient than finding somewhere in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rktraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I just returned from a road trip to Idaho, Washinton etc. My first stop was Wallace Idaho as it is one of the closest towns/areas to stay in if you are planning on doing the Route of the Hiawatha bike trail. Wallace is a very small town, very cute and this was one of the best accommodation options in town. My room, a king, jacuzzi suite is highly recommended. Huge room, huge jacuzzi tub but the bed was a bit ont he hard side.

Staff at Wallace Inn was just average, the restaurant had good food and good value, good servers but the food took forever.

Room Tip: Get the king jacuzzi suite!! Stay at this hotel if you are doing the Route of the Hiawatha!! Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenneg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Wallace in on the way to and from Montana. It was clean and sufficient for our needs. The front desk staff were very nice. They don't have a complimentary breakfast, but have an attached restaurant that serves generous portions (although the prices seemed a bit high and the servers seemed stressed and understaffed.) They give you 10% off and free coffee if you show your room key. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool.

Room Tip: They don't have an elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage ask for the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IssMDMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After friends called and invited us to ride the Hiawatha Trail with them, I searched online for accommodations somewhere in or east of Spokane (to be honest, I wasn't quite sure where the trail started). I stumbled upon the Wallace Inn and their "Hiawatha Highlight" package -- what a great deal -- and discovered the town of Wallace is just a stone's throw from the trail, while Spokane is 80 miles west. We checked in for a Saturday night stay and the front desk staff, though busy, were entirely accommodating and professional, and made sure we knew our bikes were as welcome as we were. My husband enjoyed a swim in their glass-enclosed indoor pool while I rested in our very quiet room just a few steps from the lobby. We walked the three or so blocks from the hotel through a beautifully well kept Victorian neighborhood to the heart of town for dinner and for breakfast the next morning. Besides staying in Wallace as the most convenient location for riding the Hiawatha Trail, Wallace and its history are well worth a day or two of exploring. This is not a manufactured tourist destination -- the whole town is on the National Register of Historic Places -- with residents who not only protect its century-old charm, but love sharing it with visitors. Because the inn is on the very western edge of town and around a bend in the road, its more modern look doesn't offend the character of the town. This is a great weekend destination for hiking and bicycling enthusiasts, and those interested in railroad history, silver mining, and the Big Burn of 1910.

Room Tip: If you have bicycles, ask for a ground floor room so you can easily walk them to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

When we wanted to move from Kellogg to Wallace I searched and found this hotel. Called the manager and confirmed a room. Very very comfortable. Excellent rooms, excellent lobby, and a fabulous spa including pool, sauna and steam bath.

I would highly recommend. Please note if you stay on a Sunday the choice of restaurants is extremely limited. Hotel has adequate food in restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the lobby...you can hear the hotel phone ring in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gclat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
The Stardust Motel
The Stardust Motel
#2 of 3 in Wallace
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
28 reviews
10.4 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
61 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
16 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Inn

Property: Wallace Inn
Address: 100 Front St, P.O. Box 867, Wallace, ID 83873-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of North Idaho's breathtaking Silver Valley, at the foot of the towering Bitterroot Mountains, the newly renovated Wallace Inn offers a unique experience for visitors. Come explore all the natural beauty, history, and year-round recreation that abound in the area. Comfortable, well-appointed rooms, friendly, personalized service, and an array of amenities await your arrival. Stay with us and enjoy our indoor pool and spa, steam room, dry sauna, exercise facilities, restaurant, lounge, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Wallace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Hotel Wallace
Wallace Inn Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing