We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight motel”
Review of The Stardust Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stardust Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great overnight motel”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed overnight on a drive from Vancouver BC to Jackson WY. Half the price of the other hotel in town but worth it for a clean room just for a few hours sleep on a long drive. Will be staying there again on my drive back. Manager was very kind and friendly. No special hotel features of course, but rooms were clean and beds were comfy. If your just looking for a place to crash and aren't picky on accomodations I highly recommend staying at the stardust motel. Don't let the outside appearance detour you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We are happy to hear that you were comfortable and got some good rest here at the Stardust during your road trip. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    58
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
32
53
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had to write a review on this little hidden gem of a motel in Wallace Idaho. I needed a place to stay for at least a week to visit a sick brother and was so lucky to find the Stardust Motel. I was so shocked to find a very comfortable, clean, and friendly motel right in downtown historical Wallace. Besides the very reasonable rates and value for your room, but the managers are the two nicest people I have met in years. Ed and Nancy greeted me and treated me upon arrival like a long time friend of their family. I can't say enough good things about this special place to stay while visiting quaint Wallace. This little town is magic as is the Stardust Motel and Ed and Nancy who make it so special.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #14 and it was really clean and comfortable with a microwave, refrigerator and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmccoy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Though it sounds like the reasons for your visit may have been bittersweet, we are so glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable, clean, and reasonably priced place to stay. Ed and Nancy will be overjoyed to hear how their presence made your visit so special. Thank you, again, for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope to see you next time you travel to Historic Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, MA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Stardust was a perfect gathering point for an extended family trip to Wallace, ID. The rooms were well-priced and in the middle of town, so walking was easy. It is also close to a good family restaurant just around the corner. We were planning to spend most of our time outdoors, but rain kept us in town for a day. That was perfect since it gave us the opportunity to tour a silver mine just up the mountain from Wallace. And just walking around this old western town was fun. My mom was with us, so I didn't get to tour the Bordello Museum. I did peek through the windows, though (don't tell). Wallace turned out to have a very interesting history and we enjoyed the tour and museums. We were also able to get tickets to a local playhouse where we were treated to a fun vaudeville production satirized the early days of Wallace. A lot of unexpected fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
It sounds like you hit many of Wallace's best stops. We're so happy to hear about your enjoyable visit. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good location, simple rooms and great value in Wallace. Make sure to peek in the spaceship on the front parking lot and take the time to stroll around this historic town in any season. Plenty of great restaurants, brewpubs, bars, museums and unique curio shops in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyintheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We’re happy you enjoyed your visit to Wallace! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

For those saying that they think the Star Dust is "expensive", I have to wonder: Do these folks generally sleep in bus stations on road trips...Or, maybe in the back seats of their cars (if they HAVE cars!)? "Reality Check", Folks: Motel 6 does NOT charge $6 a night for rooms anymore...
So, gettting clean, comfortable beds and hot & cold running water a'midst four walls and a roof for less than $60 a night is a better-than-average deal in the western United States of America! And, for my part, I think the Star Dust does a GREAT JOB at providing this! Each to his own!

Room Tip: Ask to use Fitness Center facilities at Wallace Inn, which is owned by the same people who own the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houserehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We’re glad you were happy with the room and price! Thanks for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace Dale, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Besides the spectacular sign, the Stardust surprised with an exceptionally clean room and a remarkably cheap price (under $50.00, but that is no doubt an off season rate). It has been purchased by the owners of the pricey hotel in town, and nicely updated, while retaining the 1950s vibe. There is a wonderful wine bar in town, just a block or two away, in the home of a former bank. They have a good selection of microbrews, including double IPAs for $3.50. I had a wonderful, if short, stay, as I was on a mission to get back to Rhode Island from Seattle. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There really isn't a fitness center, but I can't find a way to delete my praise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your visits to the Stardust and Fainting Goat Wine Bar. Stardust guests are always welcome to use the pool and fitness center at the Wallace Inn, so in the future, that’s an option. We hope the rest of your trip home was great and thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are limited choices of where to sleep in Wallace, and we chose to stay at the Stardust Model because we enjoy the convenience of being right in town where we can walk to stores and restaurants. The office staff were very friendly. The room was large with front/back doors and the furniture/decor dated but adequate. King bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The place is old so my expectations are not high, but I should have said something abut the carpet, which could have been done with more cleaning--stains and crumbs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aelandjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brooks Hotel
The Brooks Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wallace
29 reviews
10.7 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
62 reviews
10.3 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
26 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stardust Motel

Property: The Stardust Motel
Address: 410 Pine St, Wallace, ID 83873-2255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stardust Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stardust Motel offers only the best to our guests. Our spacious, western-style rooms are clean and provide excellent amenities. Room types include twins, queens and king-size beds. We are pet friendly and pride ourselves on our hospitality and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Stardust Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Wallace
The Stardust Motel Wallace, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing