We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centre of the Universe...the Canadians are coming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stardust Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stardust Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Centre of the Universe...the Canadians are coming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to historic Wallace in the past 5 years. As a member of a 5 family cycling club, we decided to start (rather than end) this year's trip in the quaint town of Wallace, more specifically at the Stardust Motel. We were greeted by Rick (Prime Minister of the Trail system) who was instrumental in shuttling us back to vehicles at the Hiawatha! Rick provided countless corresponding emails to ensure a great trip. Our families always have a blast back in time in the town. The Motel was super clean and the management was more than helpful (especially when it came to filling our camel packs with ice!). I had a great sleep and our kids loved the morning safety meeting in the space craft...nanno nanno!
Everyone we met in town was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Greg and Dianne were also helpful in providing beautiful copies of the "Centre of the Universe" jpeg photos for our jerseys. I felt like the entire town, including 1313 Club for supper and Red Light Garage for breakfast, received us with open arms. Another successful journey for our cycling group..... we can't wait to return to make new memories!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
And we look forward to the Canadians’ return! So glad you had a successful journey and that it began with a great time in Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
30
46
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Stardust ( remember Back to the Future). You can't judge a motel by its exterior. It was clean, easy walking distance to Wallace's restaurants and attractions and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your experience at the Stardust! Thank you for sharing your thoughts – we especially like the title of your review! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Call for better pricing. Internet very slow, but on vacation anyway. Quite with nice location. Quant and would stay again. Front desk lady very nice and helpful. Pet friendly. Should get reservations rooms go fast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora S, Public Relations Manager at The Stardust Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We’re glad we were able to provide a quiet place for you to spend your vacation. As for the internet, we are very sorry that it was slow. Around the time that you stayed with us, we were experiencing some glitches with our wireless internet. It is up and running normally now. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
334 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

(Time warp #2 was next door at the Red Light Garage).

My timing has never been right to stop in Wallace before so this was my first time. The ‘Wallace Inn’ is why I knew there were motels in this town, but the Stardust is a little less money which is what I am all about.

Check-in was ‘small town friendly.’ Actually it was more like I stepped back into the 1950’s. In fact this whole town likely looks much like it did in the 1950’s and I somewhere saw a sign that the ‘entire town is listed as a Historic Landmark.’

I’ll let my pictures tell most of the story … other than to say that everything in the motel is old but kept very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while riding the nearby bike trails. It is an old style motel with nothing fancy. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It had a fridge and coffee maker. The office had a microwave for the guests to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't be better...walking distance to everything. It is not a 5 star hotel and it does't have 5 star rates. It is a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnbleavenworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I selected this hotel based on TA reviews. Our experience was quite the opposite of the reviews! The room we got had a very noisy hot water faucet on the sink. It made the most obnoxious groaning sound when you turned it on. I can't believe the office couldn't hear it as they were very close. There were towels for only one person even though I reserved the room for two people. The coffee maker had no coffee but did have a used coffee thing in the coffee maker, yuck!! And to top it all off, the shower faucet was broken so I couldn't keep the water temperature constant resulting in scalding and then cold flashes of water. The bed had a trough in the center so each of us would roll toward each other in the center.

A nice view of the mountains from the window, and another room as well.

Room Tip: Check room first before accepting. Some rooms directly face other rooms so you can't have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berdman4865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wallace hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

On our two week trip from NC to Seattle, my partner and I stayed at several hole-in-the-wall motels. This was one of the best. The owners were extremely friendly, the rooms were big and clean, the area was quiet. The red garage next door has pretty good food. Just remember everything in Wallace closes before 9, so make sure you grab dinner early!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesssica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
0.3 mi away
Wallace Inn
Wallace Inn
#1 of 3 in Wallace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
10.6 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites Kellogg
0.2 mi away
Ryan Hotel
Ryan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.7 mi away
Silver Mountain Resort Lodging
10.3 mi away
Trail Motel
Trail Motel
#2 of 2 in Kellogg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stardust Motel

Property: The Stardust Motel
Address: 410 Pine St, Wallace, ID 83873-2255
Location: United States > Idaho > Wallace
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Stardust Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stardust Motel offers only the best to our guests. Our spacious, western-style rooms are clean and provide excellent amenities. Room types include twins, queens and king-size beds. We are pet friendly and pride ourselves on our hospitality and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Stardust Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Wallace
The Stardust Motel Wallace, Idaho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing