We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to See History of Wallace”

Sierra Silver Mine Tour
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Underground - Fun & Educational Mine Tour - Family Friendly - Live Demonstrations of Mining Machines - Learn How Silver is Mined - Enjoy a Narrated Trolley Tour On The Way to And From The Mine
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Way to See History of Wallace”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our two boys have decided that every holiday must include a mine tour and Sierra Silver Mine did not disappoint. The trolley ride was a bit short and light on town sites but I guess thats not what we came for. Our guide Bob was very knowledgable, funny, humour for adults without being over the top and treated out two boys like VIPs. Provided an in depth tour with engaging highlights and interactives but not so much as to bore. Was impressed with his knowledge of mining all the way to Canada (Saskatoon to be exact). Absolutely worth the $45.00 for the 90 minutes or so. Will probably have to do it again the next time we are in the valley. Our boys say we have to come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4_2Boys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Leaning about mining”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had driven by Wallace, Idaho several times and if I stopped it was to see the "Center of the Universe". Last summer I chose to go on the tour for the sierra silver mine. It was amazing to see what happens in mines and seeing the tools that they use. If you have time, it is a great tour to do. It does take an hour and a half.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TammyM2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fun & Educational”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Quick trip through Wallace on a trolley with some history, then down into a mine where modern mining techniques were demonstrated and explained by actual retired mining employees. Very friendly staff and very informative. My family and I really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skurj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra S, General Manager at Sierra Silver Mine Tour, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you Skurj! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Interesting and the guide was very nice and knew his history. Demonstrations of actual working equipment was provided. The ride from town was on an open air trolley that provides little protection from the elements and the mine is cold so bring a jacket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GretchenDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Silver mine tour”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was a very interesting and informative tour. We live in the area and thought taking the family would be fun for all. First you get on this little trolley and go through the town of Wallace, ID, hearing some interesting facts about the town and area. Next you head up to the silver mine. Grab a hard hat and head into the mine. The man leading the tour is a retired miner and knew first hand about how the mine works. Explained and demonstrated some of the tools and machinery used on a daily basis, and how silver was extracted. What an extremely hard way to make a living! Men and women both working in the heat and humidity daily. Definitely a special breed knowing how tragedy could strike at any moment. Kudos to them all! Well worth it!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Silver Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Sierra Silver Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing