We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun & Educational”

Sierra Silver Mine Tour
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Underground - Fun & Educational Mine Tour - Family Friendly - Live Demonstrations of Mining Machines - Learn How Silver is Mined - Enjoy a Narrated Trolley Tour On The Way to And From The Mine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fun & Educational”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Quick trip through Wallace on a trolley with some history, then down into a mine where modern mining techniques were demonstrated and explained by actual retired mining employees. Very friendly staff and very informative. My family and I really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skurj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra S, General Manager at Sierra Silver Mine Tour, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you Skurj! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Interesting and the guide was very nice and knew his history. Demonstrations of actual working equipment was provided. The ride from town was on an open air trolley that provides little protection from the elements and the mine is cold so bring a jacket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GretchenDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Silver mine tour”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was a very interesting and informative tour. We live in the area and thought taking the family would be fun for all. First you get on this little trolley and go through the town of Wallace, ID, hearing some interesting facts about the town and area. Next you head up to the silver mine. Grab a hard hat and head into the mine. The man leading the tour is a retired miner and knew first hand about how the mine works. Explained and demonstrated some of the tools and machinery used on a daily basis, and how silver was extracted. What an extremely hard way to make a living! Men and women both working in the heat and humidity daily. Definitely a special breed knowing how tragedy could strike at any moment. Kudos to them all! Well worth it!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting And Fun Tour”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was in the area on a rainy day and decided to try this tour since I could get sometime out of the rain. I am so glad that I did! I have no previous experience with this type of tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. The tour lasts about 1:15 hour. The guide is a former miner and can give accurate and interesting information. He gave background information on mining in the area before we entered the mine. During the tour he both showed and demonstrated various pieces of equipment used by miners. Your are taken by a trolley from downtown Wallace to the mine and during the trip and when returning the driver gives Wallace history. Definitely worth taking the time to do!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grove911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Learn Something New Everyday”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I enjoyed the tour I took with a few friends last weekend. I didn't go in knowing much about mining but the stories and examples of all the equipment miners have used throughout the year's was interesting. The guide (a retired miner) demonstrated most of the equipment during the tour. You have to enjoy either mining or learning something new, otherwise the tour is probably not for you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Silver Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Sierra Silver Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing